A quick review of Burdastyle 4/2015

I have to admit that I have fallen slightly out of love with Burdastyle recently. I think the last issue that really had me excited was 3/2014 – the excitement was for the skinny jeans pattern that I made a few times now. But otherwise it kinda left me cold. I even considered cancelling my subscription, but then I did like a few things in the April edition which landed in my letterbox today, so I think I’m pacified again.

So there you have it, April 2015, according to Burdastyle. One pattern I’m going to make like right now, a couple that might jump my carefully organised queue and some to keep in mind – I think I can call myself a happy sewer.

Did you see anything you like? Enough to bring our the tracing paper?

Tagged: , , ,

14 thoughts on “A quick review of Burdastyle 4/2015

  1. navybluethreads March 11, 2015 at 6:54 pm Reply

    I think subscribing to any magazine always goes a bit like this. There’s nothing that you like or that suits for months, but then there’s a great issue where you want to make everything. I do love flicking through them for ideas though…

  2. sthlivingincolor March 11, 2015 at 7:02 pm Reply

    Boy, there’s a lot here that’s really shapeless. I liked the outfit with the one-shoulder top, too, but I couldn’t wear it, either. As for the culottes, I like them–I bet they’re really comfy, but they look like a skirt if you make them out of a drapey fabric.

    • Chris March 11, 2015 at 10:18 pm Reply

      I kinda like the stiff look of them rather than a drapey skirtlike look. I think I might be confused, can’t even believe I’m writing this…

  3. Tia Dia March 11, 2015 at 7:08 pm Reply

    I’ve been a bit off Burda, too, but my girls love the magazines. So I keep my subscription. I think the one issue that I’ve made the most garments from (and want to make more from yet) is January 2013. I don’t know what it was about that issue, but they hit the ball out of the park for the daughters as well as me. As for 4/2015’s garments… underwear acrobatics is right, but I’ll probably end up making for a daughter! And that caftan is a popular garment these days. Ralph Rucci’s version is the best I’ve seen (Vogue 1181). Can’t wait to see mine when it lands in my mailbox!

    • Chris March 11, 2015 at 10:19 pm Reply

      Yep, I thought of daughter for this dress too. It’s gonna look smashing on a teenager!

  4. Lesley King March 11, 2015 at 10:00 pm Reply

    I’m all about the culottes this year. I can’t wear shorts because of hideous varicose veins but I reckon I can pull off Culottes. If I can pretend they’re also stylish that’s even better!

    • Chris March 11, 2015 at 10:16 pm Reply

      Haha, the French teacher jibe made me laugh. They somehow make me think of school uniforms – although of course I come from a non-school uniform country, so what do I know…

  5. rachsews March 11, 2015 at 10:14 pm Reply

    I am as yet undecided about culottes – they sure are everywhere this year, so I might have to give them a go, but I think they might just make me look stumpy (plus they have unfortunate associations with my old French teacher).

    • Chris March 11, 2015 at 10:17 pm Reply

      Haha, the French teacher jibe made me laugh. They somehow make me think of school uniforms – although of course I come from a non-school uniform country, so what do I know…

      • rachsews March 12, 2015 at 1:50 pm

        Don’t get me wrong – she was a very stylish woman… just a bit scary!

  6. SewingElle March 12, 2015 at 8:04 am Reply

    My march issue hasn’t even arrived yet 😦
    But, it has further to travel to get to me than it does to you!

  7. Chris @ makeandwear March 12, 2015 at 6:29 pm Reply

    I’m a big fan of culottes! But haven’t actually tried a pair on yet…!

  8. Paola March 13, 2015 at 12:58 am Reply

    I made the Liesl & Co culottes a couple of months ago – love them, go for it!
    This issue of burdastyle is another “meh”issue, except for the dress you picked out. It’s great. I gave up my subscription to burdastyle and haven’t missed it, which is surprising because once upon a time I really love it. I buy the odd issue at the newstand if something catches me eye – probably twice a year.

  9. […] since the latest issue of Burdastyle arrived I’ve been feverishly at work. The object of my attention was the wrap dress […]

Leave a Reply

Thimble End

Sustainable sewing | Ethical living

Tweed & Greet

hello to handmade fashion and lifestyle

LOTILDA

Strickblog | Nähblog

The Monthly Stitch

Come sew with us...

Sewchet

Sewing, crochet, crafts, accessories, baking, tutorials,

Love, Lucie

Where hands and minds are rarely still

Apricot Mylo

a dressmaking journey

Handmade by Hannah

Day to day life, one crafting adventure at a time.

Stitched up by Jenna

"Sewing mends the soul"

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

nelnanandnora

Faith, family and creativity

