Burdastyle 3/2014 #117 and Rosa Jacket: Spring Time White

Spring has sprung rather suddenly here, which – after a warm winter – shouldn’t be a surprise, but it still is exciting every year to see how quickly the weather can turn. So I was the happier that my efficiency pre-cutting programme has yielded a spring time skirt right in the nick of time.

IMG_0775

I used Burdastyle 3/2014 #117, in principle a basic pencil skirt, but with  front pleats and a fly front.

I was attracted to the pattern because of the extra tummy room behind the pleats – while I adore the look of a pencil skirt I find their tightness a bit restricting and this one offers a bit more room. The pattern specifies a straight waistband, but I swapped it out for a curved three-piece one (off my TNT skinny jeans pattern, that seem to work best in most projects)

IMG_0777

I used my usual size 42 for bottoms but found this rather big. I took in a lot more than what going down to a size 40 would have resulted in, probably around 8cm allround at the top and a lot more tapering towards the knees. I was suprised by having to take it in so much, but then my fabric has a to of strech and the pattern may have been for a  non-stretch (I didn’t consult the instructions so I can’t be sure). Your eagle eye will have spotted that I omitted a walking vent – so the skirt had to go back right to the sewing table when one of the seams burst on first wear. Lesson learned, I hope.

IMG_0776

Bacause the fabric is quite light I underlined it with stretch lining.

The jacket is the Burda Vintage Rosa which has been completed for a while but not worn yet.

IMG_0782

Special effects photography on the bottom left 🙂

 

IMG_0777

IMG_0775

 

The jackets has been finished for a little while and I wore it a few times already. It seem to have found a its niche in my wardrobe. I tend to wear it unbuttoned. IMG_0781

 

It closes with three poppers. If you are thinking of making this up and you normally do an FBA then it might be worse doing it larger than norma. As you can see, it pulls little buttoned up even on me – and I don’t even you you spell FBA!

 

 

IMG_0780

I’m never sure whether “fun” linings aren’t in poor taste, but a fun lining it is. It’s got palm trees on it and lighthouses and all!

IMG_0693

So spring: I dare you to wear all white all day!IMG_0778

Tagged: , , , ,

14 thoughts on “Burdastyle 3/2014 #117 and Rosa Jacket: Spring Time White

  1. navybluethreads March 21, 2015 at 12:28 am Reply

    Wearing all white seems a long way off here in Blighty! I’m desperate to peel off the layers, but it’s still so cold! I like the idea of extra tummy-space in this skirt. Looks great with your jacket. A very stylish outfit 🙂

    • Chris March 21, 2015 at 5:00 pm Reply

      Thank you! It’s turned really cold again today with an icy wind, so my whites have gone back in the cupboard. But only 8 days until my Italian holiday! I have great hopes for warm weather there!

      • navybluethreads March 21, 2015 at 8:37 pm

        Oh, lucky you! Have a great time 🙂

  2. Anonymous March 21, 2015 at 11:39 am Reply

    Your outfit looks so Italian chic! Another Amalfi coast winner? Thanks for the FBA warning, I’m planning to make the ‘Lola’ jacket ( really, Burda. What were you thinking?) from the same issue. Check and double check!

    • Marianne March 21, 2015 at 11:42 am Reply

      👆Anonymus? Google doesn’t me love me these days. Eating my comments and now my identity too? Bleh!

      • Chris March 21, 2015 at 4:58 pm

        How does Google dare?! You certainly don’t deserve to be anonymous, Marianne!

  3. Sue @ A Colourful Canvas March 21, 2015 at 7:15 pm Reply

    Your white skirt and jacket really do say spring in a most delightful way! And I say….fun linings are definitely the way to go! Well done!

  4. SewingElle March 22, 2015 at 12:18 am Reply

    Great outfit. Very chic. Love your lining too. Being able to add whatever lining you like is one of the (many) joys of sewing.

  5. Lovely outfit! I like different lining. When I was learning all the linings had to be the same colour as the fabric. It is so nice to be able to have some choice now! Lovely sunshine too!

  6. Helena@grayallday March 22, 2015 at 3:52 am Reply

    When I saw this I was hoping you would link up. It just screams spring! I really like both of those patterns and it is great outfit!

  7. springystitches March 22, 2015 at 1:22 pm Reply

    Lovely outfit – It really suits you! I adore the lining fabric too.

  8. […] still surprised by how much I’ve turned out to like this jacket. It started whole love affair with white for me and I’ve worn this loads on cooler summer […]

  9. […] And indulge me with one last picture: I’ve been clearing out my wardrobe recently and have given away a lot of me-mades that just weren’t got worn. But one of the items that is still going strong is the white topper from Burda’s 1950s Vintage edition: […]

  10. […] also gave an outing again to my Rosa jacket – still one of the light jackets I reach for most […]

Leave a Reply

LOTILDA

stricken & nähen | slowfashion blog

The Monthly Stitch

Come sew with us...

Sewchet

Sewing, crochet, crafts, accessories, baking, tutorials,

Love, Lucie

Where hands and minds are rarely still

Apricot Mylo

a dressmaking journey

Handmade by Hannah

Day to day life, one crafting adventure at a time.

Stitched up by Jenna

"Sewing mends the soul"

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

nelnanandnora

Faith, family and creativity

thesewingmiserablist

where stitchery gets to meet mediocrity, face-to-face, and firmly shakes it's hand

wakeymakes

Returning sewist, crafter and runner

saturday night stitch

A UK Sewing and Style blog by a Mum of 5 with a fervent passion for all sorts of dressmaking.

