Jumping Right In: BHL Holly Muslin #jumpingintojune

Jumping right in – and jumping head first into problems! But ever your servant I thought I should aprise you of my delopments in the world of jumpsuits.

In the interest of sewing honesty this blog contains some graphic muslim images some readers might find distressing πŸ˜‰ .

Well, I did a quick muslin of the BHL Holly trousers (is it trousers or is it pants now? I’m all confused, so I’m sticking with trousers, because that’s what I learnt at school ca 1980).

I tell, you this is the easiest pair of trousers you’ll ever sew! And in fact they fit really well, straight from the envelope (size UK 14, no changes at all).

Eingebetteter Bild-Link

There must be a cleverer way of making a belfie, but I’ve only just got the hang of normal selfies. Baby steps!

Anyways, the back is fine, I think, inspite the snug on the butt-ness the envelope scared me with.

Eingebetteter Bild-Link

The fit from the side is good too – BUT it’s very high-waisted and body-fitting across the tummy. And that is, well, my problem area. I really hate drawing attention to the tummy roll, so this is a no go for me.

Eingebetteter Bild-Link

The front fit might need a little bit taken out of the front crotch, but nothing drastic. But you can see the tummy problem again. Would never wear that! But that is no criticism of the pattern. In fact I’m impressed with the fit, it’s just that it clings to the wrong place for my shape.

I tried lowering the waistline so that is hits right across the tummy roll. That is a lot better, but still not great. So right now I’m wondering whether to use the Holly bodice and another pair of wide-legged trousers for the bottoms.

Maybe I could lengthen the culottes? They have pleats across the tummy and the added benefit of pockets. I see myself slouching next to some imaginary pool, cocktail in one hand, other hand in pocket, free jazz playing in the back ground. Nobody say that my interior monologue isn’t working!

So, where’s it at regarding your jumpsuits? Do tell!

Tagged: , , , ,

26 thoughts on “Jumping Right In: BHL Holly Muslin #jumpingintojune

  1. fabricfan May 5, 2015 at 10:46 pm Reply

    I like the colour and length and think the tummy area is fine. I am just thinking about doing my own post on fitting problems. Rosemary

    • Chris May 5, 2015 at 10:48 pm Reply

      Great idea, Rosemary. That way we get a better idea on patterns in real life.

  2. neela May 6, 2015 at 12:26 am Reply

    Great start. I’d just alter the bits you are unhappy with to get the fit right and then make a nice sash to cover your tummy. Although you don’t really have a tummy, just lady curves!!!
    I have a few sewing projects to do before I start my jumpsuit.

    • Chris May 6, 2015 at 6:45 am Reply

      I need to mull this over too. I got a waxprint yesterday that is telling me wants to be a dress. So that’ll be first πŸ˜ƒ

  3. Tia Dia May 6, 2015 at 2:37 am Reply

    You’ve seriously got me thinking of a jumpsuit, too, Chris. I like the fit of these, although I agree that the front crotch needs to be shortened a bit. You could add a little width at the CF for ease. Are you planning on a print or solid fabric for this?

    • Chris May 6, 2015 at 6:42 am Reply

      Please do join in! Wouldnt it be such fun?
      I plan to use a solid, purely because I have a length of olive washed rayon in the stash that I dont know what else to do with. If this works then who knows what might happen πŸ˜‰

      • Tia Dia May 6, 2015 at 4:35 pm

        haha! I’ve been thinking a solid olive green, too…. great minds…. great minds….

      • Chris May 6, 2015 at 4:57 pm

        Well this is uncanny! Great minds indeed! So will I put you down as a taker?

      • Tia Dia May 7, 2015 at 2:58 pm

        Sure! I’ve been obsessed with patterns and colours since your first post. You can see some of my ideas on my Pinterest board . I think the hard part will be choosing one….

      • Chris May 7, 2015 at 11:23 pm

        Oh, there some nice ones on that Pinterest board! I love the black Roland Mouret one and the Missoni. They so feel like holidays with cocktails!

  4. Thimberlina May 6, 2015 at 8:33 pm Reply

    I think the tummy will be ok once there a top above it – as it is the plain fabric tends to draw attention to your not so big lady curves (like that nee!). I’ve sort of got sidetracked by the Cabernet cardigan that arrived in the post yesterday. Will put my blinkers on now I’ve a few days off from work and start muslinning!

    • Chris May 6, 2015 at 8:55 pm Reply

      Can you believe that I’ve gone from “never making a jumpsuit” to full-time obsessing about them all day. I only almost bought fabric for a second one. Could only stop myself at that last minute πŸ™‚

  5. symondezyn May 6, 2015 at 8:41 pm Reply

    Ah! You’re making it too! How nice! πŸ™‚ It’s great drafting, isn’t it? I had a really good fit with minor adjustments right out of the envelope as well, which shocked me really ^__^ As for the tum, I think it’s just getting used to the style, because I thought the same thing on mine, but when you make them out of trouser fabric (which tends to have more body), and wear them about, you really don’t notice the tummy thing ^_^ Just don’t make them out of light coloured flimsy fabric, and you’ll be fine πŸ˜‰

    • Chris May 6, 2015 at 8:57 pm Reply

      In fact, yours was the one that made me decide to use the pattern in the first place – it’s really great. I think I’m gonna mull this over for a few days re the tummy question. Maybe I’ll try to drop the waist a little bit to avoid that problem spot.

      • symondezyn May 6, 2015 at 9:34 pm

        Wow, that’s really nice! Thank you! πŸ™‚ I think if you do not usually tuck in your shirts, you’ll be fine, but it’s all about what’s comfortable for you πŸ™‚ I did draft a lower waist for my trouser version because I’m used to wearing a lower waist, but kept true to the pattern for the jumpsuit because the high waist obviously works for that style πŸ™‚ In fact, I love the jumpsuit so much I am thinking of making the shorts version for summer! ^_^

  6. Amanda May 7, 2015 at 7:20 am Reply

    You and Ali are well on with your jumpsuit plans! My pattern just arrived yesterday!! What sort of fabric are you going to choose??

    • Chris May 7, 2015 at 8:31 pm Reply

      I think I m going for some olive coloured washed rayon. It’s in the stash already so I might as well give it a try.

      • Amanda May 7, 2015 at 8:40 pm

        Yes, that sounds nice. I am thinking of a plain colour too. I wondered about a petrol colour. But I think I will just know when I see it!!! I even wondered about different colour top and bottom!!

      • Chris May 7, 2015 at 11:33 pm

        I thought about petrol as well. I also almost bought a dark purple/almost navy rayon crepe yesterday. And I saw a few black ones on Pinterest that I now want too. Oh what have we started…

  7. Sarah May 7, 2015 at 6:40 pm Reply

    I made a jumpsuit last year from a 2012 burda, also available online here http://www.burdastyle.com/projects/strapless-jumpsuit-042012
    I loved the fit and the fact that it hid my own tummy roll! Sorry don’t have any pics online since I don’t blog but if you want I can send you a pic via email.

    • Chris May 7, 2015 at 11:21 pm Reply

      I would really appreciate that, Sarah, thanks. My mail adress is at the top of the blog sidebar! Does that jumpsuit stay up with no problems?

      • Sarah May 14, 2015 at 10:32 am

        Hi Chris… just sent the mail…. finally!! Hope it helps πŸ™‚

  8. navybluethreads May 13, 2015 at 11:04 pm Reply

    I can’t see any tummy problems either, looking good so far πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

Thimble End

Sustainable sewing | Ethical living

Tweed & Greet

hello to handmade fashion and lifestyle

LOTILDA

Strickblog | NΓ€hblog

The Monthly Stitch

Come sew with us...

Sewchet

Sewing, crochet, crafts, accessories, baking, tutorials,

Love, Lucie

Where hands and minds are rarely still

Apricot Mylo

a dressmaking journey

Handmade by Hannah

Day to day life, one crafting adventure at a time.

Stitched up by Jenna

"Sewing mends the soul"

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

nelnanandnora

Faith, family and creativity

