Lizzy’s Jeans in June & July: Jalie 2908 Bootcut Jeans Finished

First of all I would like to thank all of you who gave such lovely comments on my Dress That Almost Was Not to Be! It’s been so nice to hear you like the dress – the online sewing community is, indeed, the best!

Having finished the dress with all the fiddling that entailed, I thought making jeans was a remarkably simple and relaxing project. Strange but true…

IMG_8600So here are my first bootcut jeans in a long time. I have got used to the slimmer silhouette so much that I wasn’t sure whether to try the bootcut style at all, but as these jeans are meant to be a wearable muslin I thought I might as well try.

IMG_8608What do you think about the look? Worth  exploring, or better to go back to the straight leg?

IMG_8599

The jeans turned out a little bit tight across the hips and thighs, although I made them in the right size for my measurements. I suppose different fabrics have different rates of stretch and this denim isn’t all that stretchy. I hope they will relax a little, otherwise I will go up one size when I make these next.

IMG_8601Now with some trepidation for the booty shot. If you have been following this blog for any length of time you will know that the state of my VPL is under close surveillance. I think I’m not doing to badly this time (although, Mia, look away now, I’m not wearing my thong is these pictures):

IMG_8602

I added 2,5cm to the hight of the CB and in principle it was a good idea to give a little more booty room. This way the jeans stay up much better, because the back rise covers the – well – backside all the way. What this has done though is destroy the proportions of the back yoke. It is attached almost horizontally now rather than by making a V-shape as it should be. Next time I will hopefully remember to divide the extra hight between the yoke pattern piece and the back crotch.

IMG_8605

So altogether I like what I see. Clearly, there is room for improvement, but I think for a first muslin these turned out well. The Jalie pattern works really well for me, however, I did not look at the instructions as I supposed these would be made up like the other jeans I made.

So thank you Lizzy for inspiring me to try a new jeans pattern! Originally I thought I would make these up only to honour Lizzy’s challenge. However, it is pouring with rain at the moment and has got really cold, so the jeans will make their first proper outing tomorrow.

I’m even thinking I might try another new pattern. I have seen a few versions of the Named Jamie which I really like (although Lizzy points out that she isn’t feeling the love) and I found a Burda pattern that seems similar enough:

 

This is Burdastyle 8/2012 #129. It is meant to be a trouser, not a jeans, pattern, but the treatment of the front leg is quite similar to the Jamie. I have a lot of denim left, so if I get the time I might give these a try.

Tagged: , ,

12 thoughts on “Lizzy’s Jeans in June & July: Jalie 2908 Bootcut Jeans Finished

  1. I think they are very professional looking! Looking forward to seeing the next pair!

  2. sewbusylizzy July 9, 2014 at 12:53 pm Reply

    I love the Bootcut look. Perhaps wear them with a bit of a heel & you might find they lengthen your legs even more.
    I’m so glad you are enjoying the jeans sewing. I’ve loved the challenge. My sewing is having a hiccup as I’m away without my machine!

    • Chris July 10, 2014 at 11:23 pm Reply

      Hopefully you are having a relaxing time (even without your machine!) I’m all fired up at the moment, sewing-wise, so I better make the most of it while it lasts 🙂

      • sewbusylizzy July 11, 2014 at 9:46 am

        Good for you! I’ve just got to sew on the Named waistband… I’m actually dying to make a pretty dress at the moment. I think I need a bit of indulgent happy sewing…

  3. Tia Dia July 11, 2014 at 4:55 pm Reply

    Woo hoo! I like the bootcut silhouette, and would suggest wearing heels, not flats with these to give them that long leggy look.

    • Chris July 13, 2014 at 7:05 pm Reply

      I tried to hem them for a mid-heel, but I haven’t tried them on with heels yet. I think they might have come out a little short, although I added 6cm to the overall length. Well, we’ll see 🙂

  4. Mary July 12, 2014 at 3:26 pm Reply

    Very nice! One of the reasons it is great to sew is because we can make what really suits us, instead of following trends.
    Mary in Thailand

  5. […] also massively impressed by the Jalie Jeans made up by Chris… I’ve got this pattern – won on the giveaway from the ever-lovely […]

  6. Mia July 24, 2014 at 6:37 pm Reply

    Was quite busy the last few weeks, but hey… I heard someone call my name? 🙂

    I Love the final result – great body shape and fit (and you are right: vpl are “okay” and approved by vpl-surveillance this time *laughing*). When will we see the white summer-version with some heels? *thumb up*

  7. navybluethreads August 1, 2014 at 12:27 am Reply

    Like you, I haven’t ventured past straight legs for a while. (Skinny never suited my somewhat ‘shapely’ legs!) . Although, given the frankly uncharacteristically fantastic weather we’ve been experiencing in the UK of late, I’ve barely worn jeans at all. But bootlegs do flatter, I think you should persevere to get these perfectly right for you 🙂

    • Chris August 1, 2014 at 1:16 am Reply

      Thank you for the encouragement. Like you, I’ve hardly worn anything long legged recently, so any further experimentation of the jeans front will be postponed until the weather changes. A nice reason for non-sewing, for a change!

  8. […] here they are: the mother of all flared jeans patterns, Jalie 2908, high-rise version. I made those last year in a non-stretch denim and wore them exactly once as they proved far to tight and uncomfortable. This time I learned and […]

Leave a Reply

LOTILDA

stricken & nähen | slowfashion blog

The Monthly Stitch

Come sew with us...

Sewchet

Sewing, crochet, crafts, accessories, baking, tutorials,

Love, Lucie

Where hands and minds are rarely still

Apricot Mylo

a dressmaking journey

Handmade by Hannah

Day to day life, one crafting adventure at a time.

Stitched up by Jenna

"Sewing mends the soul"

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

nelnanandnora

Faith, family and creativity

thesewingmiserablist

where stitchery gets to meet mediocrity, face-to-face, and firmly shakes it's hand

wakeymakes

Returning sewist, crafter and runner

saturday night stitch

A UK Sewing and Style blog by a Mum of 5 with a fervent passion for all sorts of dressmaking.

