When Sewing and Thinking Don’t Collide…

Egged on my your kind comments I set out to make another version of the Malvarosa. I had a delightful, light aqua linen what would work beautifully and because it’s a really easy sew with essentially just a front and a back bodice piece with a gathered skirt added on, it can be sewn while thinking about other things.

Or so I thought…

Look what I made one step before the finish line:

tmp_20140625_091652261507949

Do you know what I did?
I sewed the right front side to the left side of the back bodice and the other way round. And I finished everything completely before even noticing!

Dear oh dear… Well, it’s all unpicked now and sewed up correctly now, so no real harm done. But still…

How about you: Have you made any sewing mistakes as stupid as that?

 

 

Tagged: ,

12 thoughts on “When Sewing and Thinking Don’t Collide…

  1. navybluethreads June 28, 2014 at 9:54 pm Reply

    Far too many to list…. Glad I’m not the only one 😉

  2. Nakisha June 28, 2014 at 10:00 pm Reply

    Oh my gosh. Too. Many. To. List.

    🙂

    Most recently is cutting my sailboat and seagull fabric upside down.

    • Chris June 28, 2014 at 10:33 pm Reply

      Good heavens yes! I can’t say how often I have cut pattern the wrong way round. I blame it on “not being the geometric type”…

  3. Linda T June 29, 2014 at 12:09 am Reply

    Oh my yes! Sewn yoke side seams to shoulder seams and wondered where to sew the body to the yoke! And sewn front pant inseam to the other front pant inseam and wondered why it resembled a skirt – well in a way……….You are in good company

    • Chris June 29, 2014 at 12:14 am Reply

      Come to think of it, Linda, I have in fact done that pants-into-skirt- thing too… Glad to know I’m not the only one

  4. sewbusylizzy June 29, 2014 at 7:01 am Reply

    That’s an absolute classic – solid gold!

  5. Oh of course! You know it is time to take a rest when you make a mistake, unpick it, and sew the same mistake right back in again! I am sure your finished bodice will be lovely!

  6. Juliet June 30, 2014 at 1:25 am Reply

    Aaaw no! That must have been so horrible to realise! I know that when I started sewing I used to have a lot of trouble understanding he whole “sew with right sides togehter”, so I ended up with quite a few inside out garments! I’m sure your malvarosa is, aside from that whoopsie, just fine – I look forward to seeing it!

    • Chris June 30, 2014 at 11:25 am Reply

      Haha! I have a slight obsession with French seams at the moment, but following a routine of many a year I have made a few the wrong way round, so that a beautiful French seam is on the OUTside of the garment… Oh well, where would the fun be if everything worked out at all times 😉

  7. Tia Dia July 4, 2014 at 12:09 am Reply

    Mistake? What’s that?!

  8. Gail July 12, 2014 at 6:55 am Reply

    haste makes waste!

Leave a Reply

LOTILDA

stricken & nähen | slowfashion blog

The Monthly Stitch

Come sew with us...

Sewchet

Sewing, crochet, crafts, accessories, baking, tutorials,

Love, Lucie

Where hands and minds are rarely still

Apricot Mylo

a dressmaking journey

Handmade by Hannah

Day to day life, one crafting adventure at a time.

Stitched up by Jenna

"Sewing mends the soul"

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

nelnanandnora

Faith, family and creativity

thesewingmiserablist

where stitchery gets to meet mediocrity, face-to-face, and firmly shakes it's hand

wakeymakes

Returning sewist, crafter and runner

saturday night stitch

A UK Sewing and Style blog by a Mum of 5 with a fervent passion for all sorts of dressmaking.

