Top 5 Ideas to Get More Out of My Stash

I’ve been kinda lazy on the top 5 front this year – although I did make quite a few nice things that I have worn a lot. But somehow I felt I couldn’t decide, especially as some of my favourites are – as yet – unblogged.

But I did decide that 2015 might be the year where I take away from my stash more than I add to it. Revolutionary, at least for me, I know, but somehow it’s time. Note that this is NO committment to a stash diet – I don’t do diets 😉 .

Aaanyways, I thought I might look through my stash and find some fabrics that I like and start some plans as to what to do with them.

IMG_0585 So here’s the pile of fabrics I identified for new ideas.

Starting from the bottom, the first fabric is already spoken for:

IMG_0573 It’s a ivory colour boucle type fabric. It came from the remnants bin of my local fabric store and I always wanted to make a straightforward blazer. But now I’ve fallen for the jacket ROSA from the Burda Vintage edition. So this is towards the front of my queue.

IMG_0574This cotton crochet lace has been in my stash for far too long. I know I want to make a simple 3/4 sleeve top out of it. Burda has had a few suitable versions over the years, but I have always chickened out because I’m not really sure of how to finish this rather thick lace. It’s time for some experimental sewing!

IMG_0575This wants to be a spring coat! The solid blue is a wool fabric, relatively light for a coat, that’s why I think it might be good for spring. The flowery lining is a cotton satin – I orginally bought it for a dress, but I think it’s a bit much for that. Much better as a lining! I’m not quite sure about the pattern yet, so it might take a little while before I get round to making this.

IMG_0580 This stretch satin is going to be slimline trousers. I have a new Burda pattern in mind and if everything goes according to plan this will be on my sewing table next.

IMG_0581 Hmmm… Shirtdress? Shirt? Pajamas? I have three metres and this needs to go now as it’s looking at me with an evil eye. Ideas anyone?

IMG_0584 This I’m actually excited about. The striped fabric is a wool mixture boucle and I have enough to make a light indoor coat. The black is only a 25cm remnant of a leather effect something or other, but I think it will look good as an accent. I think I will use the same pattern as for my accidental autumn coat. Soon, I can feel it.

Well, these were even top 6 ideas (although one is hardly an idea yet, so I’m back at five.) But I wouldn’t want to leave you without a look at my last fabric purchase of 2014:

Isn’t that just the bees’ knees?

IMG_0578

Completely mad, but quite wonderful, don’t you think? I only have one metre, but this will have to be a skirt of some sort. How I’ll  avoid Bambi-on-bottom pattern placement issues I don’t know yet, but I’ll cross that bridge when I come to it.

How about you: Stash diet, yah or nay? And what are your next sewing plans?

Tagged: , , ,

8 thoughts on “Top 5 Ideas to Get More Out of My Stash

  1. SewingElle January 18, 2015 at 9:58 pm Reply

    Good for you on resolving to sew lots from your stash and having great plans. That last fabric is wonderful. Bambi on bottom? Who cares!

  2. Emma Jayne January 18, 2015 at 10:24 pm Reply

    I actually enjoyed my Stash Diet 2014. I haven’t rebounded with excessive purchases and so have taken away some good new habits. A couple of new purchases this year but my stash continues to shrink. Best if luck with your efforts on not dieting but usung up the stash.

  3. Tia Dia January 18, 2015 at 10:36 pm Reply

    I’m with you about not adding to stash this year. It is, I confess, a daily battle. Without sounding disrespectful, I’m wondering if it’s like trying to break an addiction. It’s very hard not to purchase new things. Seriously don’t need anything else in my stash, and probably won’t sew through everything that I already own before death or moths destroy both me and it. I’m trying to sew slowly and thoughtfully this year. I will buy fabric for DD’s garments, though, because there is nothing in my stash that would suit any of them.

    • Chris January 18, 2015 at 11:05 pm Reply

      Addiction – I think you are spot on, I’m sure it’s exactly that. But given that I don’t have many other vices it’s a nice addiction to have 🙂
      And you can feed yours by buying for your daughter. Win-win, don’t you think?

  4. Sarah January 18, 2015 at 11:33 pm Reply

    I have a similar lace to yours but more gapey (is that even a word!!) so mine would definitely need to be lined or underlined… looking forward to see what you’ll be making with it… may be I’ll get some inspiration cause it has been in the stash forever!!

  5. navybluethreads January 18, 2015 at 11:36 pm Reply

    Will look forward to seeing your new coat collection then 🙂 In the end, I really enjoyed my stash diet, but it took a bit of getting used to…. Good luck!

  6. Paola January 19, 2015 at 8:46 am Reply

    I’ve been thinking along the same lines here. I have quite a few fabrics I love that have been skulking in the stash for far too long. But to stop buying fabric totally …I’m not making any promises!

  7. Linda of Nice dress! Thanks, I made it!! January 20, 2015 at 10:57 pm Reply

    I go through my stash quite often for fabric for projects… Unfortunately I still buy more than I sew up!

Leave a Reply

Thimble End

Sustainable sewing | Ethical living

Tweed & Greet

hello to handmade fashion and lifestyle

LOTILDA

stricken & nähen | slowfashion blog

The Monthly Stitch

Come sew with us...

Sewchet

Sewing, crochet, crafts, accessories, baking, tutorials,

Love, Lucie

Where hands and minds are rarely still

Apricot Mylo

a dressmaking journey

Handmade by Hannah

Day to day life, one crafting adventure at a time.

Stitched up by Jenna

"Sewing mends the soul"

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

nelnanandnora

Faith, family and creativity

