Ode to Autumn

The weather has been so glorious around my parts that I almost feel the urge to wax lyrical. Well, almost, I think I’m going to save myself – and you – for another year and express my ode to autumn in the form of a three-for-the-price-of-one garment post.

IMG_0239So here we go: a Moss not-mini skirt, a hand-knit sweater and a stash-depletion-project coat, Burda Easy Autumn/Winter 2014 #1c.

IMG_0244This is Moss skirt no 4 in my wardrobe, no 1 is blogged here, the others only exist in real life. Nothing more needs to be said about this pattern – I love it! I have two long variations and two mini ones and all of them get worn regularly. It just dresses up or down so easily and the pattern works perfectly every time.

The sweater is probably my oldest UFO to date. I made it up in spring 2012 and lost all will to live before setting in the sleeves. IMG_0243But the other day I decided that enough is enough with my slovenly ways and I managed to complete the sweater. I’m sure I’ll wear it at least – hmmm – once before it gets too cold for it… Well, it’s all in the timing, ey?

IMG_0237The coat is a happy stash accident. I had this rather scratchy felted knit in my stash that I never knew what to do with (sales online purchase, the story of my life…). Then I decided that I might as well make it into a light autumn coat and then suddenly everything came together.

IMG_0246I found some leather and unneeded metal zips in my stash that now make up the pockets. And some leftover wax print for the seam bindings helped to avoid bulk around the seams.

The only thing I had to buy for this coat were the oversized snaps. I had worried about handsewing them on, but it turned out to be a piece of cake and from now on in I think I’m going to snap absolutely everything.

Because the fabric is really quite scratchy, I decided to cut the back facing in leather, because there’s nothing worse than a scratchy neck, don’t you think?

IMG_0248

IMG_0245So there’s an artistic picture of the coat

and there a less artistic picture of me inside the coat:

IMG_0240

IMG_0241I love this edition of Burda Easy by the way. It only has 4 patterns, but they come with lots of variations and I think to date I have made 7 garments from those patterns. That works out at a pattern cost of less than 1€ per garment – what’s not to like?

All in all this coat was completely unexpected and really I did not think I was going to make a coat until I actually sat down to make it. But as sometimes happens I have worn this loads in the last few weeks. It fills exactly the gap where a full on coat is still too warm but where I want a little more than just a jacket. AND getting this out of my stash has given me permission to do lots of new fabric shopping. Online, of course, because I just don’t learn 😉 .

So, how is your autumn going?

Tagged: , , , , , ,

18 thoughts on “Ode to Autumn

  1. The Twisted Yarn November 17, 2014 at 10:21 pm Reply

    All three of your knits look gorgeous, but I think the coat looks best of all, especially with interesting finishing touches like the pockets.

  2. Red Point Tailor November 17, 2014 at 11:33 pm Reply

    Wow! I love you in these autumn colours – very sunny autumn! Wonderful!

    • Chris November 19, 2014 at 11:43 am Reply

      Thank you! How nice of you to say so! 🙂

  3. Tia Dia November 18, 2014 at 4:21 am Reply

    I love your colour combo. And you knit that sweater? Amazing. It’s such a gorgeous shade of green. And I love your coat! It’s so much fun when a successful project happens on a whim!

    • Chris November 19, 2014 at 11:43 am Reply

      Well, I love knitting, but not really wearing the garments a lot of the time because I just get too hot for knitted sweaters. I’ve branched out into knitting throws now 😉

  4. Linda of Nice dress! Thanks, I made it!! November 18, 2014 at 8:23 am Reply

    I don’t think we are having as many nice days as you. We get a few days rain and a day of sun. Lucky you! Love the outfit!

    • Chris November 19, 2014 at 11:41 am Reply

      It’s turned horrible now, so I feel more like fake fur and less like short sleeved sweaters…

  5. Gail November 18, 2014 at 11:06 am Reply

    Love the yellow skirt and the coat is perfect for the cooler season.

  6. Chris @ makeandwear November 18, 2014 at 11:35 am Reply

    Love the leather details on your coat.!

  7. navybluethreads November 19, 2014 at 1:04 am Reply

    Three for one, you’re spoiling us! This whole outfit looks great on you. I love the pocket details on your jacket and I’m very tempted by the Moss skirt pattern. I am truly addicted to sewing skirts 🙂

    • Chris November 19, 2014 at 11:41 am Reply

      o thank you very much! Do try the Moss skirt! I never thought it was for me, due to the mini-ness of some of the mini versions you see around, but it’s very easy to make it the length you want and it’s such a useful pattern!

      • navybluethreads November 19, 2014 at 12:38 pm

        Think I’d be ruling out the mini version too. Will put it on my to-buy list 🙂

  8. yosami November 19, 2014 at 10:56 am Reply

    What a snazzy outfit! I’m just finishing off a jumpsuit from the Burda easy spring mag and will definitely make a start on the winter edition now i’ve seen your awesome coat. Do you shop online from Germany?

    • Chris November 19, 2014 at 11:39 am Reply

      Oh, and yes, I use a few ebay sellers every once in a while.

  9. Chris November 19, 2014 at 11:38 am Reply

    ooo, make sure you post pictures of the jumpsuit. It’s still on my maybe list, inspite of my restroom related problems with jumpsuits, so I’m keen to see what you make!

    • yosami December 5, 2014 at 7:52 pm Reply

      Hi Chris, I’ve finished my Burda Easy jumpsuit and love it. I’m now passing the jumpsuit-making baton on to you! Please make this too! I’d love to see your version. I’ll get mine on the blog asap.

  10. […] or other, but I think it will look good as an accent. I think I will use the same pattern as for my accidental autumn coat. Soon, I can feel […]

  11. […] I used the peplum jacket version of this coat pattern from Burda Easy A/W 2014. […]

Leave a Reply

LOTILDA

stricken & nähen | slowfashion blog

The Monthly Stitch

Come sew with us...

Sewchet

Sewing, crochet, crafts, accessories, baking, tutorials,

Love, Lucie

Where hands and minds are rarely still

Apricot Mylo

a dressmaking journey

Handmade by Hannah

Day to day life, one crafting adventure at a time.

Stitched up by Jenna

"Sewing mends the soul"

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

nelnanandnora

Faith, family and creativity

thesewingmiserablist

where stitchery gets to meet mediocrity, face-to-face, and firmly shakes it's hand

wakeymakes

Returning sewist, crafter and runner

saturday night stitch

A UK Sewing and Style blog by a Mum of 5 with a fervent passion for all sorts of dressmaking.

