Burdastyle is going to be great from now on!

I just thought I should let you know that as from this day – and whatever reservations you might have had in the past – Burdastyle is going to be absolutely great from now on!
How do I know this? Well, because this is just my luck. I cancelled my subscription today and so I just know that as from the next issue I will want to make ABSOLUTELY EVERYTHING!!! in it…

Nothing really drastic has happened to make me decide to cancel. I received the May issue today and while it isn’t great it isn’t completely horrible either. But I have found too many issues a bit blah recently and too few that I was really excited about. Also I have five years’ worth of Burdas as home, so pretty much any patterns in the history of sewing is already at my fingertips.
So – a great friendship comes to an end. Let’s see whether I will end up buying every single issue at the kiosk 😉

How about you Burda fans out there: Has it delivered for you recently? Or have you fallen out of love with it too?

Tagged: ,

12 thoughts on “Burdastyle is going to be great from now on!

  1. Tia Dia April 13, 2015 at 2:26 pm Reply

    Funny how now that you don’t have it, you’re thinking you may miss out on something! this is my 4th year as a Burda subscriber, and I have to confess that the best year in my collection is 2013. There are so many meh patterns. I keep thinking, “I’m not going to renew it this year”, but then I always do… because there may be that issue that’s loaded with great patterns and I don’t have it!

    • Chris April 13, 2015 at 4:47 pm Reply

      Isn’t it always the way: you only appreciate what you haven’t got anymore…
      But given that it appears on the same day in the shops that it comes to my letter box I’m not really sacrifycing anthing, should that bombshell of an issue arrive. 🙂

  2. Anonymous April 13, 2015 at 6:43 pm Reply

    I totally agree with you. Burda of late has become boring, generic and full of garments that I am not inspired either to make or wear. I have only bought 2 copies in the past year and a half whereas I used to rush out each month really excited to buy the new edition. Time and again I keep going back to my 2007 – 2010 editions to find things that I still want to make and can also adapt to make more fashionable. It has got to that stage where if Burda have another ‘pattern’ that consists merely of a piece of material either wrapped around held up with a belt or cut and draped over the shoulders, I will go mad. The designing and styling has just got lazy.

  3. Thimberlina April 13, 2015 at 11:24 pm Reply

    I have only ever bought 4 from the local newsagent, and from them only made 2 garments. I don’t mind tracing but adding the seam allowances puts me off a bit.

  4. birdmommy April 14, 2015 at 3:50 pm Reply

    I check the website and download any individual patterns that catch my eye. It’s worth it to me not to have to do the whole tracing thing!

    • Chris April 14, 2015 at 5:29 pm Reply

      I might well get to to that in future. Though I don’t even mind the tracing – if there is something worth it…

  5. Emma Jayne April 14, 2015 at 10:54 pm Reply

    Chris you are too funny. My 1 year subscription ended in December and despite checking every issue since I haven’t felt the need to buy one. Enjoy your 5 year issue library and revisit some of those instead.

  6. Sounds like you have collected enough to last a lifetime. I always found it difficult to justify buying a whole magazine for one pattern I liked so I never bought it and just looked for a similar pattern elsewhere.

    • Chris April 17, 2015 at 10:04 pm Reply

      I guess here in Germany Big 4 patterns are so expensive that buying a whole magazine just for one pattern would still work out cheaper. Which might well be what I am going to do from now one 😉

  7. Paola April 19, 2015 at 5:55 am Reply

    I cancelled my subscription a while ago and haven’t missed it, which is sad because I used to love it! If I see something I like I’ll buy the odd issue or download a pattern I like. There are still so many patterns I’d like to make from the magazines I have anyway.

  8. […] that I have complained about how I haven’t been much impressed with Burdastyle recently I maybe should reconsider: this is my third make from this edition, next to the culottes and the […]

Leave a Reply

LOTILDA

stricken & nähen | slowfashion blog

The Monthly Stitch

Come sew with us...

Sewchet

Sewing, crochet, crafts, accessories, baking, tutorials,

Love, Lucie

Where hands and minds are rarely still

Apricot Mylo

a dressmaking journey

Handmade by Hannah

Day to day life, one crafting adventure at a time.

Stitched up by Jenna

"Sewing mends the soul"

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

nelnanandnora

Faith, family and creativity

thesewingmiserablist

where stitchery gets to meet mediocrity, face-to-face, and firmly shakes it's hand

wakeymakes

Returning sewist, crafter and runner

saturday night stitch

A UK Sewing and Style blog by a Mum of 5 with a fervent passion for all sorts of dressmaking.

