Burdastyle 4/2015 #113a and #103: So I Made Culottes!!!

Well, I’m still a bit speechless – not something that might usually be said about me, I assure you. It’s just: I only just made culottes!
What does that make me: really cool and trendy or an embarrassing fashion victim? Are culottes the item of clothing the modern woman has been waiting for or the rebirth of the worst looking trend EVER?

Judge for yourself:

IMG_1395

I’ve been wearing this outfit all day and honestly: I still don’t know whether this is yeah or nay…

I used one of a glut of culottes patterns from recent editions of Burdastyle. This is 4/2015 #113.

 

I made a muslin in the suggested fabric with a crisper hand – with such ridiculous results than I have banned the pictures from my memory forever. For the make that made it out of the sewing room I used a really light rayon, the kind of stuff you’d use for blouses. I figured it had spent a while in the stash so I might try and think out of the box to make something unexpected with it.

IMG_1391

While I know practically nothing about fashion, I do know that culottes only leave the realm of the ridiculous when worn with heels. So I hemmed these to just hit the top of my boots. It is what Burdastyle intended as well – I cut a size 42 as usual and make no changes to the pattern at all other than using a curved waistband rathern than a straight one. Again, this is what I always do, as far as the fit is concerned I cannot fault this pattern.

IMG_1393

I have to say that culottes are the most comfortable thing ever. Breezy while offering full coverage of any important bits, no thigh chafing issues even in hot weather and when worn with boots even suitable for days with less than examplary leg shaving routines. What’s not to like!

The top, which I might well write a full blog post for at some point, because I already made two and have plans for more, is also from the April edition of Burdastyle, #103.

 

Given that I have complained about how I haven’t been much impressed with Burdastyle recently I maybe should reconsider: this is my third make from this edition, next to the culottes and the Amalfi dress (still unworn, by the way, the weather just isn’t on my side).

The top is my version of cropped boxy – I don’t really follow fashion trends, but this trend, high-waisted bottom and cropped boxy top did filter through to me and I fell head over heels in love with it. I’ve always found the full mid-rif-baring look a bit desperate, even on the young and fit, but the sliver of tummy skin look is very sexy, I think. It’s just that I’ a bit too self-conscious to show a sliver of my tummy, three pregnancies and northern European pasty white and all. (Just to assuage everyone who thinks such body hangups are the work of the devil and we should all love the skin we are in: I will happily let it all hang out in the open and wear a bikini, because then the spare tyre is in context, as it were. But JUST showing the spare tyre is a bit much…).

Anyways, so I made this top, which hits the bottom of the waistband and therefore doesn’t show any tummy at all. So at best it alludes to the look I like – but then I only allude to fashion at best, and so all is well ;-).

So readers, is it yah or nay for the culottes look?

She loves them…

IMG_1401

She loves them not…

IMG_1397

What do you think?

Tagged: , , ,

21 thoughts on “Burdastyle 4/2015 #113a and #103: So I Made Culottes!!!

  1. Miranda April 30, 2015 at 7:07 pm Reply

    I kind of love these. Do I lose street cred for loving culottes? I think the fact that they aren’t terribly high-waisted and made out of denim with an elastic waistband saves them. They almost look like gaucho pants when you put them with the boots. I’m still not sure about the top with the culottes. There’s something that doesn’t fully match up about the pairing but I can’t figure it out so I say go for it anyway!

  2. navybluethreads April 30, 2015 at 7:29 pm Reply

    I kind of love them too Chris. They look great on you, and with boots at any rate. Think your choice of fabric, something a little ‘funkier’ really makes them too. Something more ‘classic’ could end up looking really frumpy.

    • Chris May 1, 2015 at 6:37 pm Reply

      Yeah, I was worried about the frumpiness factor inherent in culottes. Glad you think I avoided it!

  3. ellegeemakes April 30, 2015 at 8:25 pm Reply

    I’m definitely a fan! The fabric is awesome and they look great on you. Trendy or not, they get my vote as a wardrobe staple just because they’re comfortable and you can dress them up with boots or down with sandals. What’s not to like?

  4. stella April 30, 2015 at 8:25 pm Reply

    No – NO- NO!

  5. Tia Dia April 30, 2015 at 8:38 pm Reply

    The funky fabric works well for the culottes. I like them. I bet you reach for these a lot in the coming warmer months.

  6. MAY ROSE SEWING April 30, 2015 at 8:43 pm Reply

    I love these! You did a great job. I feel inspired to sew some for myself.

  7. Thimberlina April 30, 2015 at 10:51 pm Reply

    The Jury’s still out on if I will ever make culottes for myself, but you’re definitely rocking them! They look fab with the boots, but what happens when it’s a hot day? Will they go with flats? I’m thinking I may go try some on in the shops before I buy a pattern, though I’m contemplating shorter ones for on the golf course instead of skirts and skorts.

    • Chris May 1, 2015 at 5:49 pm Reply

      Tbh I’m not too sure whether they will go with flats. They hit the widest part of my calves so they might look a bit dumpy with flats. But I think as golf shorts they could work really well. They are really easy to make, so you might want to just give them a try.

  8. SewingElle April 30, 2015 at 11:22 pm Reply

    I think you look great in this outfit despite the culottes. Oh, is my prejudice showing?! Clearly, I haven’t got used to culottes as an everyday pice of clothing yet and still see them as a bit costume-y. You are just ahead of your time.
    I’m delighted to see that top made up. Did you raise the neckline. It looked plunging in the magazine, even by burdas standards. I eagerly await your post about it!

    • Chris April 30, 2015 at 11:56 pm Reply

      Yes, Elle, I did indeed raise the neckline and also increased the shoulder width. As devised by Burda this would hardly qualify as clothing 😉

  9. Chris @ makeandwear April 30, 2015 at 11:50 pm Reply

    I’m almost finished a pair of culottes from that issue too – so they’re a yes from me. Love the fabric you used.

  10. I do like culottes if they are made of a soft fabric. I like mine to hang like a skirt, but without the danger of flashing parts in the wind! You picked a lovely fabric!

  11. Lesley King May 1, 2015 at 7:50 am Reply

    I’ve actually got this pattern ear marked for myself and I’m also lily white and north European so you’ve convinced me I can pull them off. Nice!

    • Chris May 1, 2015 at 5:46 pm Reply

      make sure you blog about yours when you’re done so we can compare notes!

  12. yosami May 3, 2015 at 10:33 am Reply

    I like your culottes and the fabric you used is perfect! They look lovely with the top too! I’ve been hoarding 2 pairs of culottes in my wardrobe for years that come out every season so I didn’t need converting!

    • Chris May 3, 2015 at 4:00 pm Reply

      That’s what I call foresight. I tend to always keep the stuff I never want to wear again. Silly, ey?

  13. Helena@grayallday May 3, 2015 at 4:05 pm Reply

    I like culottes that basically look like a midi skirt. I really like midi skirts, so I guess that is it! Yours hang great and I like the shorter top to give you more shape in the waist. And that fabric is awesome! I think it is a win, again!

  14. […] I could lengthen the culottes? They have pleats across the tummy and the added benefit of pockets. I see myself slouching next to […]

  15. […] Nr 2: Culottes and boxy top […]

  16. […] The trousers pattern is from Kniipmode, a Dutch sewing magazine. I can just about work out the instructions although I don’t speak any Dutch at all, but it seems to be similar enough to both English and German for me to work it out. Plus, on a woven tracksuit pattern there really isn’t any great challenge of how to make these up. The top is my new favourite Burda woven top, 4/2015 # 103. This is my third version, version one, without the hem band is here. […]

Leave a Reply

Thimble End

Sustainable sewing | Ethical living

Tweed & Greet

hello to handmade fashion and lifestyle

LOTILDA

Strickblog | Nähblog

The Monthly Stitch

Come sew with us...

Sewchet

Sewing, crochet, crafts, accessories, baking, tutorials,

Love, Lucie

Where hands and minds are rarely still

Apricot Mylo

a dressmaking journey

Handmade by Hannah

Day to day life, one crafting adventure at a time.

Stitched up by Jenna

"Sewing mends the soul"

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

nelnanandnora

Faith, family and creativity

