Burdastyle /2014 # : A Skinny Reptile and a Pattern Ooopsy

Thank you for your kind comments regarding the pattern placement on my Happy Skirt! I can now happily report that after wearing the skirt out for the first time, nobody was shocked, with the small exception of Child 1 who said the pattern placement was “a little strange”, but only after being prompted. Coming from a 15 year old I take this as a compliment!

Today I have a similar project – similar is as much as the pattern placement again is a little strange – but this time it might be “unfortunate strange” rather than “fun strange”…

But judge for yourself:

IMG_0724These are another version of my go-to jeans pattern, Burdastyle 3/14 #115 which I made before here and here.

 

IMG_0728

IMG_0732I did not make them as skinny through the leg as the original and did not go all the way on the topstitching so that they come out as trousers rather than jeans as such.

IMG_0725

So far, I am actually quite proud about the pattern matchig. Those reptile patterns are pretty symmetrical across both legs ( can you hear the voice of Patrick Grant off the Great British Sewing Bee in the back of your head as you read this? “It’s preeeetty symmetrical!”) . When I bought the fabric I didn’t even realise it was a reptile print, I just liked the colours. I had always thought I’m not your snakeprint kinda girl, but clearly things have changed.

That’s all so far so good. But look what happens when I lift up my top:

IMG_0733

Honestly: How bad is this? Is it as bad as I think it is? I never realised what I was doing until I put them on for the first time and found I had marked out my bum crack for all to see…

Not really sure what to do at this point. Do I wear them with a long top? Or do I wear them and simply not care? Or can you think of another way of saving them? I really would like to, in all other respects they are a nice pair of trousers. Just to prove it, feast your eyes on this:

IMG_0734Yep, there are patch pockets on my bum. And yes again, these ones are pattern matched to perfection. So I do know what I’m doing – sometimes…

Tagged: , ,

17 thoughts on “Burdastyle /2014 # : A Skinny Reptile and a Pattern Ooopsy

  1. sthlivingincolor February 27, 2015 at 10:34 pm Reply

    I think they look absolutely fine–trust me, it’s only sewers who worry about stuff like this. 😉

  2. Tia Dia February 27, 2015 at 10:52 pm Reply

    I totally understand your should-I-wear-them-or-fix-them conundrum, but from a devil’s advocate point of view, are they really the worst thing ever to be seen in printed trousers/jeans? The fabric is wonderful, and if anyone notices anything, it’s going to be the fabulousness of the fabric.

  3. Nakisha February 28, 2015 at 12:45 am Reply

    I seriously didn’t notice til you pointed it out. Wear them. Proudly.

  4. Sarah February 28, 2015 at 3:17 am Reply

    Well… If someone notices it without being prompted, you’lol know where they have been looking 😉

  5. Emma Jayne February 28, 2015 at 3:34 am Reply

    So eye-level and square on, yes the symmetry does highlight the interesting pattern placement but really, if anyone is eye-level and square on to your behind then it’s them that’s weird not the trousers. Wear them unashamedly!

  6. Thimberlina February 28, 2015 at 1:29 pm Reply

    I think they look fab, but I differ a bit from the other comments. I think although you should wear them with pride, they would benefit from a slight alteration. Looking at the back the colours are lighter at the top half, and darker pattern does draw attention to where you mentioned (don’t really know how to put it!!)
    How about removing the pockets and putting them back with a black piped edge? I think this would draw the eye away from the middle.
    They are amazing tho, and really suit you ✂️😀✂️

    • Chris February 28, 2015 at 7:02 pm Reply

      That’s actually a fantastic idea! I will try a mock up once I get the chance and post some photos for your consideration. Thanks for the tip!

  7. navybluethreads February 28, 2015 at 5:33 pm Reply

    Clever idea Thimberlina! Although, I’m not totally convinced anyone but a sewer would notice. They also really suit a longer top (or jacket?) so I’m not sure I’d bother changing anything…

  8. Mia February 28, 2015 at 5:56 pm Reply

    Lovely pants anyway, Chris.

    Concerning the “accident”: I would suggest experimenting with the patch pockets as Thimberlina already has mentioned. First you might try to pin some black fabric there with objective of receiving an impression of “optical effectiveness” > Looking forward to the intermediate result here. 🙂

    PS: One more good thing about the print, you don`t have to take care in terms of any vpl. 😀

    • Chris February 28, 2015 at 7:03 pm Reply

      haha Mia, I was thinking of you when those pictures were taken. I wore a new pair of beige jeans for the first time today – an entirely different matter vpl-wise 😉

  9. Anonymous February 28, 2015 at 7:42 pm Reply

    Haha 🙂 Hopefully you-made and soon on your blog?

  10. Mia February 28, 2015 at 7:42 pm Reply

    Haha 🙂 Hopefully you-made and soon on your blog?

  11. Linda of Nice dress! Thanks, I made it!! February 28, 2015 at 11:22 pm Reply

    Wow love the fabric. So unique! I think the pattern matching is great!

  12. SewingElle February 28, 2015 at 11:55 pm Reply

    Thimberlina’s suggestion is ace.

    I think they are fabulous. If it was me, I’d wear them, snicker every time I looked in the mirror at my rear, but know that no one else but your sewing fans would notice.

  13. symondezyn March 13, 2015 at 6:58 pm Reply

    Having borne witness to the atrocious pattern NON-matching that my hubby sports with his favourite RTW plaid shirts, I can attest to the fact that, like the ladies before me have mentioned, no one but a fellow sewist would ever notice this 🙂 That being said, I think whether you employ a fix depends on whether you typically wear your shirts tucked or untucked. I have a pair of trousers that the welts are VERY imperfect but I still wear them because my tops cover them – if you generally don’t tuck in, then why worry? ^__^ Spend your precious time making another fabulous pair of trousers instead! ^__^

  14. […] I don’t really have anything to say that I haven’t said before, but I bet you are relieved that these sport a less questionable pattern than the last version before these. […]

  15. […] my go to skinny jeans pattern and I lost count of the versions I made. Here, here, here and here is a little bit of evidence. But in fact the one pair of jeans that I wear most often isn’t […]

Leave a Reply

LOTILDA

stricken & nähen | slowfashion blog

The Monthly Stitch

Come sew with us...

Sewchet

Sewing, crochet, crafts, accessories, baking, tutorials,

Love, Lucie

Where hands and minds are rarely still

Apricot Mylo

a dressmaking journey

Handmade by Hannah

Day to day life, one crafting adventure at a time.

Stitched up by Jenna

"Sewing mends the soul"

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

nelnanandnora

Faith, family and creativity

thesewingmiserablist

where stitchery gets to meet mediocrity, face-to-face, and firmly shakes it's hand

wakeymakes

Returning sewist, crafter and runner

saturday night stitch

A UK Sewing and Style blog by a Mum of 5 with a fervent passion for all sorts of dressmaking.

