BHL Holly – Half Circle Skirt Hack: The “Don’t Dare to Jump Just Yet” Dress

#Jumpingintojune is coming closer and closer! Remember, some of use decided (some of us against better judgement 😉 ) to sew jumpsuits for June. If you are into this kind of thing there is till time to join – after all June has 30 jumpworthy days!

Here at Said&Done HQ I didn’t laze around cut and sewed my BHL Holly lumpsuit a couple of weeks ago. But of course it won’t be revealed yet – so to overcome my urge to show something Holly related I sewed a Holly dress.

IMG_1451IMG_1453IMG_1452

Obvioulsy I used the BHL Holly bodice, UK size 14,  lengthened by about 5cm, and attached a half circle skirt to it. Same principle as the Impressionist’s Dress. The fabric is from deep stash, probably on of my oldest stash residents. This fabric was supposed to be all sorts of things in its time: A shirt, a shirtdress, some pajamas – but it never really made the grade for any of these projects. It has quite a crisp hand and so isn’t ideal for the Holly either, because she wants a soft drape rather than a crips hand, spoilt girl that she is. But hey, I quite like it for this dress all the same, even if the neckline isn’t as softly flowing as it could be. I had enough left to make Child 2 and Child 3 pajama pants and now I’m down to scraps on that fabric. A stash well busted!

IMG_1448

So I am quietly pleased with myself as I swing out of May, only to ready myself to Jump into June.

In order to placate the Uncalled For Metaphor-Police I picked some flowers.

IMG_1456

In the meantime it has actually been really cold, so the even thought of strappy dresses makes me shiver.

How are your jumpsuits coming on, if you are one of the June Jumpers? And who is too cold for the type of clothes they`d like to wear right now?

Tagged: , , , ,

21 thoughts on “BHL Holly – Half Circle Skirt Hack: The “Don’t Dare to Jump Just Yet” Dress

  1. navybluethreads May 25, 2015 at 8:18 pm Reply

    Really love this on you and wishing I’d got a Holly pattern now… The fabric suits it perfectly, lovely! Yep, freezing here too and playing havoc with my MMMay wardrobe plans 😦

    • Chris May 27, 2015 at 11:41 pm Reply

      I started building a firewood storage thingy today, seeing that I’m gonna need it now rather than in the autumn. Tsss….

  2. fabricfan May 25, 2015 at 8:58 pm Reply

    You look super in that dress. Rosemary

  3. Tia Dia May 25, 2015 at 9:27 pm Reply

    Love the bodice of the Holly. This looks lovely, and I don’t think the lack of drape in the fabric affects the look in any way. I love the plaid.

  4. SewingElle May 25, 2015 at 11:19 pm Reply

    I’m with Tia Dia – the stiffer fabric looks great in that pattern. Crisp and plaid go together perhaps?

    • Chris May 27, 2015 at 11:40 pm Reply

      Maybe it’s that. If I didn’t find pattern matching such a challenge I’d make a lot more of plaid…

  5. sewbusylizzy May 25, 2015 at 11:31 pm Reply

    I love the plaid – so pretty. I wear my Holly dress a lot. It’s simple & flattering… what more can you ask??

    • Chris May 27, 2015 at 11:38 pm Reply

      I was also really surprised to see how easy it is to make. I thought it might be a lot more difficult. NIce one!

  6. Thimberlina May 26, 2015 at 12:53 am Reply

    Love it! What a fab idea, but you’re just teasing us until we can see the real Holly! 😀

    • Chris May 27, 2015 at 11:37 pm Reply

      haha! How’s your jolly humping going?

      • Thimberlina May 29, 2015 at 9:11 am

        Not much humping I’m afraid! I decided to go back to plan A and use the linen. But I don’t have enough fabric since pinching some to make the top. Tomorrow……honest!
        Looking forward to the big reveal! 😀

  7. Amanda May 26, 2015 at 9:42 am Reply

    Now, I love this! I can’t wait to see your jumpsuit then! I made my jumpsuit yesterday!! I’d forgotten how much I love following a new pattern and discovering all sorts of extras I didn’t know were in it! I am really pleased with it. Come on June, I’m waiting to jump!!!

    • Chris May 27, 2015 at 11:36 pm Reply

      Only a few days now! Ready, steady – jump!

      • Amanda May 27, 2015 at 11:39 pm

        My photoshoot all planned for tomorrow! Hope it doesn’t rain!!!

  8. berrold May 26, 2015 at 9:15 pm Reply

    Now I’m excited to see jumpsuits! I’m decided on what I’m doing for mine…there may even be time for 2 seeing as the weather is definitely not right for my first choice! The dress looks great, love the fabric choice

    • Chris May 27, 2015 at 11:35 pm Reply

      Haha, I made a second jumpsuit too, because the right weather for a strappy jumpsuit seems ages away here. We won’t be wearing anything else but jumpsuits 😉

      • berrold May 28, 2015 at 12:28 am

        Love it! My fabric (2 different ones) is ordered and hopefully on its way! I’m almost ready to jump.

  9. gingermakes May 27, 2015 at 3:40 am Reply

    What a pretty dress!!

  10. I always did like a circle skirt made with a plaid or striped fabric. It just makes the plaid go all over the place! Love the fabric, it looks cute.

  11. ellegeemakes May 29, 2015 at 2:20 am Reply

    Cute dress! The fabric is to die for. Wonder if there’s any left……

  12. Danielle May 30, 2015 at 11:59 pm Reply

    Looks great. And a lighter weight dress for summer. Love it

Leave a Reply

LOTILDA

stricken & nähen | slowfashion blog

The Monthly Stitch

Come sew with us...

Sewchet

Sewing, crochet, crafts, accessories, baking, tutorials,

Love, Lucie

Where hands and minds are rarely still

Apricot Mylo

a dressmaking journey

Handmade by Hannah

Day to day life, one crafting adventure at a time.

Stitched up by Jenna

"Sewing mends the soul"

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

nelnanandnora

Faith, family and creativity

thesewingmiserablist

where stitchery gets to meet mediocrity, face-to-face, and firmly shakes it's hand

wakeymakes

Returning sewist, crafter and runner

saturday night stitch

A UK Sewing and Style blog by a Mum of 5 with a fervent passion for all sorts of dressmaking.

