Burdastyle 9/2007 #116 : “Because I’m Happy”-Skirt

If you’re telling me this is ridiculous, I would readily agree. It IS ridiculous to wear a skirt has has bambis jumping out of your crotch and pink roses adorning the unspeakable place where the sun don’t shine. And even more ridiculous to have a strapping young lad with a silly hat sniffing those said roses!

IMG_07161

IMG_07181

But still: wearing this just makes me so happy, inspite of all the hilarity! It is basically a metre of fabric happiness, all pattern-“matched” into a “I don’t care” skirt that is more than a little nod to Oona, the muse of all dangerous pattern placement.

IMG_0720
I made up the pattern a few times before (but never blogged it) and what can I say, it’s one of my favourite skirt patterns. I like a pencil skirt as much as the next woman, but always find them difficult to fit across those hips. This has the pegged in look but a lot more wriggle room for the booty.

IMG_0723

I should have included a walking vent, but only realised when it was too late. Well, no running away in this skirt, I’m going to have to look all those people who point at me in the eye.

IMG_0718

IMG_0721

By the way: in case you’re wondering what’s happening with that hair and why I don’t give a hairdresser the job they so clearly deserve – I’m trying to let it grow a little. But because I have had short or very short hair for basically 30 years I’m in some slight confusion as to what length I actually want to grow it to. So at the moment I’m going with straight out of bed hair and call it a look. Because that totally makes it a look, right! Right????….

IMG_0723So there: tummy in, chest out and bottom-roses at the ready… πŸ™‚

Tagged: , , ,

21 thoughts on “Burdastyle 9/2007 #116 : “Because I’m Happy”-Skirt

  1. sewbusylizzy February 24, 2015 at 1:12 pm Reply

    I love it. I wear my ‘nude ladies’ dress all the time. I think you will really enjoy wearing this skirt, it’s a fun item to pair with more simple separates.
    And my hair is always ‘bedhead’ at the moment. It’s just too humid here to fight the curls!

    • Chris February 27, 2015 at 2:08 pm Reply

      I was actually thinking of the nude ladies dress when I made up the skirt πŸ™‚

  2. jay February 24, 2015 at 3:25 pm Reply

    I would not give two hoots about where the motifs fall – the overall effect is great!

  3. Tia Dia February 24, 2015 at 4:59 pm Reply

    What great fabric, and, therefore, a great skirt. Who cares about the motifs’ placement? It’s a great skirt, and I totally see why you like wearing it so much!

  4. navybluethreads February 24, 2015 at 11:18 pm Reply

    πŸ™‚ This post really made me smile. Fab fabric, fab pattern and a much needed breath of fresh air for Spring.

  5. SewingElle February 24, 2015 at 11:20 pm Reply

    LOL. Skirt is fabulous!

  6. Amanda February 25, 2015 at 8:21 am Reply

    Love it! 🐝

    • Chris February 27, 2015 at 2:06 pm Reply

      Thank you!

  7. Linda of Nice dress! Thanks, I made it!! February 25, 2015 at 5:18 pm Reply

    It is a nice pattern and a nice fabric! I don’t think there will ever be a “successful” placement with that busy fabric, so just go for it!

  8. Sarah February 27, 2015 at 11:56 am Reply

    is this a burda pattern? i really like how it fits and tried to look up the July issue from 2009 (in my archive!) but couldn’t find it… can you please help? thanks πŸ™‚

    • Chris February 27, 2015 at 2:06 pm Reply

      It’s 116 fr0m 9/07. It’s a great pattern, with the brod waistband I find it’s a lot easier to fit than with a narrower one.

      • Sarah February 27, 2015 at 2:20 pm

        Thanks… was lookin at July 2009 (07/09 instead of instead of September 2007 (09/07) πŸ˜‰

      • Chris February 27, 2015 at 2:52 pm

        Well that was my fault in fact… I originally got the numbers confused 😯

  9. […] you for your kind comments regarding the pattern placement on my Happy Skirt! I can now happily report that after wearing the skirt out for the first time, nobody was shocked, […]

  10. Andrea February 28, 2015 at 7:46 pm Reply

    The skirt turned out lovely. I really love floral skirts at the moment.

  11. Helena@grayallday March 1, 2015 at 6:37 am Reply

    The shape of that skirt is great! This is a hidden gem of a pattern for sure. Thank you for throwing some bambis and roses on that and blogging about it!

  12. Bryanna Johnson March 1, 2015 at 8:05 am Reply

    The skirt looks great! I like the fit.

  13. Draped in Cloudlets March 9, 2015 at 4:55 pm Reply

    Sehr sehr toller Stoff (und Rock!).

    • Chris March 10, 2015 at 11:06 pm Reply

      Danke! Als mir der beim Karstadt unter die HΓ€nde am, konnte ich nicht nein sagen πŸ™‚

  14. symondezyn March 13, 2015 at 6:53 pm Reply

    It IS hilarious fabric but looks so good, and from far away you’d never guess it had hidden secrets ^__^ Love the fit and style, too πŸ™‚

  15. […] I decided on a frankenpattern of the BHL Elisalex bodice and my trusted skirt TNT pattern Burdastyle 9/2007 # 116.Β  I just love that […]

Leave a Reply

LOTILDA

stricken & nΓ€hen | slowfashion blog

The Monthly Stitch

Come sew with us...

Sewchet

Sewing, crochet, crafts, accessories, baking, tutorials,

Love, Lucie

Where hands and minds are rarely still

Apricot Mylo

a dressmaking journey

Handmade by Hannah

Day to day life, one crafting adventure at a time.

Stitched up by Jenna

"Sewing mends the soul"

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

nelnanandnora

Faith, family and creativity

thesewingmiserablist

where stitchery gets to meet mediocrity, face-to-face, and firmly shakes it's hand

wakeymakes

Returning sewist, crafter and runner

saturday night stitch

A UK Sewing and Style blog by a Mum of 5 with a fervent passion for all sorts of dressmaking.

