Burdastyle Bomber Jacket: An Unexpected Fail

Yes, this time I don’t have good things to report:

I finally made a bomber jacket

– I took time and care

– I ended up not liking it at all.

Win some, loose some, I suppose!

IMG_8904I originally made this for my daughter, although it should have been in a different fabric. But when I started to lay out the pattern pieces I realised that the fabric had some marks on it which were so widely spaced I could not use it. I soldiered on with this flowery denim, kinda knowing that it wouldn’t be my daughter’s kind of thing but thinking I could wear the jacket in the end.

IMG_8911Let me show you the insides:

IMG_8912Tadaa: I really took care with this. I did not want to line the jacket, so I finished all exposed edges with self-made bias tape.

IMG_8913All seams are French seams!

IMG_8909You can totally flash your bits in this without having to be ashamed about the seams!

But unfortunately I’m never going to! I really don’t like this on me!

The fabric, a quite substantial denim, is too thick and although I absolutely love looking at those flowers I should have followed my initial idea and should have made trousers out of it. I don’t like it as a jacket!

IMG_8907The cut, combined with the stiff fabric is too boxy for me and the raglan sleeves don’t work.

IMG_8903

Overall the jacket is too big (though I cut my usual size 40) and it is too short. The sleeves are too long and too full at the end I think. I hate the high neck. I feel strangled just by looking at this.

IMG_8916And no, pretending to be really small and wearing the jacket inside out doesn’t help either.

So I’m putting this down as Fail of the Year. Every thing went well in the sewing room and all went wrong in the dressing room.

I’m still not put off bomber jackets, though. I am going to try again – with a lighter fabric – and a longer cut – and with set in sleeves, not raglan sleeves – and a deeper V-neck.

Do you think this shows spirit in adversity or simply a lack of willingness to accept the lessons that life teaches me?

Tagged: , , ,

14 thoughts on “Burdastyle Bomber Jacket: An Unexpected Fail

  1. navybluethreads October 6, 2014 at 9:45 pm Reply

    What a shame after all that effort and attention to detail! Annoying when this happens and good for you, even considering the possibility of trying it again, good luck!

  2. Valerie October 6, 2014 at 9:46 pm Reply

    Although your jacket looks wearable from here I know what you mean about the fact that it will never be what you were hoping for. I’ve also learnt – the hard way – to stick with my original vision for particular pieces of fabric.

  3. Marianne October 6, 2014 at 11:10 pm Reply

    Bummer! Jackets with pretty seams deserve to be loved!

  4. Linda of Nice dress! Thanks, I made it!! October 7, 2014 at 5:24 am Reply

    Oh well, stuff happens! I’m sure the next project will be fantastic! In the meantime, you know when I make something that is good, but not to my liking, I give it to charity. Someone out there will need it and like it!

  5. SewingElle October 7, 2014 at 9:23 am Reply

    Lovely fabric and beautiful construction. I am not a fan of bomber jackets. I understand that you are disappointed. I would be too, but then, I don’t like bomber jackets….

  6. Lori October 7, 2014 at 3:26 pm Reply

    That’s too bad. I think the style is ok on you, but the color is not. It actually looks better when you wore it inside out. Although you probably won’t make it again, I think it would look fabulous in a darker, more lux fabric.

    • Chris October 7, 2014 at 8:12 pm Reply

      Yep, I think you are right regarding the colour. It really washes me out. Pity…
      By the way, if you ever need help again with a German sewing term, drop me a line, I’ll try my best to translate!

  7. Tia Dia October 7, 2014 at 6:47 pm Reply

    Your facial expressions are cracking me up. I don’t think it looks as horrible as you make it sound, but I completely understand not feeling comfortable in something that turned out beautifully in all other aspects. What a pity, because it’s a really nice bomber! Your finishing is fantastic.

    • Chris October 7, 2014 at 8:13 pm Reply

      Thank you! I’m trying to take it as an experience. I suppose someone in the charity shop will like it.

  8. SeeKatSew October 7, 2014 at 6:52 pm Reply

    Consider this a project for practicing your skills so not a total fail at all. And you did a beautiful job on the construction. I am impressed you finished you finished it. I would have stopped and tossed it into the UFO pile. Not all sewing projects are meant to worn – well that’s what I tell myself when the UFO pile grows.

    • Chris October 7, 2014 at 8:14 pm Reply

      That’s a very Zen-like attitude. I will try to learn from that 🙂

  9. Gail October 8, 2014 at 12:06 pm Reply

    Its a shame for all the effort to go to waist. I’d consider dying it a darker colour – navy or black. You can get away with extra bulk in darker tones than in pastel.

  10. Gail October 8, 2014 at 12:06 pm Reply

    Oh I hate auto correct! I meant to say go to waste!!

  11. […] This is my second attempt at a bomber jacket after the rather epic fail of the first attempt. […]

Leave a Reply

Thimble End

Sustainable sewing | Ethical living

Tweed & Greet

hello to handmade fashion and lifestyle

LOTILDA

stricken & nähen | slowfashion blog

The Monthly Stitch

Come sew with us...

Sewchet

Sewing, crochet, crafts, accessories, baking, tutorials,

Love, Lucie

Where hands and minds are rarely still

Apricot Mylo

a dressmaking journey

Handmade by Hannah

Day to day life, one crafting adventure at a time.

Stitched up by Jenna

"Sewing mends the soul"

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

nelnanandnora

Faith, family and creativity

