Air-Threading Serger Advice Needed

I took my serger to be serviced the other day and while it works a lot better now it still doesn’t work perfectly and the serger man said that I couldn’t really expect a 20 year old serger that had originally cost 200€ and had gone through some rather tough times with me to perform the wonders I wanted it to.

So I had a conversation with Santa’s Little Helper who indicated that a new serger might be on the cards for Christmas and that because I worked so hard I might even be allowed to spend a little more.

Also, the serger man cleverly showed me a JUKI air threading serger. Blimey, these things are cool. Have you ever seen one of them? Wow!! You just press a button and – swish – the loopers are threaded. A-MA-ZING!

But rather than being seduced by a shiny new machine and the sparkle in the eye of the serger man I decided to hold off an impulse purchase and ask if you have any recent experience with air-threaded sergers. I know now that JUKI do them, also Babylock seem to have them.

Are they really as cool as they seem? To me they seem immensely cool, but that might be because i’m the kinda girl who sews whole knit projects badly on her normal machine because she is too lazy to re-thread the serger – and mine isn’t even properly horrible to thread.

So what’s your advice: Is air-threading really worth the extra money? Or do you have other recommendations for a serger?

Thanks in advance!

Tagged:

10 thoughts on “Air-Threading Serger Advice Needed

  1. Maria October 8, 2014 at 9:43 pm Reply

    I havet a babylock evolve, worth evwry penny!!

  2. Linda of Nice dress! Thanks, I made it!! October 8, 2014 at 10:24 pm Reply

    I would give my first born for a serger that threads itself – gimmick or not! Mine is about 20 years old. I recently bought a sewing machine that threads itself… I am in love with it!

  3. Tia Dia October 8, 2014 at 10:36 pm Reply

    I’ve test driven the BabyLock Evolve and would seriously consider selling off my stash to purchase it. I think it’s worth every single penny of the $2000+ that I’d have to pay after trading in my older BabyLock. But truth be told, I don’t reeeeeeelly use my serger that much. But maybe I would use it a lot more if I had a nice one to play with….

  4. Becky McKee October 8, 2014 at 10:44 pm Reply

    I have a BabyLock Imagine and the air threading is awesome! I was very happy with my 20 year old Pfaff serger, but I killed it. I damaged a major part that could no longer be replaced. So I shopped all the major brands and finally decided that the jet air threading was VERY worth the money. These eyes aren’t getting any younger. I get giddy every time I watch the loopers thread themselves!

  5. Anonymous October 9, 2014 at 1:52 am Reply

    I do not own a self trhead serger. I have three of them. I thread them with different colors and use them a great deal. I know how to thread the basic serger. It has worked for me. I can purchase three or four serger for the price of a babylock air thread serger. Having say that, jukis are famous for quality and low noise. I have a juki industrial straith stitch that is reliable and does not need a great deal of maintenance.
    Best of luck

  6. Wiciendra October 9, 2014 at 7:57 am Reply

    I have the babylock Eclipse and I’m definitively addict to the Air-Threading system.

  7. yosami October 9, 2014 at 11:24 am Reply

    Just been in exactly the same position myself and bought a Babylock Desire 3 – a cover lock/overlock combo. It was a bit of an impulsive purchase but I needed one and my local dealer offered a finance deal so I can pay in instalments which suits my pocket right now. So far I’m happy with it.

  8. Carolyn October 9, 2014 at 1:30 pm Reply

    I have a Babylock Imagine and yes it was worth every penny! I don’t know about the Jukis but the other thing I love about my Babylock is perfect tension every time. No more flipping with dials trying to get the tension just so! I love mine!

  9. […] of all, can I thank everybody who gave me advice regarding air-threading sergers! It seems they are as wonderful as they appeared to me, so Santa is going to have a rather costly […]

  10. […] I was in the decision making process it was between two machines, the Babylock Enspire and the Juki M1000. Both have the air-threading system that I really wanted and they are the only such  machines […]

Leave a Reply

LOTILDA

stricken & nähen | slowfashion blog

The Monthly Stitch

Come sew with us...

Sewchet

Sewing, crochet, crafts, accessories, baking, tutorials,

Love, Lucie

Where hands and minds are rarely still

Apricot Mylo

a dressmaking journey

Handmade by Hannah

Day to day life, one crafting adventure at a time.

Stitched up by Jenna

"Sewing mends the soul"

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

nelnanandnora

Faith, family and creativity

thesewingmiserablist

where stitchery gets to meet mediocrity, face-to-face, and firmly shakes it's hand

wakeymakes

Returning sewist, crafter and runner

saturday night stitch

A UK Sewing and Style blog by a Mum of 5 with a fervent passion for all sorts of dressmaking.

