The “I’ve Been Hopped” – Blog Hop

Well now, this is the first time ever I’m participating in a blog hop (cue triumphant music), all thanks to the lovely Tia Dia of Mezzocouture who nominated be for it. I’m almost sure she and I were siblings in an earlier life, so much seem her blog posts to resonate with me! So basically, if you want to know how I feel you can either read her post, or continue here πŸ™‚

Why do I write?

One of the biggest reason for starting this blog actually has nothing to do with sewing. In fact I partly started this blog because I wanted to have a bona fide reason for writing in English. I do write I lot for my teaching job, both in English and in German, but mostly not on topics of my personal choice. Also, the level of English I get to use for language learners often isn’t very high. So this blog is my way of keeping up with the old language skills.

I also love reading blogs from around the English speaking world. It’s just where my heart is and I still get a little thrill when I get a chance to interact with sewers from Britain, North America, Australia or countries even further afield.

What am I working on?

What am I not working on? I have a dedicated sewing room (which is larger than my bedroom…), a copious stash, four sewing machines and a decent amount of spare time so I’m always working on various projects. At the moment, a prom dress for Child 1 takes precedence, along with some skinny jeans, a cowl dress, a biker jacket, a Moss skirt, a pleated skirt…. You get my point…

How does my blog differ from other sewing blogs?

Well, the photography, obviously!

IMG_8916
I really do publish the most rubbish photos in the world of blogging. I’m not proud of this, I would very much like to have better photos – but not so much that I would put in the time and effort the make them better. I am just never going to be a proper model, I just don’t feel I want to present myself in front of the camera. Also I don’t want to feel I have to put on make up etc in order to “pass” for photos. Don’t get me wrong, I love looking at nice photos a lot more than at mine, but in the great scheme of things I just don’t think they are important enough to spend a lot of time on them.

 

So yeah, like Tia Dia said, my blog is very ordinary. I’m attracted to sewing mainly for the craft aspect, but I don’t have an honest interest in fashion. I don’t pin pictures, I don’t read fashion magazines, I don’t await the new designer collections in eager anticipation – again I don’t think there is anything wrong with any of these things, it’s just not my thing.

Also I have been suffering from a slight case of blogging depression over the last few months. At least amongst the blogs I read there seems to have been a powerful drive towards more professionalism. There were courses in better modelling, better photography, writing better content, reviews, sewlongs, giveaways and many bloggers have really upped their game.
Well, I have neither the time or talent or inclination to follow suit, but I do notice that my blog looks and feels more “dated/unprofessional/less funky etc” than many other blogs. As a consequence I have been a slightly accidental blogger recently, with a lot less posts than sewing. I did even think to let this blog slip very quietly, but for now I’m happy with a reduced frequency.

What is my writing process?

I’m really not someone who overthinks the writing process. Said&Done, my blog title describes me really well. Basically, I type down a post without a lot of thougth for strategy, proofread (although I’ve somehow managed to set the proofreader to German as the default language, so no automatic proofreading on these posts for the moment…) and then publish. I don’t tend to edit a lot – I don’t think this has got me in trouble on this blog, but my “speak as I find” attitude has caused me endless reasons to say sorry and/or trouble in real life…

 

I’ not sure that I’m not the last person in the sewing universe to have taken up this blog hop, so my nominees have already done their bit. I would have wanted to nominate Stephanie of Love Teach Sew, because she is a fellow English teacher who sews but she has alread answerd the blog hop, Tia Dia of Mezzocouture, because every time she writes a post I want to say “I thougth EXACTLY the same” – but of course she nominated me.

But may be Juebejue of Petite Republic might want to take up the blog hop? She has just had a baby, so maybe blog hops are not a high priority for her. But she has what I don’t: The most beautiful, dreamy pictures on her blog. So do hop over and have a look!

Tagged: , ,

5 thoughts on “The “I’ve Been Hopped” – Blog Hop

  1. Marianne October 29, 2014 at 12:49 am Reply

    Hi Chris! I’ve been following both you and your secret twin Tia Dia for quite some time now. So refreshing to see Burda patterns sewn up without the oh so popular Burda bashing and endless whining about tracing or the absence of the infamous seam allowance! Whenever one of your posts pops up in my reader I grab a coffee and prepare myself for a fun read and ‘keeping it real’ sewing reports. Let the blog slip? Don’t you dare! And you’re photos? They’re the best!

  2. Linda of Nice dress! Thanks, I made it!! October 29, 2014 at 5:53 am Reply

    Nice to read about you! I have been enjoying your blog for quite a while now. I love your sewing and your photos. It’s all real! Happy sewing to you!

  3. Carolyn B October 29, 2014 at 11:11 am Reply

    Your blog is great. Don’t you dare stop posting because I really appreciate your Burda reviews. I have stopped following many of the “cool” bloggers as I can’t bear yet another blog tour or the same indy pattern reviewed 10 times or the sponsored posts. Keep it real and I for one will continue to visit πŸ™‚

  4. SewingElle October 29, 2014 at 1:48 pm Reply

    I love your blog too. I love the ordinary photos and your very authentic voice. Fancy arty photos are for burda magazine. i come to blogs like yours to see what the patterns really look like! Keep it up!

  5. juebejue November 10, 2014 at 3:08 am Reply

    aww thank you thank you! πŸ™‚ I have to say – I follow your blog for your photos of your finished garments! haha! (hence I missed the last part of this post until now). I like to only read and see photos of things people actually sew – any sew alongs/giveaways etc gets skipped! so i love your blog posts because its a lot of sewn goodies from you πŸ™‚ hope you dont experience blog depression for long and have more posts of your sewn goodies!

Leave a Reply

Thimble End

Sustainable sewing | Ethical living

Tweed & Greet

hello to handmade fashion and lifestyle

LOTILDA

Strickblog

The Monthly Stitch

Come sew with us...

Sewchet

Sewing, crochet, crafts, accessories, baking, tutorials,

Love, Lucie

Where hands and minds are rarely still

Apricot Mylo

a dressmaking journey

Handmade by Hannah

Day to day life, one crafting adventure at a time.

Stitched up by Jenna

"Sewing mends the soul"

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

