The Beauty of Expectedness

Look, look, LOOK!!!!! Look what’s landed on my doorstep this morning:

IMG_0842

You see, when the girls of By Hand London did their kickstarter campaign last year I helped fund them and as a reward I knew I was getting some of their goodies. So I knew what I was getting, no surprises there, move on, nothing to see.

But then: Isn’t this amongst the most beautiful sights in the world?

IMG_0843And then fabric!

IMG_0845Yes!! I was allowed to order 2 metres of their print on demand fabric! How very, very exciting. Originally I had thought that I would upload my own design, but quickly realised that designing my own fabric exceeded my skill and time set by far and so I plumped for their gallery pink flamingo fabric. I’m happy to report that the print is exactly like it looks on their site, print crisp and clear throughout the entire piece of fabric.

At first I was a bit worried when I noticed that the print does not go all the way to the selvages:

IMG_0847

But then, of course, how can it, obviously the printer needs an area to grip the fabric while feeding it through its works. Doooh!

You do get a full 148cm width area of usable fabric, so I think that is perfect, no more worries.

IMG_0848

So I think I’ll spend a very happy hour thinking about what I could turn this fabric into.

IMG_0846

In other sewing news, my spring coat is coming on nicely.

IMG_0837

That Peter Pan collar is a work of beauty, if I say so myself.

IMG_0838

I’m at that (for me) tricky point where I prepare the lining for bagging. I always run into trouble at the bottom edge:

IMG_0839I dutifully leave 7 cm of the lining unattached to the facing, but when I turn the cloth I always get some sort of organised chaos.

Here, I just sewed as I thought was fit and it’s kinda working ok, but never as perfect as in a shop bought coat.

IMG_0840But how does this even happen??!!

IMG_0841

I really, REALLY measured the lining to be 1.5cm shorter than the shell. I compared the lining to the shell before attaching it and yes, it was 1.5 cm shorter than the shell. I wasn’t drunk, I wasn’t tired, it wasn’t dark. So HOW CAN THE LINING NOW BE LONGER THAN THE SHELL? AND IF IT IS LONGER WHY ISN’T IT A UNIFORM AMOUNT ALL THE WAY AROUND? WHY DOES THE WORLD NOT MAKE ANY SENSE?

Philosophical questions, I know. So will I sit down to answer them or will I just cut off the lining to the required length?

I think you know the answer to that…

But just to make sure, please do take my little poll:

Tagged: , , ,

7 thoughts on “The Beauty of Expectedness

  1. jay March 13, 2015 at 1:47 pm Reply

    What a lovely present! What will you make with the fabric?

  2. navybluethreads March 13, 2015 at 6:14 pm Reply

    What a beautiful box of goodies 🙂 Will look forward to seeing what you run up with that lovely fabric…

  3. Funny lady! I am envious of your box of goodies!

  4. Thimberlina March 14, 2015 at 6:32 pm Reply

    Pattern & fabric envy here too! 😀

  5. SewingElle March 15, 2015 at 11:27 am Reply

    LOL

  6. Tia Dia March 17, 2015 at 3:46 pm Reply

    What a fabulous box to make your day! And I often have the same lining issues… makes me wonder what I do wrong in long coats’ linings…..

    • Chris March 17, 2015 at 11:14 pm Reply

      I kinda winged it this time but it would be nice to have a logical explanation. I’ll let you know if I find the magic solution.

Leave a Reply

Thimble End

Sustainable sewing | Ethical living

Tweed & Greet

hello to handmade fashion and lifestyle

LOTILDA

stricken & nähen | slowfashion blog

The Monthly Stitch

Come sew with us...

Sewchet

Sewing, crochet, crafts, accessories, baking, tutorials,

Love, Lucie

Where hands and minds are rarely still

Apricot Mylo

a dressmaking journey

Handmade by Hannah

Day to day life, one crafting adventure at a time.

Stitched up by Jenna

"Sewing mends the soul"

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

nelnanandnora

Faith, family and creativity

