Burdastyle 3/2013 #147: A Threesome of Boy’s Shirts

I can report I completed my first bit of selfless sewing in a while, the shirts for Child 2 that I announced in my last post. Child 2 acknowledged them with a nod and an “Alright”, but he’s worn them almost continually ever since days in a row, so I suppose he must be pleased.

IMG_8895

Given that this was my first attempt at shirt sewing and that pattern matching isn’t exactly my forte I think this has gone rather well.

IMG_8896

My collar stands aren’t quite perfect yet, even on this shirt, which I made last of the three. Somehow the bit where you topstich the collarstand on the outside in order to secure the inside is still a bit beyond me. Maybe I need to baste down the inside first in order to get a nice even finish and only then topstitch on the outside?
Anyway, clearly my button sewing skills leave much to be desired. Or maybe it is that you can tell that this is the last button on the third shirt that I sewed and I had.really.lost.patience.

IMG_8897The back has a simple yoke and no pleat in the main body of the shirt. I was surprised to see how slim fitting the shirt is, given that Burda describe them as a “relaxed” fit. Child 2 is quite long and slim for his age (I made the largest size, 158), but he still found the sleeves slightly restrictive. You can see how the bottom part of the back arm scythe strains a little.

So next time I make this shirt (possibly for Child 3, as I have no larger size to go to for this pattern) I will add a little pleat in the centre back to give a little more room.

This is Shirt 1:

IMG_9005

IMG_9006

Child 2 says he feels as elegant in it as if he were going to a dance. I’m taking that as a compliment!

IMG_9008

IMG_9009

Can you see the little tab on the button placket? I only went and cut a hole in the button placket when cutting off some stray threads as basically the last thing in making this shirt. The only way I could think to save this was to add the tab an pretend it was a feature. Child 2 hasn’t questioned this, and I doubt he either reads my blog or understands enough English to know what’s going on, so I think I got away with it…

All the fabrics came from my stash (although some were bought a while ago in order to make some sort of boy’s clothing, so I’m not sure that counts as stash 😉 ) so that feels like a bit of an accomplishment. Moreover I feel I know what to do as far as basic shirt sewing is concerned and I know what to to better next time, though not necessarily how to do it better. I have two delicious fabrics set up for some shirts of my own, so hopefully I can post some selfish shirt sewing success – or 5S, as we say at Said&Done Industries!

Tagged: , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Burdastyle 3/2013 #147: A Threesome of Boy’s Shirts

  1. navybluethreads September 16, 2014 at 10:33 pm Reply

    Both versions look great, lucky boys!

  2. SewingElle September 16, 2014 at 11:29 pm Reply

    Well done. The shirts look good, you got to display your ingenuity with the button tab thingy, and you are well practised for your own shirts

    • Chris September 18, 2014 at 8:30 pm Reply

      I wonder if I ever get round to making those shirts for me – soooo many shiny new things to make around… 😉

  3. […] used a Burda boys pattern in a size 156, but Child 2 has grown since I first made the patterns and is now more like a size 164, outside the […]

Leave a Reply

LOTILDA

stricken & nähen | slowfashion blog

The Monthly Stitch

Come sew with us...

Sewchet

Sewing, crochet, crafts, accessories, baking, tutorials,

Love, Lucie

Where hands and minds are rarely still

Apricot Mylo

a dressmaking journey

Handmade by Hannah

Day to day life, one crafting adventure at a time.

Stitched up by Jenna

"Sewing mends the soul"

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

nelnanandnora

Faith, family and creativity

thesewingmiserablist

where stitchery gets to meet mediocrity, face-to-face, and firmly shakes it's hand

wakeymakes

Returning sewist, crafter and runner

saturday night stitch

A UK Sewing and Style blog by a Mum of 5 with a fervent passion for all sorts of dressmaking.

