Burdastyle goes Frankenpattern: The Barcelona Dress

I never thought all over white was for me, I always pictured white on rather more tanned skin that I am able to get. However, somehow this year I have thrown all caution to the wind and for the first time ever made an all white dress.

IMG_8629

Before we discuss this any further, let’s agree that linen creases delightfully not disastrously, doesn’t it? Because my ironing simply isn’t up to keeping this crease-free…

IMG_8636

I frankenpatterned my synchronised swimmers blouse and the skirt ot my northern beach dress. Because both these items of clothing have beach references and because I will travel to beachy Barcelona soon, I’m calling this my Barcelona dress.

IMG_8640

It’s even got pocketses, so while I am in that queue outside the Sagrada Familia at least I know what to do with my hands.

IMG_8632

I did not line the dress, because – can you believe it – I had no suitable lining in my stash! Now you know that I don’t believe in stash diets, in fact, the fabric industry relies substantially on my trade alone, so I was quite shocked not to be able to line my dress. My husband thinks it looks ok – otherwise I’m working on the assupmtion that noone will look at my behind for any length of time. Anyways, I think I need to do a lot more fabric shopping. Not having any white batiste or something similar is just not on! Well, Ribes y Casals, Barcelona’s largest fabric store, I’m looking at you.

Accidentally, this dress also fits with July’s motto for The Monthly Stitch: July is all about sewing in black and white! Two birds with one stone!

Tagged: , , ,

3 thoughts on “Burdastyle goes Frankenpattern: The Barcelona Dress

  1. Tia Dia July 11, 2014 at 4:50 pm Reply

    This looks so cool and breezy and summery and perfect for Barcelona (my fave city, btw). I like how you frankenpatterned the dress. The blouson effect of the back is wonderful. And I agree about the stash…. must add something! 😉

  2. […] used a bit of linen leftover from my Barcelona dress for the front, and the eyelet fabric I bought in Barcelona and lost for the back and […]

  3. navybluethreads August 1, 2014 at 12:21 am Reply

    Oh, I think you have to have a few creases to welcome in Summer. I’ve loved sewing in linen this Summer, the creases are part of its charm 🙂

Leave a Reply

Thimble End

Sustainable sewing | Ethical living

Tweed & Greet

hello to handmade fashion and lifestyle

LOTILDA

stricken & nähen | slowfashion blog

The Monthly Stitch

Come sew with us...

Sewchet

Sewing, crochet, crafts, accessories, baking, tutorials,

Love, Lucie

Where hands and minds are rarely still

Apricot Mylo

a dressmaking journey

Handmade by Hannah

Day to day life, one crafting adventure at a time.

Stitched up by Jenna

"Sewing mends the soul"

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

nelnanandnora

Faith, family and creativity

