Burda Vintage: Rosa – Not pink but black!

It’s all very confusing: Burda have decided to give their patterns in the Vintage edition names rather than their usual soulless numbers.

IMG_0695

While that’s all very well, the pattern Rosa got me hopelessly confused. You see, in German, “rosa” means light pink. But I did not intend to make the jacket in light pink…  I had white bouclé in mind, from the stash, so that was my good deed for the day.

IMG_0682I have not managed to get proper pictures of the jacket so I’ll wait for those for a  further post. But believe me that I like the jacket a lot, so much so that I decided to make a top of it too.

IMG_0668This is the same cut as the jacket but without the buttoned front.

IMG_0667For me and my non-fashion ways this is on the edgy side of edgy: coated bouclé for the front and back and pleather for the sleeves and facing. I got the materials from Stoff and Stil, and I have to say I was delighted with their fabrics. I got the bouclé in the sale for a great price. Their normal fabrics are not exactly bargain basement, but I was pleased with the service and will definitely order from them again.

IMG_0665I have to say that I really love it – but I got so many comments on the fashion-ness of the top that I wonder if it might be a bit out there for my usual me  ;-). One thing I noticed was that the pleather is very very not – not sure whether that is just me or whether all pleather garments are quite so sweltering. I certainly couldn’t wear full on pleather – just the thought of those oh-so-fashionable pleather leggins makes me shudder – I would be a climate change inducing factor all by myself!

IMG_0678Here you can see the fabric blocking a bit better. I really love the pattern with the little darts across the elbow. Although they are only small they do give a little bit of sleeve shaping which I think makes all the difference on such an unfitted top.

IMG_0679

I finished the neckline with a pleather facing. As you can see I did not quote manage to get in on without creases (the pleather has stretch, the bouclé most definitely not…) but I trust you’re not gonna tell anyone. This is our secret!

Having no fashion-consciousness whatsoever I would not even have thought that Rosa really is a vintage pattern. But Burda do a whole lot of blurb in their magazine about the “history” of each pattern, and lo and behold, there are some proper vintage pictures of Rosa:

IMG_0697So there you go, I’m sure I look just like that! And yes, I did go and buy some light pink fabric to make Rosa in rosa. What can I do,  I just like following instructions 😉

 

Tagged: , , ,

8 thoughts on “Burda Vintage: Rosa – Not pink but black!

  1. navybluethreads February 17, 2015 at 9:39 pm Reply

    I really love this top on you, the sleeves look great, even if they are a little hot! Never tried pleather, but the contrast is really effective 🙂

    • Chris February 20, 2015 at 1:27 am Reply

      Thanks! I really love the look of pleather, though I’m not sure I’ll be using more now that I know of the hotness issue…

  2. SewingElle February 17, 2015 at 10:20 pm Reply

    Awesome top. This looks like a great pattern.

    • Chris February 18, 2015 at 12:27 pm Reply

      Yes! I would definitely recommend it. And it’s easy to sew as well. Win-win!

  3. Linda of Nice dress! Thanks, I made it!! February 18, 2015 at 2:20 am Reply

    It looks good! I was wondering if it would be too warm! Guess I have an answer!

    • Chris February 18, 2015 at 12:26 pm Reply

      Yep. If, like me, you are rather too warm than too cold than maybe pleather isn’t the way to go…

  4. Andrea February 18, 2015 at 5:18 am Reply

    What a lovely top. I really like the boucle pleather combination. It definitely isn’t too edgy.

    • Chris February 18, 2015 at 12:26 pm Reply

      Thank you! It’s a cracking pattern, really easy to sew and still a little bit different.

Leave a Reply

Thimble End

Sustainable sewing | Ethical living

Tweed & Greet

hello to handmade fashion and lifestyle

LOTILDA

stricken & nähen | slowfashion blog

The Monthly Stitch

Come sew with us...

Sewchet

Sewing, crochet, crafts, accessories, baking, tutorials,

Love, Lucie

Where hands and minds are rarely still

Apricot Mylo

a dressmaking journey

Handmade by Hannah

Day to day life, one crafting adventure at a time.

Stitched up by Jenna

"Sewing mends the soul"

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

nelnanandnora

Faith, family and creativity

