Cheater’s Bound Button Holes

Who doesn’t love a nice bound button hole, almost the holy grail of home sewing? I certainly like looking at them – not too sure about making them though.
Of course there are number of ways of making bound button holes, most basically follow the instructions for making a double welt pocket hole on the right side and a window in the facing. But there is one method that uses interfacing to glue the opening in place. I used the tutorial by lolitapatterns   which is very clear – I’ve just always had a slight wobble at the end when attaching the lips so I made up my own way in the end. So, in case you are interested, I’ll give you a quick walk-through of the process of making bound button holes on my new spring coat.

All starts with marking the button holes on the wrong side. Note that the whole coat is block fused, so no extra interfacing around the button hole!

IMG_0763

Interfacing is placed on the button hole site on the right side – with the sticky side facing up!  Then you sew around the button hole. I did this from the wrong side where I marked the hole.

IMG_0764

The button hole is cut open with the usual y shape towards the corners and the interfacing pulled to the inside

IMG_0765

Then the interfacing in carefully fused into place, thus glueing down the welt opening.

IMG_0766

That’s it from the right side, both holes in front and facing already completed.

IMG_0768

Both lips are attached at the same time. The stripes for both lips are basted together along the middle ad then pressed open

IMG_0769The lips are pinned so that they sit nicely in the centre of the window.

IMG_0770Now of course you can’t attach them in the usal way because the opening flaps are glued into place. So basically I just sewed around the button hole from the right side.

IMG_0772The lips are now attached by that line of stitching.

IMG_0773

This is what it looks like from the facing side of things. Of course I have not hand-stitched the facing around the button hole yet.

IMG_0774

So there you go: cheater’s bound button holes. I don’t think they are much faster and of course there is a line of stitching around the button hole that would’t be there if they were done the proper way. Also that stitching might be unsightly on bulkier fabrics, so this easy method is definitely not for everyone and every project.

But what I really liked is that because the interfacing glues the hole in place there is a lot of control over the final look and no puckering that sometimes occurs when I attach the lips to the flaps.

Otherwise the coat is coming along nicely too, so hopefully I’ll have something completed to show soon.

What is your favourite method of bound button holes? And tips or tricks? Do tell!

Tagged: ,

5 thoughts on “Cheater’s Bound Button Holes

  1. fabricfan March 11, 2015 at 1:11 am Reply

    first time I have seen this method, thanks for the tutorial. i may just give it a try!

  2. That is a very easy method. I used to avoid bound buttonholes until I saw Janet Pray’s Craftsy course. Now I am more relaxed doing it. But I do admit sewing those triangles down is the hardest part!

  3. Nakisha March 11, 2015 at 4:04 am Reply

    I just finished a coat with my first bound buttonholes. I used Iconic patterns tutorial.

    They are highly gratifying! Can’t wait o see your coat!

  4. SewingElle March 11, 2015 at 12:45 pm Reply

    oh very clever! thanks for sharing.

  5. Tia Dia March 11, 2015 at 4:00 pm Reply

    I’ve never seen this version of a bound buttonhole before! Interesting, and yes, quite fail safe with the fusible interfacing. I’ve used organza facing prior to adding the welts, but never fusible. Thanks for posting!

Leave a Reply

LOTILDA

stricken & nähen | slowfashion blog

The Monthly Stitch

Come sew with us...

Sewchet

Sewing, crochet, crafts, accessories, baking, tutorials,

Love, Lucie

Where hands and minds are rarely still

Apricot Mylo

a dressmaking journey

Handmade by Hannah

Day to day life, one crafting adventure at a time.

Stitched up by Jenna

"Sewing mends the soul"

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

nelnanandnora

Faith, family and creativity

thesewingmiserablist

where stitchery gets to meet mediocrity, face-to-face, and firmly shakes it's hand

wakeymakes

Returning sewist, crafter and runner

saturday night stitch

A UK Sewing and Style blog by a Mum of 5 with a fervent passion for all sorts of dressmaking.

