BHL Elisalex – Half Circle Hack: The Impressionist’s Dress

IMG_1446

Can you even spot me in this field of flowers? I like to think I blend right in, a bit like one of the persons on an impressionist painting. It’s all in the mind, yes? Isn’t that what impressionism is about?

IMG_1442For this dress I used the bodice of the BHL Elisalex dress. I’d muslined and adapted it for my Siena dress, so I knew it fit well and I just can’t get over how easy to sew it is. of course you eagle eye will have spotted that it’s not hemmed yet – but this is only best practice for a bias cut skirt, isn’t it and could in no way be attributed to me putting the dress on before it’s finished ๐Ÿ˜‰ .

IMG_1444

I just love the back neckline of the dress. It’s suitable for daily wear, but it’s a bit more exciting than a normal round neckline. For this dress I added a kinda-half circle skirt. Kinda because I didn’t have enough fabric for a full half circle skirt – stupidly I had self-lined the bodice and waistband without thinking about fabric requirements for the skirt. Oh well…

So I’ll leave you with my by now infamous “I`m little and I know it” pose. I’m off to sew some jumpsuits for #jumpingintojune!

IMG_1443

13 thoughts on “BHL Elisalex – Half Circle Hack: The Impressionist’s Dress

  1. navybluethreads May 20, 2015 at 9:35 pm Reply

    Really love your fabric choice for this Chris. It’s look like versatile design too, perfect for dressing up or down. I like this a lot on you ๐Ÿ™‚ finally got going on my jumpsuit this afternoon, baby steps, but now have a very pleasing half-finished bodice…

    • Chris May 20, 2015 at 10:04 pm Reply

      Thank you! And do you know #jumpingforjune has gone viral now? 20 members now! And you started it all!

      • navybluethreads May 20, 2015 at 11:03 pm

        Hilarious! Will be fun seeing what everyone comes up with ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Emma Jayne May 20, 2015 at 10:45 pm Reply

    Ooo it’s very Monet. The bright colours look great on you and well fitting bodice noted!

    • Chris May 20, 2015 at 10:53 pm Reply

      How great that you appreciate my artsy references – and the fit of the bodice ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Thimberlina May 20, 2015 at 10:57 pm Reply

    Wondered where you were in the pics, couldn’t see you, had to look twice! Lol.. It’s lovely, really summery, the fit and still looks fab on you! ๐Ÿ˜€

  4. SewingElle May 20, 2015 at 11:13 pm Reply

    My favourite painting style, a backdrop that sings of southern Germany in spring and brings back happy travelling memories, and you looking great in that delightful dress. Excellent hack and fabulous fabric. Even confessions of seeing foibles.
    What more can I ask of my blog feed?!

  5. berrold May 21, 2015 at 11:39 pm Reply

    That’s a lovely fabric, perfect for the summer. I don’t think you needed any more volume in the skirt anyway, looks great how it is.

  6. Well if the skirt was too full you would be fighting with it in a wind storm! I think it looks lovely just as it is! (Don’t forget to hem it or it will be a UFO!) ๐Ÿ˜ƒ

  7. […] size 14,ย  lengthened by about 5cm, and attached a half circle skirt to it. Same principle as the Impressionist’s Dress. The fabric is from deep stash, probably on of my oldest stash residents. This fabric was supposed […]

  8. Elizabeth Made This May 25, 2015 at 10:43 pm Reply

    Beautiful and breezy for summer!

  9. Helena@grayallday May 27, 2015 at 3:57 pm Reply

    You’re killing me with these beautiful fabrics, Chris. I love how the fabric pattern wraps around and meets in the back — it makes your already little waist look even tinier! It is a very flattering dress, even if you blend right into the field of flowers!

    • Chris May 27, 2015 at 11:32 pm Reply

      Oh thank you Helena! Given that I find all the stuff you blog about so amazing it means a lot to me that you like the dress.

Leave a Reply

LOTILDA

stricken & nรคhen | slowfashion blog

The Monthly Stitch

Come sew with us...

Sewchet

Sewing, crochet, crafts, accessories, baking, tutorials,

Love, Lucie

Where hands and minds are rarely still

Apricot Mylo

a dressmaking journey

Handmade by Hannah

Day to day life, one crafting adventure at a time.

Stitched up by Jenna

"Sewing mends the soul"

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

nelnanandnora

Faith, family and creativity

thesewingmiserablist

where stitchery gets to meet mediocrity, face-to-face, and firmly shakes it's hand

wakeymakes

Returning sewist, crafter and runner

saturday night stitch

A UK Sewing and Style blog by a Mum of 5 with a fervent passion for all sorts of dressmaking.

