Look who’s come to stay! The Babylock – Juki Standoff

IMG_0227I’ve got new company in the sewing room! And I’m all enspired by it! After much to’ing and fro’ing I only went and bought myself the Babylock Enspire overlocker.

IMG_0228Look – it overlocks!

That’s all very good, I hear you say, but what about the air-threading??!!

Can I just say: IT IS AWESOME! I have had the machine for about a month now and you can still find me of an evening changing the threads just for fun and just because I can. I even change out the threads for a single seam now!! And that from the girl who used to sew whole projects on the normal machine because she couldn’t face wrangling with overlocker thread tension again.

Another feature that I like is the LED light:

IMG_0231It’s really bright white light which makes seeing what I do a lot easier than with my 1980s Bernina (though I wouldn’t want to diss my Bernina, she is the best!):

IMG_0230

When I was in the decision making process it was between two machines, the Babylock Enspire and the Juki M1000. Both have the air-threading system that I really wanted and they are the only such  machines within my budget of € 1000. On paper both seem to be really similar and from reading up on the two machines I thought I might go for the Juki. But when I had a look at the machines in the flesh it was pretty clear that I preferred the Babylock.

Here’s what I found:

  • the Babylock is a lot smaller than the Juki which I thought was nice as I have three machines on my sewing table and I like to be able to swing a cat in between.
  • the Babylock is a lot faster. The Juki is more quiet, but my motto is said&done, not said&bereallyquiet, so I prefer the Babylock.
  • I liked the look of the Babylock seams better, although that might have been due to the sales assistants who showed me the machines. There isn’t a shop locally that has both models so I had to go to two different shops. Maybe the same sales assistant might have got the same seam quality out of both machines.
  • Especially the quality of the rolled seam looked a lot more consistent on the Babylock.
  • The Babylock will do a narrow piping without a special piping foot. The Juki assistant said this wasn’t possible and I would have to buy the separate foot.
  • I got the Babylock for around 100 Euros cheaper than the Juki and the shop will pick up my machine locally if it needs servicing or repair.
  • Babylock offer 4 years warranty after registration.

So far I have made a few knit garments on the new machine and that was a good experience. It is hard to really get excited about overlocking as such as it seems such an unrefined process, but the machine does as it should and that’s the main thing.

And then there is the air-threading – which is just amazing!

Tagged: , ,

9 thoughts on “Look who’s come to stay! The Babylock – Juki Standoff

  1. sewbusylizzy November 24, 2014 at 12:48 pm Reply

    Thanks for sharing – I found that a really interesting comparison!

  2. Marianne November 24, 2014 at 1:20 pm Reply

    Congratulations! I envy you for the air threading but I don’t hate threading enough to justify buying a new machine right now. If it ever breaks down however, this feature may well be on top of the checklist!

  3. Tia Dia November 24, 2014 at 4:08 pm Reply

    Congratulations on your new addition! Air threading is THE BEST. I’ve tried it, watched it, envied it, coveted it in sewing shops… I have an older Babylock, and I’m happy with it. It’s a workhorse, and yes, it is noisy. 😀

  4. navybluethreads November 24, 2014 at 7:31 pm Reply

    Snap! I’ve just got one too, although not sharing your enthusiasm as yet, petrified of it if I’m honest! I’ve been looking at introductory courses to guide me…

  5. Amanda November 24, 2014 at 8:28 pm Reply

    What is air threading!? Sounds amazing!

  6. Michelle November 25, 2014 at 5:37 am Reply

    I am so happy you picked a babylock. I just got an enlighten here in Canada and the air threading is just the best. I had an old $50 serger that I used for a year before taking the plunge. Happy sewing.

  7. Linda of Nice dress! Thanks, I made it!! November 26, 2014 at 4:41 am Reply

    Oh my! Air threading! That would be so cool to have, especially with my weak eye sight!

  8. Rosie December 11, 2014 at 1:01 am Reply

    Ich bin auch seit einem Jahr stolze Besitzerin einer Babylock und bin sehr zufrieden.
    Meine Mutter besitzt eine ganz alte Pfaff, die ich vorher mal probieren konnte.
    Es liegen Welten dazwischen. Wünsche weiterhin viel Spaß !

  9. […] I threaded my serger in navy. Regular readers of this blog know that now that I have my air-threaded babylock I sometimes rethread it, just for fun. But on the other hand I decided that once the serger is treaded I should go on a German efficency […]

Leave a Reply

LOTILDA

stricken & nähen | slowfashion blog

The Monthly Stitch

Come sew with us...

Sewchet

Sewing, crochet, crafts, accessories, baking, tutorials,

Love, Lucie

Where hands and minds are rarely still

Apricot Mylo

a dressmaking journey

Handmade by Hannah

Day to day life, one crafting adventure at a time.

Stitched up by Jenna

"Sewing mends the soul"

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

nelnanandnora

Faith, family and creativity

thesewingmiserablist

where stitchery gets to meet mediocrity, face-to-face, and firmly shakes it's hand

wakeymakes

Returning sewist, crafter and runner

saturday night stitch

A UK Sewing and Style blog by a Mum of 5 with a fervent passion for all sorts of dressmaking.

