Giving it up for Lent: A Mini Stash Diet

I’m not even religious, but I’m still a big fan of Giving Something Up for Lent, much more so than the Catholics that surround me here in the south of Germany. You see, I have a scizophrenic relationship with consumerism: on the one hand I love stuff as much as the next person, I love getting new stuff, and also I have the financial means to buy stuff without having to go without food or other necesseties. On the other hand I am very conscious of the fact that consumerism and the capitalist mantra to make the world tick on by buying more, more, MORE leads to environmental and social damage that might lead to the exact opposite of the world ticking on.

Rather than having any Great Solution to these problems I’ve fallen into the habit of Giving It Up for Lent: For six weeks I try to do without some of the things that have become second nature at all other times. Alcohol, sweets, meat are the obvious candidates. To anethesize my anticapitalist tendencies I also have included what I call “gratuitous shopping” in my list. In previous years this used to mean all sorts of clothes, shoe and this and that shopping. But of course I don’t really buy a lot of RTW any more, so giving this up wouldn’t really make any difference. This for the first time EVER I’m comimitting myself to a stash diet – a minute one. I vow not to buy and fabrics from today, Ash Wednesday, to –  but not including – 18 April, when the next local fabric market will take place.

The hardened stash dieters amongst you will laugh out loud at me, I know. Especially as I’m giving myself leave to break with my diet should I chance upon interesting fabric shops in my upcoming journey to the south of Italy in late March (you see, real Catholics always have a way out, in this case by making travels a diet free zone. Neat, ey?!).  For me, it’s baby steps: two months of not buying fabrics and sewing only from my stash. Not sure I will emerge from the experience spiritually healed, but at least my fabric chest might have enough room to accommodate the fabric market haul.

How about you? Stash diet going well? Does Lent have any place in your life? Do you think my slight anxiety attacks at the thought of NO MORE FABRIC SHOPPING FOR TWO MONTHS are ridiculous? And what fabric would you buy first after those two months?

 

Tagged: , , ,

14 thoughts on “Giving it up for Lent: A Mini Stash Diet

  1. sewbusylizzy February 18, 2015 at 12:55 pm Reply

    Probably a knit or rayon! Some soft with drape always sucks me back into the fabric buying vortex!

    • Chris February 18, 2015 at 2:20 pm Reply

      That sound very tempting! Ohh, I can feel the vortex sucking on my very soul. On day 1… 😉

  2. Tia Dia February 18, 2015 at 4:10 pm Reply

    Wow. Good for you! I’ve been trying to stash diet for a while – successfully for the last couple of months – but blew it yesterday, all in favour of DD1’s desperate need for a dress coat. I went the whole hog and bought Harris tweed in blackwatch plaid. Funny how I can justify buying fabric for my girls….. 🙂

  3. navybluethreads February 18, 2015 at 6:05 pm Reply

    Hadn’t even thought of giving up fabric purchases. A great idea! After royally stuffing ourselves with pancakes yesterday, we’re attempting to give up chocolate and cakes (with the exception of a Sunday treat for the kids, really don’t think they’d cope otherwise). I’ll be joining you in spirit though, as I have a backlog of planned (and purchased) projects to get through…

  4. Nakisha February 18, 2015 at 7:13 pm Reply

    I am totally trying to “fast” until June. So optimistic. Sigh…

    I too am not religious but always give up something for Lent. I did not realize it’d snuck up so quickly. I need to figure it out; fast!

  5. SewingElle February 18, 2015 at 10:13 pm Reply

    I totally approve of seeing your trip to Italy as a diet free zone. Fabric buying away from home is not stash building, it’s getting souvenirs. Good luck!

    • Chris February 20, 2015 at 1:24 am Reply

      I’ going on a walking tour, so not sure that fabric shopping will be on the cards. But just in case, better be prepared, ey?!

  6. Linda of Nice dress! Thanks, I made it!! February 18, 2015 at 11:16 pm Reply

    Absolutely! I agree, you must buy souvenirs while you are away! I cannot imagine going without fabric shopping! Be strong though, I am sure you can do it.

  7. Emma Jayne February 19, 2015 at 7:42 am Reply

    If my year long stash diet it anything to go by, your lent variation might cure you from wanton fabric purchases for good!

    • Chris February 20, 2015 at 1:22 am Reply

      Do you really think so? I have a feeling you might have more self-restraint than me…

  8. […] pleased to hear that this fabric came from the midth of my stash and I’m still on track with my miny stash diet with less than 4 weeks to go, two of which I’ll be away on […]

  9. Karen March 26, 2015 at 8:51 pm Reply

    Chose the same restriction for Lent. I am giving up all pleasure shopping so only necessities. Of course I got a fix right away because my daughter and nieces needed dresses for a formal. But it still felt good to know I was refraining otherwise.

    • Chris March 26, 2015 at 11:32 pm Reply

      I do the same thing: buying stuff for the kids rather than for me. Seems to take the edge off the buying bug…

  10. […] On the plus side, when I got to Tuscany a few days later to visit a dear friend the weather had turned warm enough to at least do some fabric shopping at the weekly market in Siena, thus using the get of of jail free card my stash diet rules had provided me with. […]

Leave a Reply

LOTILDA

stricken & nähen | slowfashion blog

The Monthly Stitch

Come sew with us...

Sewchet

Sewing, crochet, crafts, accessories, baking, tutorials,

Love, Lucie

Where hands and minds are rarely still

Apricot Mylo

a dressmaking journey

Handmade by Hannah

Day to day life, one crafting adventure at a time.

Stitched up by Jenna

"Sewing mends the soul"

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

nelnanandnora

Faith, family and creativity

thesewingmiserablist

where stitchery gets to meet mediocrity, face-to-face, and firmly shakes it's hand

wakeymakes

Returning sewist, crafter and runner

saturday night stitch

A UK Sewing and Style blog by a Mum of 5 with a fervent passion for all sorts of dressmaking.

