No Sewing, But Still My Proudest Make: Large Mosaic Table

It’s got nothing to do with sewing, but it’s still handmade – and it’s my most complicated, most time-consuming project and the one I’m most proud of ever: my garden mosaic table

IMG_8849The table is handmade from start to finish, beginning with some slightly questionable sewing of the round table top to the copper band finishing the sides.

IMG_8851The table is 125cm in diameter and will sit the five of us comfortably. It was made specifically to fit into our garden pavilion.

As a stand for the table top I bought an old Singer sewing machine stand off ebay:

IMG_8852

 

The table has actually been in use for two years, but I only completed it last week with the addition of the copper band. Originally I had put mosaic tiles around the perimeter of the table, but they had all fallen off in the frost (the table lives outdoors all years round) and so I was looking for a more robust finish and I think the copper band looks great.

IMG_8853At the moment it’s still a bit shiny, but over time it will darken and get closer in tone to the table stand.

I have to say that I really love this table, and I would happily continue making mosaic furniture – but there is only so much mosaic furniture a house can take ;-).

IMG_8861I even added this chandelier in order to celebrate the completion of this labour of love. Of course the weather turned cold the next day… But at least I got one night to try!

 

 

Tagged: ,

7 thoughts on “No Sewing, But Still My Proudest Make: Large Mosaic Table

  1. indidon August 14, 2014 at 1:24 am Reply

    i can only imagine the hard work you do really a heritage , great work

  2. Marianne K August 14, 2014 at 9:04 am Reply

    So beautiful! How long did you work on it? I like how the Singer stand makes it even more special and more you!

    • Chris August 14, 2014 at 9:23 am Reply

      Thanks Marianne! I can’t even say how long it took – many, many hours, that’s for sure. But it was almost meditative – cutting tiles, glueing, cutting, glueing, cutting, glueing, so I really enjoyed all those many hours.

  3. navybluethreads August 20, 2014 at 10:08 pm Reply

    Definitely something to be proud of, well done! It looks great.

  4. Mia September 13, 2014 at 2:01 pm Reply

    Well done! Great handicraft skills beyond the sewing needle 🙂 For varity, keep posting such non sewing news. Can you tell something about the total weight of the table (in case of moving for example)?

    PS: About 1 month no news since then – do we have to worry?

    • Chris September 13, 2014 at 8:08 pm Reply

      Goodness Mia, you are so right – I’ve been suffering from a severe case of blogging lazyness over the summer. Working on it, trust me 🙂

  5. […] So I decided that my patio table needed sprucing up and started making another mosaic table top (table 1 is here – I had pains in my elbow from using the tile cutter for about six months afterwards, so my […]

Leave a Reply

LOTILDA

stricken & nähen | slowfashion blog

The Monthly Stitch

Come sew with us...

Sewchet

Sewing, crochet, crafts, accessories, baking, tutorials,

Love, Lucie

Where hands and minds are rarely still

Apricot Mylo

a dressmaking journey

Handmade by Hannah

Day to day life, one crafting adventure at a time.

Stitched up by Jenna

"Sewing mends the soul"

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

nelnanandnora

Faith, family and creativity

thesewingmiserablist

where stitchery gets to meet mediocrity, face-to-face, and firmly shakes it's hand

wakeymakes

Returning sewist, crafter and runner

saturday night stitch

A UK Sewing and Style blog by a Mum of 5 with a fervent passion for all sorts of dressmaking.

