Burda Vintage – Review

Look what’s happened! Burda have published a Burda Vintage edition, a magazine with 12 of their vintage 1950s patterns in an updated form.

IMG_0147

Now, I don’t profess any kind of vintage sewing knowledge, never having sewn a vintage pattern, so I can make no comment as to how vintage those patterns really are or whether they use vintage techniques or such. To me it seems as if they have not only modernised the sizing, doing away with a requirement for either heavy dieting or corsetry, but also as if the instructions are like modern Burda instructions. In fact, the one I tried so far, the Coco dress, I found even more confusing than usual…

The magazine always has the vintage inspiration

IMG_0148

Some sort of “This is how they wore it” blurb

IMG_0149And then the updated pattern with some (rather silly, imho) “This is how you style it” blurb

IMG_0150

Look, put on some shoes an earrings and -bammm- you have styled your dress. And throw on some Aviator shades and you are really original, because nobody in the world of fashion has ever thought about this before…

Typically, you can’t see a thing in the fashion photograph as far as design lines go, but you have the trusted technical drawing:

IMG_0151For the first time (at least to my knowledge) Burda are calling their dresses names. I haven’t quite been able to decide whether this is rather fun or just pandering the the success of indie pattern designers. Anyway, names they have, may I introduce Coco to you.

IMG_0152Instructions are in word form, as always. One thing that annoys the hell out of me is that they left off the technical drawing from the instructions page, so whenever you want to check how something is meant to look, you need to go back to the fashion page. It’s a little thing, but it’s the little things that count, isn’t it?!
I started making the Coco for my daughter, but abandoned the project at the bodice stage. She feels it is too low-cut (the model picture looks more modest, but it comes out rather than the vintage inspiration) and the whole style looks a bit too old-fashioned for a 15-year old. Well, it IS a vintage pattern and I believe before something becomes vintage it is old-fashioned for a while. Just as well I used a black stretch satin and large seam allowances – I might be able to recycle it for myself one day.

IMG_0155Obviously, you need to do all the tracing, but because they only have 12 patterns on the usual size sheets the tracing really is a breeze.

IMG_0153

IMG_0154These are all the garments in the issue. I’m unlikely to need any of the big gowns, but I really like this beach combo:

IMG_0156I could well see myself in this come next summer, though I would probably make it into a dress with under-shorts – I’ve never been able to mentally get over the toilet-situation in a one-piece-with-legs-garment…

Oh and then look at this:

IMG_0157IMG_0158Don’t you think this blazer is completely amazing? Again, I don’t quite envisage how this fits into my life, but who knows, maybe one day? A girl can but dream!

Has this issued appeared on the book shelves anywhere out of Germany? Have they translated it into other languages? I could imagine Burda doing really well out of this idea – after all there are more vintage decades to go!

Tagged: , , , ,

8 thoughts on “Burda Vintage – Review

  1. yosami November 4, 2014 at 10:48 pm Reply

    Hi Chris, I’m also Chris in Germany and I’ve just bought the same mag! I’m not a vintage pattern lover either but thought that the jackets and coat patterns were particularly nice. I like the pleated skirt too but it needs 7m of fabric! That must be a record breaking fabric eating pattern! Let’s hope Burda does more of these mags.

    • Chris November 6, 2014 at 10:05 pm Reply

      oh hello there Chris! How very nice of you to contact me! Yes, I did like the jackets too. I think the boxy jacket with the back pleats is going to be one of my next projects. The skirt is madness though!! 7 metres for a skirt??!!
      Any ideas for your next project?

      • yosami November 8, 2014 at 10:45 am

        The boxy jacket’s a great choice. I look forward to seeing how yours turns out. For my first project, I may try the Mary jumper, it looks so cosy!

      • Chris November 8, 2014 at 12:12 pm

        Yes, I like that too. I’m just a little worried about constructing button holes in the knit fabric that I would envisage for this project.
        Well, here`s to some good sewing!

  2. Anne W November 5, 2014 at 12:55 am Reply

    People have been tweeting about it and some here in the UK have bought it. Unfortunately my local store decided not to stock it so I’ll have to order it specially. Is it worth it?

  3. jay November 5, 2014 at 1:14 am Reply

    I like the red jacket, I wonder if this will get to France.

  4. SewingElle November 9, 2014 at 1:25 pm Reply

    Ohh I so hope this one makes it al the way to Australia. Anyone know if it can be ordered online anywhere?

  5. […] all very confusing: Burda have decided to give their patterns in the Vintage edition names rather than their usual soulless […]

Leave a Reply

Thimble End

Sustainable sewing | Ethical living

Tweed & Greet

hello to handmade fashion and lifestyle

LOTILDA

stricken & nähen | slowfashion blog

The Monthly Stitch

Come sew with us...

Sewchet

Sewing, crochet, crafts, accessories, baking, tutorials,

Love, Lucie

Where hands and minds are rarely still

Apricot Mylo

a dressmaking journey

Handmade by Hannah

Day to day life, one crafting adventure at a time.

Stitched up by Jenna

"Sewing mends the soul"

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

nelnanandnora

Faith, family and creativity

