Burdastyle 2/2014 # 101: The Long Time Ago Dress

First of all, can I thank everybody who gave me advice regarding air-threading sergers! It seems they are as wonderful as they appeared to me, so Santa is going to have a rather costly Christmas this year. Thankfully my sister mentioned she wanted to start sewing, I I know someone who might want a used serger. 🙂

As I mentioned before I had an exceptionally unmotivated blogging summer this year. So it will come as no surprise that I made quite a few garments that I never blogged about. Now I’m back in the blogging mood, I never seem able to get together photos that I’m happy to publish (and given my well documented low standards in photography you might imagine how bad the photos are that I do have… 😉 ) . But this time my dad took the pictures (Hello Dad! 🙂 ), so you’ll find the picture composition much improved.

I thought I’ll  show you the last dress that I made this summer and that I only got around to wearing once before it turned too cool for sleeveless dresses:

IMG_9004

I used the bodice of Burdastyle 2/2014 #101:

Obviously I left the sleeves off! None of that “construction a new armscythe” wizardry here at Said&Done, I just did not attach any sleeves. Seems to have worked out rather nicely – in fact another version of this dress with 3/4 sleeves is hanging half-finished in my sewing room because I’m not really happy with the shape of the raglan shoulder where the sleeve meets the bodice.

IMG_8996Is that a gaping arm hole? I don’t think so, to be honest I never noticed it while wearing the dress. “Must be the way I’m standing” – is that the home sewist’s most over-used excuse?

IMG_8997I quite like the dress worn with a wide belt. The skirt is just slightly gathered, I didn’t even use a pattern piece for this. I was a little short on fabric, so I added the blue band at the hem. I think this was rather a lucky accident, as I think it adds to the look rather than looking like “short on fabric”.

And what for heaven’s sake was I thinking here??!!

IMG_9003That’s probably my idea of posing – mercifully it’s too long ago to actually remember what my motivation was…

Well, I went to the fabric market on the weekend, so my stash has been replenished. Prepare for some more – ehm – “interesting” photos.

Tagged: , ,

9 thoughts on “Burdastyle 2/2014 # 101: The Long Time Ago Dress

  1. Gail October 20, 2014 at 11:37 am Reply

    Your dress has come out nicely. I like the border at the hem. My thoughts on reinventing this pattern for summer dress was to add the hem border and change the pleats into panels with a matching welt side pocket. What do you think?

    • Chris October 21, 2014 at 5:19 pm Reply

      I’ve had very much the same thought. I made the dress as it was meant to be (with the sleeves) but due to a stupid cutting error on my part the skirt doesn’t really work, but I think it is a little bit strange even without a cutting error. So your thought might work a lot better.

  2. SewingElle October 20, 2014 at 1:54 pm Reply

    This is very nice as a sleeveless dress. I like the hem border too.

  3. cathynd95 October 20, 2014 at 2:48 pm Reply

    LOVE IT!

  4. Tia Dia October 20, 2014 at 3:31 pm Reply

    I love this dress! What a great idea turning it into a sleeveless dress. And making up the loss of available fabric with the band is what makes this so lovely. Happy to see that you’ve got your blogging mojo back. Funny how it ebbs and flows….

    • Chris October 21, 2014 at 5:16 pm Reply

      Well, thank you very much. Here’s to more blogging for us two reluctant bloggers (though you seem to have turned into a ferocious bloggger recently 🙂 )

  5. Linda of Nice dress! Thanks, I made it!! October 21, 2014 at 3:37 am Reply

    Love your dress. The fabric market, hmm? Well, I would love to see it all! Bring it on!

    • Chris October 21, 2014 at 5:15 pm Reply

      Guess what, I already used the first piece of fabric bought there – though it only turned into pjs for Child 2. But I bought the most me fabric for a dress… Will report asap!

  6. Mia October 25, 2014 at 2:52 pm Reply

    Hey Chris, great work with the dress! I would call running out fabric a happy coincidence in this case – the hem border is that little bit extra in your work and looks really cool.

Leave a Reply

Thimble End

Sustainable sewing | Ethical living

Tweed & Greet

hello to handmade fashion and lifestyle

LOTILDA

Strickblog | Nähblog

The Monthly Stitch

Come sew with us...

Sewchet

Sewing, crochet, crafts, accessories, baking, tutorials,

Love, Lucie

Where hands and minds are rarely still

Apricot Mylo

a dressmaking journey

Handmade by Hannah

Day to day life, one crafting adventure at a time.

Stitched up by Jenna

"Sewing mends the soul"

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

nelnanandnora

Faith, family and creativity

