Burdastyle 8/2013 #143: Start as you mean to go on – The Russian General Coat

I hope that 2015 finds you all in good spirit and health and you have been able to celebrate in style. I have had a rather quiet time of it, much as I like it.

Now admissions first: I haven’t blogged for so long I am beyond embarrassment now! I’ll cut out on all the apologies, seeing that they are futile anyway and just turn over a new leaf, if that’s okay with you.
And what a leaf it is, if I say so myself. I started 2015 sewingwise with a selfless sewing project, a coat for Child 2’s 12th birthday. Now you must promise me that you are NEVER going to show him the model picture. I used Burdastye 8/2013 #143

IMG_0576

which is modelled in the magazine like this:

IMG_0577

Of course, if Child 2 knew I sewed him a girl’s coat, he would never wear it again. Given that he doesn’t know he rather likes it (forgive the crude editing, I don’t yet know how to make faces blurry other than by drinking copious amounts of alkohol. But it’s still the morning, so I’m resorting to black boxes instead):

IMG_0557

IMG_0563As you can see it’s a bit slouchy, but I thought I’ll leave a little room for him to grow into.

IMG_0559

IMG_0560

I must admit I’m a little bit proud of this coat, first of all because Child 2 really likes it, and what better could there be for Mum than to have done good? And also because it is like a proper grown-up coat, with welt pockets, and two-part sleeves and shoulder pads and lining and everything.

IMG_0561Child 2 calls it his Russian General Coat. I’m not sure he knows his uniform code, but I think it might be the detail that creates this impression for him.

IMG_0569

IMG_0568IMG_0570Both the fashion fabric and the lining came from my stash, so that’s a winner already, given that I decided I need to work on reducing it (but more on that story in another post…).

All the difficult bits such as the pockets or the button holes went in like a dream this time, so maybe the stars aligned on this make.

So: Quite a good start to the sewing year, don’t you think?
What’s on your sewing tables right now? Have you started the first make of the year?

 

Tagged: , , , , ,

8 thoughts on “Burdastyle 8/2013 #143: Start as you mean to go on – The Russian General Coat

  1. navybluethreads January 5, 2015 at 6:35 pm Reply

    I love the idea of a Russian General’s coat- so grand! 🙂 You’ve done a great job on this, it looks really complicated as well… I’ve not been brave enough to attempt anything for my son yet. My daughter’s far easier to please. Maybe this year?

  2. juebejue January 5, 2015 at 11:18 pm Reply

    hahaha, your boy has a great imagination! 🙂 its a great coat! though i think traditionally for peacoats (I assume this is one?), you would put a column of buttons on each side of the front coat, and then button holes on each side towards the edge – then you can button on either side and there’s always 2 column of buttons showing?

  3. Linda of Nice dress! Thanks, I made it!! January 6, 2015 at 6:53 am Reply

    Very nice! And if you are both happy with it nothing else matters! Girls’s coat indeed!

  4. OsgerbyCollection January 7, 2015 at 12:08 am Reply

    Fabulous coat, I take it child 2 doesn’t read wordpress or your secret will be out.

  5. Gail January 7, 2015 at 5:21 am Reply

    Just call the coat metrosexual and all will be well! Seriously handsome sewing here.

  6. Andrea January 11, 2015 at 9:05 am Reply

    A very handsome coat! I have used a girls sweatshirt pattern for my boys before and actually they don’t really care!

    • Chris January 18, 2015 at 9:43 pm Reply

      I’m the same, I use girl’s patterns for tops. Just can’t tell the boys 😉

  7. […] was completed at the beginning of January, right after the Russian General Coat and what you see here is pretty much the only snow we had this winter. Just to illustrate the […]

Leave a Reply

Thimble End

Sustainable sewing | Ethical living

Tweed & Greet

hello to handmade fashion and lifestyle

LOTILDA

stricken & nähen | slowfashion blog

The Monthly Stitch

Come sew with us...

Sewchet

Sewing, crochet, crafts, accessories, baking, tutorials,

Love, Lucie

Where hands and minds are rarely still

Apricot Mylo

a dressmaking journey

Handmade by Hannah

Day to day life, one crafting adventure at a time.

Stitched up by Jenna

"Sewing mends the soul"

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

nelnanandnora

Faith, family and creativity

