The Siena Dress: The Pre – Making Of

Look what I just bought:

tmp_3853-20150408_1205081313764320

May I introduce: the beginnings of the Siena dress! Bought at the market in Siena in Italian! I had to use some retail therapy as I still have not been able to wear the Amalfi dress. Can you believe I was walking through a snow storm on Vesuvio?

Now that

I am with a friend in Tuscany things are looking up a bit weather wise so I might give the Amalfi dress a chance later.

So: what should the Siena dress become? I have 1.5 metres (paying Italian prices I coould not afford more – although there were some true gems there! Made my heart bleed to walk away!)

So I only have enough for a sheath type dress. Any suggestions?

Buon giorno and ciao!

7 thoughts on “The Siena Dress: The Pre – Making Of

  1. DavyMade April 8, 2015 at 4:43 pm Reply

    This fabric is beautiful!

  2. Beth (SunnyGal Studio) April 8, 2015 at 5:24 pm Reply

    beautiful, it looks like cotton pique which is hard to find in nice prints and I think an underused fabric.

  3. symondezyn April 8, 2015 at 5:27 pm Reply

    Lovely fabric! For a shift dress pattern, I’ve had great success with the Colette Laurel; it’s a beautifully simple canvas for a lovely fabric, and I’ve made the dress version twice and the top version twice – make sure you muslin it first though, as the sleeves were a little tight on me the first go 🙂

  4. Laurie April 8, 2015 at 7:20 pm Reply

    Gorgeous fabric. I bet it was tough to walk away from more beautiful fabric!

  5. springystitches April 8, 2015 at 11:33 pm Reply

    Stunning fabric! Perfect for a shift dress. 🙂

  6. Beautiful fabric! Almost makes you want to sew it up so the label “made in Italy” shows!

  7. […] but let me also tell you that they were asking Italian prices for them, so I only came away with 1.5 metres of a cotton pique that cost me more than any other fabric I had ever bought before. To be honest I was a little bit […]

Leave a Reply

LOTILDA

stricken & nähen | slowfashion blog

The Monthly Stitch

Come sew with us...

Sewchet

Sewing, crochet, crafts, accessories, baking, tutorials,

Love, Lucie

Where hands and minds are rarely still

Apricot Mylo

a dressmaking journey

Handmade by Hannah

Day to day life, one crafting adventure at a time.

Stitched up by Jenna

"Sewing mends the soul"

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

nelnanandnora

Faith, family and creativity

thesewingmiserablist

where stitchery gets to meet mediocrity, face-to-face, and firmly shakes it's hand

wakeymakes

Returning sewist, crafter and runner

saturday night stitch

A UK Sewing and Style blog by a Mum of 5 with a fervent passion for all sorts of dressmaking.

