The First Skirt of the Year!

I spent the end of 2014 in Berlin and naturally I did a bit of fabric shopping. I have to emphasize the “bit” bit – I was with my family and they don’t tolerate and real in depth fabric purchasing research. So in the end of the day I shopped in one of the large department stores – in fact I probobly could have got the same fabrics in my local branch but still: in my mind these fabrics will forever be associated with my Berlin trip for me.

The first fabric was one metre of heavy wool coating – but I knew from the start I wanted to make a skirt out of this. The colour, “dark forest” probably comes closest to describing it, is one of my very favourite colours.

IMG_0592I dug out an older Burdastyle A-line skirt pattern (can’t remember which one, as only the traced pattern remains) and only added the tabs to the pockets.

IMG_0598I need to have pocketses, don’t I ?!

IMG_0596The back just has two darts and an invisible zip (which unfortunately ended up not to be quite invisible where the waistband meets the skirt. Should have chosen a lapped zip in this thick fabric. Live and learn, ey?

The blouse is my first ever make of a Ottobre magazine, Ottobre Woman 5/14. I might even get around to blogging it one day, given that I made the pattern twice already.

 

IMG_0595This was completed at the beginning of January, right after the Russian General Coat and what you see here is pretty much the only snow we had this winter. Just to illustrate the crazyness of winter 2014/15, feast your eyes on this picture (and a preview of my latest trousers) taken a few days later:

IMG_0611Well, weather!! How has your winter been? Or are in in the midth of summer, waiting desperately for a breath of fresh air?

Tagged: , , , ,

15 thoughts on “The First Skirt of the Year!

  1. Marianne January 30, 2015 at 5:07 pm Reply

    Nice skirt! We had one day of snow so far, which I used to take some blog pics. But we also have blooming roses, it’s a weird winter!

    • Chris February 1, 2015 at 1:44 am Reply

      blooming roses and snow? That is very weird indeed. Let’s hope for an early spring,ey?

  2. navybluethreads January 30, 2015 at 6:06 pm Reply

    Lovely coloured skirt on you Chris! Looks like a useful make. Freezing here and snow the last couple of days. Funny how we British are so bad at coping with it though ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • Chris February 1, 2015 at 1:45 am Reply

      Well, you seem to be doing just fine, judging from all the scarfs and cosy dresses you have been making!

      • navybluethreads February 1, 2015 at 1:43 pm

        Thank you! Yes, emphasis definitely on warmth at the moment ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Tia Dia January 30, 2015 at 8:14 pm Reply

    Love your skirt. The pocket flaps make it interesting, too. Fabulous touch, and a great colour! We have just had our first real dump of snow – about 5cm – which, in my family’s books, is completely pathetic from a winter weather point of view. It’s properly cold, too… about -12C… bright blue skies and brilliant sunshine. ๐Ÿ™‚ Winter has got to be my favourite season. ๐Ÿ˜›

    • Chris February 1, 2015 at 1:48 am Reply

      I have to admit I can’t wait to see the back of winter… But then we have had little snow, it’s been mild but overcast for what seems like months. If the sun came out tomorrow I wouldn’t know what it is. So that way I would prefer the kind of weather you are having.

  4. Paola January 30, 2015 at 11:28 pm Reply

    Great skirt. Interesting that German department stores still carry fabric. Sadly, fabric hasn’t been sold in Australian department stores for a long time now.
    We’ve been sweating through a more than usually hot, humid summer here in south east Australia, so I’m looking at that snow rather wistfully.

    • Chris February 1, 2015 at 1:50 am Reply

      In fact it’s only one chain of department stores that still carry fabrics – and they have been on the verge of bankrupcy for ages. So my supply chain might get broken soon …

  5. Linda of Nice dress! Thanks, I made it!! January 31, 2015 at 4:55 am Reply

    Looks like your snow disappeared really fast! We haven’t had any yet! (Knock on wood!). Your skirt looks very nice! I love the green colour. It is very rich!

    • Chris February 1, 2015 at 1:53 am Reply

      Thanks Linda! Let’s hope spring arrives soon!

  6. SewingElle January 31, 2015 at 11:49 pm Reply

    Great skirt. The pocket flaps are a stylish addition. I have a wool coat remnant that I’ve been thinking about for a skirt too. Good to see you’ve made it work so well!
    No snow here, actually surprisingly mild for summer here in south Australia, unlike my fellow sewists in south eastern Australia. And I’ve made several really hot weather garments this summer! Most unworn as yet!

    • Chris February 1, 2015 at 1:52 am Reply

      Goodness, i’ confused now: Are you saying there are summers in Australia that are not a picture of perfection? What does a poor, sun-starved Northern European have to dream of??!!

  7. Gabrielle UpSewLate February 2, 2015 at 1:58 pm Reply

    That IS crazy weather! We’re in Summer in Sydney, but it’s alternating between hot and rainy (right now it’s rainy…). Your skirt looks elegant and cosy, and those pockets look really great. A great match with your blouse too!

  8. Helena@grayallday February 2, 2015 at 5:01 pm Reply

    Your skirt is lovely and the color is perfect. We have also had such a crazy mild winter that I have had to stop complaining for a bit! Poor me!

Leave a Reply

Thimble End

Sustainable sewing | Ethical living

Tweed & Greet

hello to handmade fashion and lifestyle

LOTILDA

stricken & nรคhen | slowfashion blog

The Monthly Stitch

Come sew with us...

Sewchet

Sewing, crochet, crafts, accessories, baking, tutorials,

Love, Lucie

Where hands and minds are rarely still

Apricot Mylo

a dressmaking journey

Handmade by Hannah

Day to day life, one crafting adventure at a time.

Stitched up by Jenna

"Sewing mends the soul"

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

nelnanandnora

Faith, family and creativity

