Burdastyle 2/2013 #125: The “Chris 4 – Stash 0” – Bomber Jackets

Inspite of some horrible weather here this is turning out to be a great weekend for me. First of all, Helena from Gray Day Patterns was kind enough to feature me in her Sew it Chic in a Week Series this week! Exciting, ey?!
And also, and more to the point of this blog post, I have won a major victory over my stash! I made two garments, each including an outer shell and a lining from four long-time stash residents! So it’s Chris 4 – Stash 0 this weekend. That’s what I call success!

Along to help me in this epic win was this bomber jacket pattern Burdastyle 2/2013 # 125:

IMG_1415

I made this in my usual size 40 with two alterations: I added 8cm to the sleeves and 10cm to the bodice, thus making it from 3/4 sleeves to full length and from waist to hip length.

IMG_1409

Lengthening it by quite so much was probably a bit too much, especially since I didn’t add and width to the waistband and it is really quite tight around the hips when worn zipped up. But the waistband is stretchy, so it isn’t a real issue.

IMG_1408

This is my second attempt at a bomber jacket after the rather epic fail of the first attempt.

I tried to take to heart what I had learned from the first time round:

  • set in rather than raglan sleeves
  • neckline lower
  • whole jacket longer
  • thin, drapey fabric

As a consequence I’m much happier with this version. It is made from a cotton batiste that I bought on impulse two years ago and never really knew what to do with. The instructions call for an unlined version with a facing, but I thought this is nonsense and lined the jacket with a very fine cotton voile that had hidden away in deep stash.

IMG_1434IMG_1435

Lining the jacket makes the inside look as tidy as the outside and really pleases my inner sewing nerd. Also, it hardly takes more time than sewing the facing, as there are no darts, and the set in sleeves are loose enough not to require complicated pinning. The hardest bit was shortening the metall zipper, which was accomplished with the help of my husband’s pliers and a varied array of swear words.

Jacket 2 is what actually started the whole idea. I had bought some yellow lace (on impulse, of course, someone was having a sale – story of my life!) two years ago. Of course, yellow really isn’t my colour at all and I have never felt girly enough to wear lace and not feel in costume, so it went to the stash. Then I tasked myself that this spring would be the time when the yellow lace went, so I came up with this idea:

IMG_1422It’s the same jacket as above with the same alterations, but this time in lace with a navy cotton underlining. Combining the lace with the darker lining and a masculine cut takes away the sweetness that seemed to jar a little with my more matter of fact world view.

IMG_1420

Although I say it myself, this looks better in real life than in the pictures!

And look, I can even take it off!

IMG_1432

IMG_1433

Allright, no further…

Of course your eagle eye will have spotted the problem with the lining here! I chose to construct two separate jackets but then to use them as one layer when adding the ribbing, zipper and neckline. This means that you can see some of the yellow lace peeking through on the wrong side.

IMG_1437

So my inner sewing nerd isn’t happy with that and I will probably add some sort of seam tape to cover the zipper tape and neckline seam. But my stash was depleted of tape on a Saturday night and I could not wait to finish this. More shopping is required, I’m sure you’ll agree ๐Ÿ˜‰ !

 

IMG_1436Otherwise I tried to finish this as well as I could, given it was my first time working with lace. All seams are French, on both the shell and the lining. On the shell I also sewed down the completed seam, thus making it a flat felled French seam. Who would have thought?!

So for now I’m pretty happy with how this project has gone. Both jackets are meant to be worn as tops rather than jackets – they don’t really add any warmth at all. They will be included in my Me Made May wearability drive, so hopefully I’ll take note if these work for me in the real world.

Tagged: , ,

26 thoughts on “Burdastyle 2/2013 #125: The “Chris 4 – Stash 0” – Bomber Jackets

  1. fabricfan May 3, 2015 at 4:29 pm Reply

    love them both. the print iswonderful with your colouring.

  2. Faye Lewis May 3, 2015 at 6:14 pm Reply

    Very nice job.

  3. navybluethreads May 3, 2015 at 8:48 pm Reply

    Oh, well done! Two fab top-jackets and using up your stash too, highly impressive. I’m not normally a fan of bomber jackets, but you’ve really won me over with these, especially the yellow lace one. First culottes, now bomber jackets a what next? You’ll be persuading me to sew up a jumpsuit next! Love the idea of an inner sewing nerd too, mine seriously has a lot to put up with… ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • Chris May 3, 2015 at 9:00 pm Reply

      Haha – if you make a jumpsuit I will make one too! We could have a jumpsuit pact!

      • navybluethreads May 3, 2015 at 9:52 pm

        Now that doesn’t bear thinking about… ๐Ÿ˜‰

      • Thimberlina May 3, 2015 at 10:31 pm

        I bought the holly jumpsuit pattern from BHL last year, gods know why!! Maybe if you 2 do I will – I can’t look any worse that that horrible drapey dress I made!

      • Chris May 3, 2015 at 10:33 pm

        Shall we? three graces in a jumpsuit – or three if all goes well ๐Ÿ˜‰

      • Thimberlina May 3, 2015 at 10:36 pm

        haha, Why not! It’d make me dust off my pattern if nothing else. I’ve got some bright red crepe in my stash somewhere – if it doesn’t work out I could always convert it into a santa suit for christmas!

      • Thimberlina May 3, 2015 at 10:37 pm

        …Teresa’s gone quiet….she must be thinking!

      • Chris May 4, 2015 at 12:07 am

        Yeah – she will be wondering what the heck she got herself into… Well now, we are gonna have to bully her into the jumpsuit pact ๐Ÿ˜‰

      • Thimberlina May 4, 2015 at 12:14 am

        She commented on my tonight’s post. I think she’ll buckle under a little pressure! Amanda from Sew Deputy is up for it. How about Jump into June…!? ๐Ÿ˜ƒ

      • Chris May 4, 2015 at 7:25 am

        That is a stroke of genius! Jump into June it is! Will I announce it?

      • Thimberlina May 4, 2015 at 8:31 am

        Yes do!!! Will be fun, bet we end up loving them so much we have one for every day of the week! โ˜€๏ธ

      • Chris May 4, 2015 at 8:38 am

        Hahaha, I’d like to see that day…

      • Thimberlina May 4, 2015 at 9:48 am

        I’ve dropped you an email, not sure if you’ve got it, are you on Twitter?๐Ÿ˜ƒ

      • Chris May 4, 2015 at 9:49 am

        I’ve just replied back and am trying to dust off my twitter acount as we speak…

  4. Kbenco May 3, 2015 at 9:19 pm Reply

    A jacket from two light fabrics – brilliant. They must be cool to wear. I am now thinking I need one to keep the sun off without boiling to death.
    I like how you have subdued the lace with the navy lining. Still feminine, but not overpoweringly sweet (I may or may not have coloured in peeking out seams with a sharpie/texta when seam tape etc was in short supply). These are both very smart jackets.

  5. Thimberlina May 3, 2015 at 10:29 pm Reply

    Wow, they’re both fab, but I really love the fabric on the first one! It’s stunning!

  6. SewingElle May 3, 2015 at 11:10 pm Reply

    You have won me over on bomber jackets. These are both great. Is it the lighter fabric, the great combinations of fabric, the longer length or what? No matter, now I want to make one.

    • Chris May 4, 2015 at 12:08 am Reply

      A perfect project to put off the coat ๐Ÿ˜‰

  7. I like them both! It’s nice when one pattern can be made hundreds of ways, depending on your whims or everyone’s individual styles.

  8. […] Yes, I know I said I would never sew a jumpsuit, not because of any fashion considerations but because of the bathroom practicality implications. But somehow (and I assure you, alcohol was not involved on my side!) Ali of Thimberlina and I talked ourselves into making jumpsuits, provoked by what may have been a throw-away remark Teresa of Navybluethreads may live to regret ;-). You can read the “making of” of this idea in the comments to this post. […]

  9. ellegeemakes May 5, 2015 at 5:58 am Reply

    I love the lace version, although they’re both great. I’ve never made a bomber but you’ve made me curious. Nice job!

  10. […] me and some avid non-wearers of jumpsuits decide it might be a good idea to sew some… Read the comments to this post in order to make up your […]

Leave a Reply

Thimble End

Sustainable sewing | Ethical living

Tweed & Greet

hello to handmade fashion and lifestyle

LOTILDA

stricken & nรคhen | slowfashion blog

The Monthly Stitch

Come sew with us...

Sewchet

Sewing, crochet, crafts, accessories, baking, tutorials,

Love, Lucie

Where hands and minds are rarely still

Apricot Mylo

a dressmaking journey

Handmade by Hannah

Day to day life, one crafting adventure at a time.

Stitched up by Jenna

"Sewing mends the soul"

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

nelnanandnora

Faith, family and creativity

