Burdastyle 11/2011 #111: The ” I Quilted My Own Lining” Duffle

Peeps,  I thought I was going mad (and maybe I have, some might say the jury is out on this), but I did it: I quilted my own high-viz night-glo lining for a duffle coat, using Burdastlye 11/2011 #111:

IMG_0355Yep, metres of shiny, slippery, SLIPPERY; S:L:I:P:P:E:R:Y: orange satin were painstakingly quilted to form the lining of this duffle coat, because I can!

IMG_0350So I can do my English Farmer on Acid impersonation whenever I feel like it.

Which is more often than one might think …

IMG_0347

No, no, all quite harmless, I was just going to cut the Christmas tree (yes, observant reader, this make has been finished for a while, but we were not going to mention my lack of blogging discipline, were we??!!!)

IMG_0352It’s quite roomy and I had added a waist drawstring, but then I decided I like the roomy version better, so I ripped it out again.

IMG_0353

IMG_0349I made my own toggle thingies, from leftover bits of leather and brown cord. This, and the buttons and the fabric and lining all came from the stash, so I feel mighty proud of myself (and justified to buy a whole load of other fabrics…)
I have since added press buttons as the toggles will not sit straight and distort the stripe matching across the CF.

IMG_0386This pictures does more justice to the neon-ness of the orange! When I put up the hood I am almost blinded by the orange inside it. It feels as if I’m walking around on Cloud Orange all by myself.

IMG_0385So with my hands in those oversized pockets and my head in a cloud of orange I might just about make it through winter!

Tagged: , , ,

14 thoughts on “Burdastyle 11/2011 #111: The ” I Quilted My Own Lining” Duffle

  1. Tia Dia January 7, 2015 at 9:39 pm Reply

    Congratulations on a huge level just for busting your stash for this fantastic coat! You look so warm and toasty! Love the plaid, and THE LINING!!! “Just because I can” do crazy things like quilt your own lining or make your own toggle closures…. 😀

    • Chris January 18, 2015 at 9:44 pm Reply

      Haha, thank you. I almost wander whether I’m overusing the just because I can excuse – currently i’m making a shirt with Bambis on… 😉

  2. navybluethreads January 7, 2015 at 11:46 pm Reply

    Beautiful coloured plaid, this looks great and really practical too. Although I must admit the sudden sight of the saw did make me jump 😉

  3. yosami January 8, 2015 at 12:30 am Reply

    Wow, a duffle with self-quilted lining and toggles – you’re on fire! Well done, great coat!

    • Chris January 18, 2015 at 9:50 pm Reply

      Thank you! Will you be posting about the jump suit I think you said you made? I’m almost a jump-suit convert, I think I just need a little bit of encouragement …

      • yosami January 24, 2015 at 11:48 am

        Hi Chris, jumpsuit post now on blog. Come on, join me, I need company!

      • Chris January 25, 2015 at 9:20 pm

        Oh, it’s very nice! I get more and more tempted – if it weren’t for the toilet-related issues with jumpsuits…

  4. SewingElle January 8, 2015 at 1:42 am Reply

    Oh wonderful! Love everything about this coat.

  5. Paola January 8, 2015 at 4:39 am Reply

    Ditto what Elle said. Love orange, and hand made toggles – you are so clever!

  6. Carolyn B January 8, 2015 at 5:53 am Reply

    Oooh i want to see more of that wonderful quilted lining! Great looking coat.

  7. juebejue January 8, 2015 at 5:53 am Reply

    amaing lining!!! Looks very warm😄

  8. Angela January 8, 2015 at 6:02 am Reply

    I love your coat! That lining is impressive! I am working on a coat right now with a quilted lining, but I bought it already quilted (and because of that it is a little stiff). I hope your coat keeps you warm the rest of this winter:)

  9. Linda of Nice dress! Thanks, I made it!! January 10, 2015 at 10:10 pm Reply

    Very nice! You made your own toggles! I bought mine. Then I didn’t like how my coat centre front shifted so I attached large snaps too. Extra work, but now I feel warmer! I am impressed with your lining. I bought some ready quilted fabric and used that but I didn’t really like my colour choices do I was stuck with black. Yours looks great!

  10. […] based on Burdastyle 11/2011 #111, the same pattern that I made my duffle coat from. No hand-quilted lining crazyness this time, the parka (apart from the hood) is unlined, so I […]

Leave a Reply

LOTILDA

stricken & nähen | slowfashion blog

The Monthly Stitch

Come sew with us...

Sewchet

Sewing, crochet, crafts, accessories, baking, tutorials,

Love, Lucie

Where hands and minds are rarely still

Apricot Mylo

a dressmaking journey

Handmade by Hannah

Day to day life, one crafting adventure at a time.

Stitched up by Jenna

"Sewing mends the soul"

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

nelnanandnora

Faith, family and creativity

thesewingmiserablist

where stitchery gets to meet mediocrity, face-to-face, and firmly shakes it's hand

wakeymakes

Returning sewist, crafter and runner

saturday night stitch

A UK Sewing and Style blog by a Mum of 5 with a fervent passion for all sorts of dressmaking.

