Me Made May 2015 Meets Wardrobe Architect

In the nick of time I’ve decided to sign up for MMM15.

For a while I was not sure what to commit myself to. Over half of my wardrobe is me made, so it would hardly be an endeavour to pledge to wear the usual “one me made garment per day”. So I decided to do something different:

ย ‘I, Chris of Said&Done http://www.handmadebychris.wordpress.com, sign up as a participant of Me-Made-May ’15.
I endeavour to wear my me-made dresses in May 2015 (weather permitting) and analyse why I do or don’t like wearing them. I pledge to draw conclusions from my findings in order to sew more wearable dresses in the future.’

I`m thinking I might get the best of MMM and the Wardrobe Architect. I can join in the collective fun of MMM, but also I get to reflect a little about my me-mades in the real world.

You see, I have loads of dresses! And I want to sew even more of them. And my sewing is advanced enough so that most of the new dresses turn out wearable. But I don’t wear all of those dresses. Some of them stay in my wardrobe for years on end – and I couldn’t even say why.

So this year I would like to find out what puts some dresses in regular rotation and makes others stay on their hangers.

Because this is how I roll, I will make a list assessing the following categories:

  • style of dress
  • fit
  • colour/pattern
  • comfort factor of material
  • ease of care

I will then devise a plan for my future sewing that will allow me to avoid sewing dresses that I end up not wearing.

I kind a know already which dress will come out top in my list – the Siena dress. But it’ll be interesting to see why those full-skirted vintage style dresses that I love looking at don’t really get worn once the initial excitement is over.

Readers, how about you? Are you joininig Me Made May 15? And what is your pledge?

Tagged: , , , ,

14 thoughts on “Me Made May 2015 Meets Wardrobe Architect

  1. symondezyn April 29, 2015 at 5:32 pm Reply

    Great idea, I like your take on the challenge! This is my first time signing up and I like the fact that the point is to learn something and challenge ourselves, so if wearing something me-made everyday isn’t a challenge, then what a great plan for learning more about your personal style ๐Ÿ™‚ Looking forward to seeing what you discover! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Chris April 29, 2015 at 5:47 pm Reply

      Thanks Symon! We’ll get a look into each others wardrobes – isn’t that exciting! Looking forward to seeing yours!

  2. navybluethreads April 29, 2015 at 5:36 pm Reply

    How very organised! Sounds like a useful plan to tailor. MMM to your own needs. I’ve gone for one item a day, but. I’m already slightly worried after putting loads of Winter makes away in storage.

    • Chris April 29, 2015 at 5:45 pm Reply

      Well now, you are gonna have to re-thread your server in a summer colour and make more skirts! ๐Ÿ˜‰

      • navybluethreads April 29, 2015 at 5:50 pm

        ๐Ÿ™‚ Already re threaded… But I seriously don’t need any more skirts ๐Ÿ˜‰

      • Chris April 29, 2015 at 5:53 pm

        Now now, how can one not need more skirts … says the girl who wants to cut down on unnecessary makes…

      • navybluethreads April 29, 2015 at 6:34 pm

        ๐Ÿ™‚ You got me! I am trying to be good…

  3. sthlivingincolor April 29, 2015 at 6:27 pm Reply

    Great idea! I think “wearability” is sort of an overlooked issue when it comes to sewing, and it’s really instructive to focus on what you actually pull out to wear and why.

  4. Danielle April 30, 2015 at 2:55 am Reply

    What a great idea! I’m still a beginner in that I’ve only made a few garments, so don’t have the wardrobe to participate in MMM. But I really love your idea of focusing on one type and really figuring out why you do or don’t wear it. I’m looking forward to what you discover!

  5. Good for you! I like how everyone can call May Made May their own. I still plan on wearing one hand made thing a day, like last time, but I have organized my wardrobe this year and have looked at what I need… Those holes will need to be filled. Im going to have some sewing ahead!

  6. SewingElle April 30, 2015 at 6:26 am Reply

    That’s a great way to do MMM. I’m like you; with most of my wardrobe me made , wearing me made isn’t a challenge. I love your plan to assess wearability and Ipom forward to you reporting back!

  7. ellegeemakes April 30, 2015 at 9:00 pm Reply

    Great idea! I too, have me mades in my closet I’ve never worn. Wearability is something I don’t think about enough when I choose fabric/patterns etc. I’ll be watching with interest to see what you discover about your dresses…

    • Chris May 1, 2015 at 5:50 pm Reply

      I really do wonder what I’ll find. I never really know why I don’t wear some of the stuff I make, so it will be worth finding out.

  8. […] than jackets – they don’t really add any warmth at all. They will be included in my Me Made May wearability drive, so hopefully I’ll take note if these work for me in the real […]

Leave a Reply

Thimble End

Sustainable sewing | Ethical living

Tweed & Greet

hello to handmade fashion and lifestyle

LOTILDA

stricken & nรคhen | slowfashion blog

The Monthly Stitch

Come sew with us...

Sewchet

Sewing, crochet, crafts, accessories, baking, tutorials,

Love, Lucie

Where hands and minds are rarely still

Apricot Mylo

a dressmaking journey

Handmade by Hannah

Day to day life, one crafting adventure at a time.

Stitched up by Jenna

"Sewing mends the soul"

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

nelnanandnora

Faith, family and creativity

