Burdastyle 7/2013 #130 and #105: The Barcelona Collection

Barcelona Collection – that sounds rather big, doesn’t it? Well, let me explain.
First of all I will be travelling to Barcelona soon, it’s our school’s end of year trip. So clearly I need new clothes to wear to a country where summer actually means – er – summer.

Secondly I recently found a piece of fabric again which I had “lost” in my stash for years. I first bought the fabric in – yes, you guessed it – Barcelona three years ago, made one sofa cushion with it and promptly lost the rest in the depth of my stash. I had been looking for it on several occasions and never found it, until I came across it the other day when looking for something unrelated.

And thirdly the stars all align for me in July, because The Monthly Stitch is having us sew only in black and white. I normally don’t wear a lot of either colour, but somehow this motto has opened up the floodgates for me and I have been raiding my stash and sewing like crazy.

So enough talking, what about the clothes?

Here we go:

IMG_8785

Yes, you are right, I might have called this the “Summer for the Medical Profession” collection as well, but I think Barcelona Collection is much more evocative, don’t you agree?!

IMG_8789

The shorts are Burdastyle 7/2013 # 105 – I made them twice last year and because I still have been reaching for them regularly this summer I decided to move a piece of white denim out of my stash that was too small for the jeans that I originally wanted to make.

But it is the top that I am most excited about. It is from the same edition of Burdastyle, 7/2013 #130.

IMG_8796I used a bit of linen leftover from my Barcelona dress for the front, and the eyelet fabric I bought in Barcelona and lost for the back and sleeves.

IMG_8793

I shortened the original pattern for the top by 8cm and ended up with quite a boxy shape which is emphasised by the rather rigid lace – it really has no drape at all. I am not a great fan of boxyness normally, but on this I love it. It is kinda my version of this season’s cropped look that I normally am too self-conscious/wise/old for, but on this you only really get an occasional peek of tummy.

IMG_8787There’s me trying to be flirty – maybe it’s as well I don’t do this “look” very often 😉

I have to say that the top is very restrictive around the sleeves, so if I made this again I need to do something about this (I didn’t make a muslin… sorry, I almost never do. I know, bad Chris). But right now I think that when wearing shorts and white lace I might as well just lounge around trying to look decorative rather than moving around.

Oh, and yes, your eyes don’t deceive you, I made the shorts in black too. I have used the same pattern than for the white ones but did not do the turnups. No special reason, just because I could. And another 75cm of “I don’t know what to do with this black piece of I don’t know what” moved out of the stash – win win!

IMG_8812

And for a bonus pattern I made up a little top, Burdastyle 7/2013 #104. Burda make it up with a sequined front (which is an inspired idea), but didn’t have sequins but a strange kind of special effects chiffon in my stash (which, just to keep the international angle, made its way from the States to me). It looks as if it were covered in feathers, so I call it my raven fabric.

IMG_8811

My family laugh at me, but I think it’s a fun idea for a little summer top.

IMG_8813

I assure you that I have not had any kind of alcoholic beverage yet, although the pictures suggests differently (it is the World Cup final as we speak, and while I am not a football fan normally we are watching this match, so there is some nervousness around) – maybe that’s me thinking about the Cava I might be having at the playa in Barcelona in just a couple of weeks.

Wherever you are and whatever you are drinking: Enjoy your day!

Tagged: , , ,

9 thoughts on “Burdastyle 7/2013 #130 and #105: The Barcelona Collection

  1. thesimpleseamstress July 13, 2014 at 10:02 pm Reply

    Both tops look so breezy and fun! Also I love the eyelet lace! I should search around for some eyelet material myself.

  2. SewingElle July 13, 2014 at 11:45 pm Reply

    Both these tops look great. Enjoy your Spanish summer

  3. Helena@grayallday July 14, 2014 at 4:28 am Reply

    What a great little summer “collection”! I love the raven fabric and I’ve been wanting a shirt just like that! Great job.

    • Chris July 14, 2014 at 9:05 pm Reply

      Helena, the fabric came from fabricmartfabrics.com. Maybe they still have some of it?

  4. I love the raven fabric – it’s so cool!

  5. Tia Dia July 15, 2014 at 1:26 am Reply

    What a great collection! And your raven top is perfect. What do families know? I mean, really…. laughing?! You’ve hit so many nails on the head with this little set of shorts and tops: sewing themes, using up stash, trends…. Go Chris!!

  6. Charlotte July 28, 2014 at 12:53 pm Reply

    Your dress that was almost not to be is divine! Looks fantastic on you. Full marks.

  7. navybluethreads August 1, 2014 at 12:19 am Reply

    Love these tops! Look great on you and really easy to wear 🙂

  8. […] in July, allegedly to accompany my students on their end of year trip, but really just to try out my Barcelona Collection […]

Leave a Reply

Thimble End

Sustainable sewing | Ethical living

Tweed & Greet

hello to handmade fashion and lifestyle

LOTILDA

stricken & nähen | slowfashion blog

The Monthly Stitch

Come sew with us...

Sewchet

Sewing, crochet, crafts, accessories, baking, tutorials,

Love, Lucie

Where hands and minds are rarely still

Apricot Mylo

a dressmaking journey

Handmade by Hannah

Day to day life, one crafting adventure at a time.

Stitched up by Jenna

"Sewing mends the soul"

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

nelnanandnora

Faith, family and creativity

