Burdastyle 4/2015 #120: The Amalfi Dress

Ever since the latest issue of Burdastyle arrived I’ve been feverishly at work. The object of my attention was the wrap dress #120:

This the kind of project where I saw the dress in the preview, auditioned fabrics from my stash right away, had tracing paper and notions at the ready the night before the issue was due and started to trace as soon as it arrived.

And so this turned out:

IMG_0858

 

The pattern is for a woven fabric and I cut one size down from my usual size because I don’t fill wrap dress like they are supposed to be filled. So I cut a size 38 up top grading out to a 40 from the waist. Also I shorteded the back shoulder about 1.5m because the armhole gaped a little across the shoulder blades. Otherwise the pattern was sewed as is. I did combine the lapels and collar that come with two different views, just because I like a collar with American shoulders. Oh, and I used the welt pockets from a different view to the one on the picture too.

IMG_0850

I have to say that I love love love the colours on this! I love strong colours but don’t wear them all that often, but this fabric, which I bought in Barcelona last year, really spoke to me. And you know what happens if fabric speaks to me in the shop… The sales assistant did try to explain to me that this is curtain fabric (at least I think that’s was she was trying to say, my Spanish isn’t all that great…), but I knew its time would come.

IMG_0852

I might still shorten this a little, haven’t quite worked out if this length is good or dowdy.

I like the fact that the skirt is gathered only at the sides and not at the centre front and back – I’m pear shaped enough not to need any extra emphasis at the rear end, thank you very much 😉
Note to self: Get racerback bra!

IMG_0855

So far, I haven’t worn the dress out because it’s still freezing here, but at least for the short while I wore it indoors it seems front gapage is well under control. Gaping is what normally puts me off wrap dresses, although I love the style. This one seems to sit a lot better – and if the worst comes to the worst I think I might be able to hide a little button under the lapels so that I can secure the neckline more or less invisibly.

If your are into wrap dress geekery like I am, here’s a look at the innards:

IMG_0859

The inside front is fixed with a little button (here it’s not buttoned up because my dress form is set to Christmas gluttony 😉 ), the outside front with a bow.

IMG_0861

CB seam for easy swayback adjustment, although I did not need to make any changes.

It’ll certainly be at least a couple of months before I can think about wearing this dress at home, but I’ll be spending Easter in the south of Italy at the Amalfi Coast this year, so this dress will come with me.

IMG_0855

There’s me practicing gazing into the sunset. The island of Capri is close to where I’ll be, so gazing is definitely de rigeur. Oh, and sipping martinis and prosecco from long-stemmed glasses!

IMG_0851

And the Italians love kids, of course, so I’m practicing standing like a little girl too, just in case somebody wants to offer me some free ice cream.

So picture me: Ice cream cone in one hand, glass of prosecco in the other, gazing into the sunset 😉

Where will you be this Easter?

 

Tagged: , ,

20 thoughts on “Burdastyle 4/2015 #120: The Amalfi Dress

  1. Emma Jayne March 17, 2015 at 11:20 pm Reply

    Chris this is stunning. A fantastic make and I love the contrast binding inside. Have a great time in Italy!

    • Chris March 18, 2015 at 10:47 pm Reply

      Thank you so much! You did say that shopping from my stash would be great, didn’t you. Seems you were right! 🙂

  2. Carol Johnson March 17, 2015 at 11:26 pm Reply

    Oh my goodness!! This dress is beautiful…you did a wonderful job!!

  3. sthlivingincolor March 18, 2015 at 12:19 am Reply

    That turned out great–fabric is so beautiful and the fit looks just perfect! Great job!

  4. Angela March 18, 2015 at 1:15 am Reply

    Beautiful! Enjoy gazing at the sunset in Italy:)

  5. Tia Dia March 18, 2015 at 3:55 am Reply

    I love this! So much better than the Burda version, imho. I can see why you chose this fabric – the colours are gorgeous – and the contrast lapels just make the whole thing pop! Great dress!

    • Chris March 18, 2015 at 10:48 pm Reply

      Can you believe that the lapels were made from a scrap I found at the outer reaches of my stash. What coincidence!

  6. I love the contrasting collar with the lovely print! Have a fun holiday!

  7. Marianne March 18, 2015 at 9:48 am Reply

    Wow, nice dress! I love the contrasting lapels and those American shoulders. Lucky you, spending Eastern at the Amalfi coast!

    • Chris March 18, 2015 at 10:45 pm Reply

      Yes, I’m so looking forward to the holiday! Hope there’ll be some nice weather to show off the dress 🙂

  8. ME Pendleton March 18, 2015 at 4:56 pm Reply

    This dress is beautiful . I’ve not been brave enough to try a Burda pattern yet , but if that day comes I would look at this version. I love the fabric, it’s colorful but not over the top.

    • Chris March 18, 2015 at 10:44 pm Reply

      Thank you!
      I would really encourage you to give Burda a try. I think most people find the tracing half as bad as they think and if you start with a simple project then the lack of detailed instructions isn’t going to be a problem.

  9. Paulinakoss Bruce March 20, 2015 at 4:33 am Reply

    Oh my goodness!!! Your dress is absolutely beautiful inside and out! That dress is one of my favorite in the April issue!

  10. Kbenco March 20, 2015 at 6:10 am Reply

    Its lovely, what beautiful fabric, and the inside geekery is very inspiring.

  11. Helena@grayallday March 20, 2015 at 7:53 am Reply

    Wow! Every detail of this dress is so lovely and you look great! Don’t you love when it comes out as planned? You should be extremely proud of this beauty!

    • Chris March 20, 2015 at 9:56 am Reply

      Aaa thank you, I’m glad you like it!

  12. […] who knows, I might even be able to convince the Gods of Mobile Internet to upload a picture of the Amalfi dress once it is in its natural habitat. […]

  13. […] how I made the Amalfi dress especially to wear at Easter on the Amalfi Coast? Well, that didn’t happen – given that […]

  14. […] I maybe should reconsider: this is my third make from this edition, next to the culottes and the Amalfi dress (still unworn, by the way, the weather just isn’t on my […]

  15. […] Nr 3: The Amalfi Dress […]

Leave a Reply

Thimble End

Sustainable sewing | Ethical living

Tweed & Greet

hello to handmade fashion and lifestyle

LOTILDA

Strickblog | Nähblog

The Monthly Stitch

Come sew with us...

Sewchet

Sewing, crochet, crafts, accessories, baking, tutorials,

Love, Lucie

Where hands and minds are rarely still

Apricot Mylo

a dressmaking journey

Handmade by Hannah

Day to day life, one crafting adventure at a time.

Stitched up by Jenna

"Sewing mends the soul"

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

nelnanandnora

Faith, family and creativity

