Jumping into June: Jumpsuits for all! #jumpingintojune

Me Made May may only just have started, but let me announce to you the next go-to event in the sewist’s diary:

Jumping into June! Sew a jumpsuit for June.

Yes, I know I said I would never sew a jumpsuit, not because of any fashion considerations but because of the bathroom practicality implications. But somehow (and I assure you, alcohol was not involved on my side!) Ali of Thimberlina and I talked ourselves into making jumpsuits, provoked by what may have been a throw-away remark Teresa of Navybluethreads may live to regret ;-). You can read the “making of” of this idea in the comments to this post.

In true spirit of sewing awesomeness (BECAUSE WE CAN!!!) Amanda of Sew Deputy and Neela of SewFusion  have joined up as well. So this is GBSB royalty involved, you know!!

So while there aren’t any rules or any prizes we would still love you to join us as well in making either your first or one of many jumpsuits in June.

Of course there is a hashtag #jumpingintojune for Twitter.

I also created a Pinterest board suitably named Jumping into June (nobody say I’m not getting the hang of all this social media stuff!). It contains some Burda pattern inspiration, in case you are not afraid of the missing seam allowances. If you would like to pin to this board let me know and I’ll add you.

So if you would like to join us in celebrating the jumpsuit, let me know in the comments and I will add your link to the list. Thimberlina will even make a button – I stand in awe!

x Chris

Tagged: , , ,

50 thoughts on “Jumping into June: Jumpsuits for all! #jumpingintojune

  1. Amanda May 4, 2015 at 10:47 am Reply

    Woo Woo! This is great news! I have ordered my pattern!!

  2. Amanda May 4, 2015 at 10:47 am Reply

    Reblogged this on Sew Deputy and commented:
    Join us in Jumping into June!

  3. Thimberlina May 4, 2015 at 10:48 am Reply

    Reblogged this on T H I M B E R L I N A and commented:
    Fancy a new challenge….. I somehow have been talked into making a Jumpsuit … want to join us…? Read on………!

  4. Thimberlina May 4, 2015 at 10:53 am Reply

    The button is very much WIP but hopefully will be here by the end of the day! 😃

    • Chris May 4, 2015 at 10:58 am Reply

      Shouldn’t be just me who’s skiving off work 😉

  5. SewingElle May 4, 2015 at 11:00 am Reply

    Wow, you really are notching up all the fashion makes, culottes, bomber jackets and now jumpsuits! I instantly thought I would not feel tempted, because June is cold down under, but then I see you have pinned jumpsuits with sleeves. Thinking, thinking..

    • Chris May 4, 2015 at 11:03 am Reply

      Do you have winter parties? Can you pictures yourself, plunge neck Burdastyle jumpsuit, statement necklace, glass of wine, all topped off by your new coat?! You’re gonna have to join!

      • SewingElle May 5, 2015 at 1:47 pm

        Hmm. Yes, but, perhaps, maybe, dunno

  6. Nakisha May 4, 2015 at 1:52 pm Reply

    I swear you can use the toilet in a jumpsuit! :-p

    I have sewn two in the past few weeks but will jump on board for June!! 🙂

    • Chris May 4, 2015 at 4:23 pm Reply

      Nakisha, we will be honoured to have sucha jumpsuit veteran on board. And I will contact you for bathroom instructions as and when needed 😉

  7. Beth Holmes May 4, 2015 at 2:53 pm Reply

    i’m in! i’ve had holly from by hand london in my pattern collection for a while and this is the perfect nudge i needed to get it sewn up! 🙂

    • Chris May 4, 2015 at 4:22 pm Reply

      That is so cool! I add you to the list when I get a chance!

  8. navybluethreads May 4, 2015 at 5:32 pm Reply

    Oh, this made me laugh so loudly, hilarious! I guess I’m going to have to join the crowd, seeing as sewing royalty are involved 😉 Anyone know any patterns suitable for shorties?

  9. Thimberlina May 4, 2015 at 5:56 pm Reply

    Hop aboard!!!
    Have you tried lekala? Have a look at the Pinterest board – I’ve pinned a couple of their patterns. 😃

  10. nique et May 5, 2015 at 12:07 am Reply

    Im in

  11. delightfullypeculiar May 5, 2015 at 9:36 am Reply

    Haha, well I’m jumping on the jumpsuit wagon too. I have a Lekala one since last year and my goal was to sew it during June, as it has waited too long and I love jumpsuits. I’ve also fallen in love with this one by Republique du Chiffon http://www.republiqueduchiffon.com/store/product/44/ but I’m scared of the buttons.

  12. […] If you are curious to find out what this it is, read all about it in this post. […]

  13. gingermakes May 7, 2015 at 4:12 am Reply

    I’m in! I just got the RDC Dominique pattern and I could use a little kick in the butt to sew it up quickly!

    • Chris May 7, 2015 at 11:25 pm Reply

      Excellent, you’ve got it! I am excellent at butt kicking 😉

  14. […] it’s the latter here’s the post from Chris of Handmade By Chris (who I’m blaming for this, and of course Teresa of Navy Blue […]

  15. […] really want to), I’m missing out on all the excitement of Me Made May and my new obsession Jumping into June, but such is life! Instead of being in the gang, I’m comforting myself with a good spring […]

  16. bedlamandbird May 16, 2015 at 8:46 pm Reply

    Love it!! I have jumpsuits on the brain at the moment and this is just the push i need to make them reality, I have the Stye arc Carly Jumpsuit pattern so might start with that!!

    • Chris May 19, 2015 at 8:19 pm Reply

      Goodness, I didn`t see your comment for a few days. How great you want to join. I put you on the list now.

  17. #JumpingintoJune | What Gladys Wore May 19, 2015 at 11:32 pm Reply

    […] I guess I’m just a little bit impressionable.  It all started with a post that Chris made here.  Then I looked on Pinterest (the most dangerous website ever) and then I ended up agreeing to […]

  18. mari May 20, 2015 at 8:01 pm Reply

    Is there still time to participate? I am in the process of purchasing the pattern and jumping into June! :0) mari

    • Chris May 20, 2015 at 9:03 pm Reply

      Most certainly! I’ll put you on the list straight away. What pattern are you planning to make?

      • mari May 20, 2015 at 9:09 pm

        I plan to make McCalls 8515. It is a Ny/Ny pattern.

  19. […] So I’ll leave you with my by now infamous “I`m little and I know it” pose. I’m off to sew some jumpsuits for #jumpingintojune! […]

  20. […] does the time go? Soon it’ll be Indie Pattern Month on the Monthly Stitch, and there’s Jump into June too… ahh so many challenges at the […]

  21. […] of us against better judgement 😉 ) to sew jumpsuits for June. If you are into this kind of thing there is till time to join – after all June has 30 jumpworthy […]

  22. […] OMG – soooo exciting! Today is the last day of May – which of course makes tomorrow the start date of Jumping into June! […]

  23. […] or at least this blog – has gone slightly mad, don’t worry. This post is in honour of #jumpingintojune, where a number of us has decided to sew jumpsuits for […]

  24. […] of new exciting sewing projects that are in the pipeline. It’s June already, so let’s Jump into June, here’s my first […]

  25. […] Lietenant Said&Done here for one last mission: to hand over the controls of Team JumpingintoJune to […]

  26. […] I am also jumping into June! […]

  27. […] to be started. This month I’d like to make three items of clothing, one of them being my Jump into June Jumpsuit that I have signed myself up for! Although I’m warning you now, mine will be a […]

  28. Jumping Into June | Sew and Supper June 4, 2015 at 7:09 am Reply

    […] for June in the sewing world’s calendar and I jumped right into it after reading about it here. HandmadeChris promptly listed all who dared jump into this challenge and there was no ignoring it […]

  29. […] I’ve gone and jumped on the jumpsuit trend, thanks to Chris at Said & Done and all the general silliness that led up to it.  Y’know, a late night, one comment, and […]

  30. Paulinakoss Bruce June 8, 2015 at 3:11 pm Reply

    If it’s not too late, I’ll join! Don’t know yet what jumpsuit I’ll be making but it’ll be my very first!

  31. valeriecade June 8, 2015 at 8:36 pm Reply

    Well alright, alright, alright! I want to join in. I’m currently obsessed with Vogue jumpsuit pattern #9116. I just finished on on Saturday.

  32. […] what can I tell you: #jumpingintojune seems to have done something to my mind: I bought a new jumpsuit pattern today… Oh […]

  33. […] to Amanda of Sew Deputy – Dressmaking I learned that the thing about jumpsuits and June is #jumpintojune. Which sounds like a wonderful idea, I will definitely check back to see the other great jumpsuits […]

  34. […] searching for a Jumping into June jumpsuit pattern, blog pal Ali of Thimberlina recommended […]

  35. […] searching for a Jumping into June jumpsuit pattern, blog pal Ali of Thimberlina recommended […]

  36. […] who don’t know about Jumping into June, you can find all the details at the residence of Handmade by Chris, you still have time to […]

  37. […] never really got on board with but when I saw Ali’s BHL Holly jumpsuit post I joined #jumpingintojune […]

  38. […] sewing hiatus with a quick and easy-breezy playsuit. I wanted to submit another mini-entry to the Jumping into June competition, if Chris is still taking submissions :). Here are a few of the entries so far. Plus, you might […]

  39. August 2015 Goals | Handmade by Hannah August 15, 2015 at 1:59 pm Reply

    […] Wardrobe – I successfully managed to complete my Jump into June Jumpsuit that I have signed myself up for! So sorry I never got round to posting it! I also made a […]

  40. […] for June in the sewing world’s calendar and I jumped right into it after reading about it here. HandmadeChris promptly listed all who dared jump into this challenge and there was no ignoring it […]

Leave a Reply

Thimble End

Sustainable sewing | Ethical living

Tweed & Greet

hello to handmade fashion and lifestyle

LOTILDA

stricken & nähen | slowfashion blog

The Monthly Stitch

Come sew with us...

Sewchet

Sewing, crochet, crafts, accessories, baking, tutorials,

Love, Lucie

Where hands and minds are rarely still

Apricot Mylo

a dressmaking journey

Handmade by Hannah

Day to day life, one crafting adventure at a time.

Stitched up by Jenna

"Sewing mends the soul"

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

nelnanandnora

Faith, family and creativity

