Burda Easy A/W 2014 #4C: Blouse from Deep Stash and a Stash Diet Update

I have been a good, good girl! Egged on by all your encouragement about my mini stash diet I’ve been digging through the outer regions of my stash and I found 1 1/2 metres of some powder pink mystery fabric. It feels like a sandwashed viscose pique (if such a thing exists), but have no expertise judging fabric content other than deciding what it feels like 😉
I used one of the patterns from Burda Easy Autumn/Winter 2014, view #4c :

It’s a cowl-neck woven blouse with a waistband, consequently it has a zip, although on a thin day I can just about get it on without opening the zip.

IMG_0741

IMG_0739

I made this without alterations of any kind, cutting my usual size 40.

IMG_0740

Although I haven’t worn this out yet, I’m not sure I’m going to make it again. I love me a good cowl neck, but this seems a little roomy all over the front, so I wonder if doesn’t make me look bigger than I need to be.

But still, for now, with the first spring air on the wind I think the colour will go well with my usual first spring pastell phase, so I’ll wear it a few times before I decide if this is a keeper.

In other sewing news I’m unexpectedly enjoying my stash diet a lot! I’ve rummaged through the stash an found a number of fabrics that I have found homes for right now. I’ve even started cutting stuff in advance! Look:

IMG_0745All those boxes do not contain utter chaos – au contraire! Each box holds the precut parts for one project together with notion, instructions and the pattern pieces. The top box has already been turned into pyjama bottoms – took me all of two hours on a weekday night, given that all the prep was alread done. And once a project is finished, the pattern goes into the “out” box on the left:

IMG_0746So everything in the out-box can be tidied away should the fancy take me. It never does, don’t get me wrong, but a girl can hope!

So yes, against all expectations my stash diet is going well and I’m enjoying it. I “found” a blouse worth of red viscose in the back of a cupboard that I pre-treated in a gelatine bath yesterday, so I might soon be the proud owner of a red pussy bow blouse that came out of nowhere.

So yes, in spite of everything I said in the past, a little bit of a diet can be a good thing!

 

Tagged: , , , , ,

8 thoughts on “Burda Easy A/W 2014 #4C: Blouse from Deep Stash and a Stash Diet Update

  1. navybluethreads March 3, 2015 at 6:13 pm Reply

    🙂 Loving the efficiency of you new ‘box system’, highly impressive. You could always tuck your new blouse in (although granted a shame not to show off the band feature) to make it a little more fitted.

    • Chris March 3, 2015 at 8:40 pm Reply

      Yep, the blouse is on probation but I gave it a stern talking to in case it decided not to be flattering. Those boxes are waiting!!!

  2. Tia Dia March 3, 2015 at 6:40 pm Reply

    What a great box system to keep projects in order! And kudos on your diet so far. It’s so much fun finding interesting fabric in one’s stash – it can be much more satisfying than shopping for new stuff!

    • Chris March 3, 2015 at 8:42 pm Reply

      Yes absolutely. I would not have thought it, I’m enjoying shopping my own stash. That doesn’t mean to say that I don’t look at those fabric websites announcing their spring wares 😉

  3. Thimberlina March 3, 2015 at 10:51 pm Reply

    Love the colour with your new snazzy pants. I think (here I go again!) it might look better an inch or 2 shorter. Could it be lost where the band meets the top??
    Love your sewing baskets, do you have a cutting out day..? 😃

  4. Very impressive, you have things in the IN boxes BUT you also have things in your OUT boxes! Your top is a nice colour match to your jeans, don’t know if that is just the photo or in real life too, but they do look nice together!

  5. SewingElle March 4, 2015 at 7:32 am Reply

    I wonder about the drafting for this top. I made up the dress version, without the cowl, and I was a bit surprised on how not so like Burda sizing it was. Loose in parts I didn’t expect and tight in others.
    Very impressed with the box system and the week night sewing. I just can’t bring myself to it.

  6. Freshly Sewn March 4, 2015 at 5:25 pm Reply

    I like this box system! I should consider doing something like this, since I get so stalled out at the end of projects (hemming stage).

Leave a Reply

Thimble End

Sustainable sewing | Ethical living

Tweed & Greet

hello to handmade fashion and lifestyle

LOTILDA

stricken & nähen | slowfashion blog

The Monthly Stitch

Come sew with us...

Sewchet

Sewing, crochet, crafts, accessories, baking, tutorials,

Love, Lucie

Where hands and minds are rarely still

Apricot Mylo

a dressmaking journey

Handmade by Hannah

Day to day life, one crafting adventure at a time.

Stitched up by Jenna

"Sewing mends the soul"

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

nelnanandnora

Faith, family and creativity

