Lizzy’s Jeans in June and July: Jalie 2908 Bootcut Jeans, First Attempt

I’m sure you’ve heard of Sew Bussy Lissy’s Jeans in June and July challenge.

Jeans in June & July 2014 Basically you get what it says on the button: Lizzy will make a pair of jeans in June and July and so will I, because basically I will do whatever Lizzy tells me to do.

I’ve finally managed to get my hands on Jalie 2908 aka the jeans everybody is making. Yesterday I bought four metres of lightweight denim (online, to my absolute delight it was in the post today! That’s what I call great service!), today I speedwashed and dried the denim, traced the pattern and off I went with the first version.

I made the Jalie size V, which corresponds to a size 31/ German size 40 (on the slightly small side of a 40), but chosing the size according to my hip measurement.

I think it’s not going too badly:

IMG_8576The sideseams and inseams are only basted and I haven’t done the zip yet, but I think the crotch is going to be alright. There is a little tension just below the fly yet, but I’m  hoping that will relax out once I’ve worn the stretch denim for a while. It has the recommended 4% lycra and though it did not seem too stretchy when handling it I can feel it relaxing now as I wear the jeans.

IMG_8580The back seems okay too. Obviously I haven’t placed the pockets yet and  I think that bum really needs a bit of breaking up, but the fit seems okay. A few wrinkles here and there, but as I don’t know what to do about them and they don’t annoy me massively, I will declare them “normal”.
I lengthened the back rise by 2.5cm in the CB tapering to nothing at the side seams via slashing and spreading, but I think I overdid this a little bit. I didn’t add anything to the front rise, but should have done there. I used the low rise version of the Jalie pattern, but that might well be a bit too low for my taste/age/state of muffin top. We’ll see once the waist band is on.

IMG_8581IMG_8579Side seams seem okay, more or less perpendicular to the floor. There is a very slight curve, but I don’t think I will be able to improve on what I have here with my limited understanding of pants alterations.

I haven’t worn bootcut jeans for absolute ages and even considered altering them to make them straight, like most people who use this pattern seem to do. But then, I have my TNT straight jeans pattern, so I thought I might as well go for the whole Jalie look. I do kinda like it, in fact, although it will take a while to get used to boot cut jeans again.

So all in all I am encouraged. The fit is good enough for me to want to continue with this construction, so hopefully I can announce mission accomplished soon. Wouldn`t want to disappoint Lizzie, would I??!! 🙂

 

Tagged: , , ,

9 thoughts on “Lizzy’s Jeans in June and July: Jalie 2908 Bootcut Jeans, First Attempt

  1. navybluethreads July 1, 2014 at 11:30 pm Reply

    Hi Chris. Very impressed, looks difficult! I’ve nominated you for the versatile blogger award too, I’ve just posted about it 🙂

  2. mrszandstra July 1, 2014 at 11:38 pm Reply

    These look amazing – I am tempted to try jeans but I struggled with lots of fitting issues on Thurlows last year and I don’t quite have the energy to go through that again!

    Louise

  3. sewbusylizzy July 1, 2014 at 11:45 pm Reply

    Wow you have whipped those up quickly!

  4. Mia July 3, 2014 at 7:51 pm Reply

    Great pattern, looks quite skinny and cut a very good figure – and no visible panty lines so far (sorry Chris, could not resist to comment :-P). Looking forward to the finishing!

    • Chris July 3, 2014 at 11:12 pm Reply

      Mia, I’m a changed woman! First thing I checked when looking at those jeans is the VPL-status 🙂

  5. Tia Dia July 4, 2014 at 12:13 am Reply

    These look great! It’s gotta be one of the best jeans patterns on the market.

  6. Mia July 4, 2014 at 10:14 pm Reply

    I should like to hold you to that promise 😉 *laughing*. Have a nice weekend!

Leave a Reply

Thimble End

Sustainable sewing | Ethical living

Tweed & Greet

hello to handmade fashion and lifestyle

LOTILDA

Strickblog | Nähblog

The Monthly Stitch

Come sew with us...

Sewchet

Sewing, crochet, crafts, accessories, baking, tutorials,

Love, Lucie

Where hands and minds are rarely still

Apricot Mylo

a dressmaking journey

Handmade by Hannah

Day to day life, one crafting adventure at a time.

Stitched up by Jenna

"Sewing mends the soul"

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

nelnanandnora

Faith, family and creativity

