Megan Nielsen: Tania Culottes

Probably everyone has made these already, but I guess I have never been an early adopter and so I’ve only now come round to making the Tania.

IMG_8251

IMG_8247

I don’t know that I can add anymore to the collected Tania wisdom,  but just for the record:

  • these are genius! They are really easy to sew and on a hot day they are heaven to wear.
  • yes, they do come very short. I cut a size M here but with the xl length and added another 5cm to the length and they still are really quite short.
  • On my the waistband comes up very snug (yes, I did measure myself correctly, in case you wonder). So next time I will make the L size.
  • I did not leave them to hang out over night, I hemmed them straight away and the hem is a little wonky as a result. But I was literally sewing them in my underpants waiting to be able to put them on. I’m sure you’ll agree that slightly wonky hems are better than me going outdoors in my underpants.

IMG_8249Look, the culottes have a nautical theme on them. There are boats going in and coming out of my crotch. Not sure what this means on a metaphorical level… Not sure I want to know 😉

 

IMG_8253And there are cheeky little sailors doing all sorts with their semaphore flags. I have no idea what they are saying, I just hope it’s all in good taste.

 

Tagged: , , ,

4 thoughts on “Megan Nielsen: Tania Culottes

  1. SewingElle June 13, 2014 at 12:45 pm Reply

    These are very cute. You are not the last to make them, I haven’t yet either!

  2. navybluethreads June 13, 2014 at 1:54 pm Reply

    Fun, and I’m guessing easy to wear. Great make!

    • Chris June 13, 2014 at 9:47 pm Reply

      thank you! Yes, they are very easy to wear. I think you would look great in them!

  3. Nakisha June 13, 2014 at 10:23 pm Reply

    Hahahaha!!! 🙂

    So cute. I have yet to get this pattern but it’s on my wish list!

Leave a Reply

LOTILDA

stricken & nähen | slowfashion blog

The Monthly Stitch

Come sew with us...

Sewchet

Sewing, crochet, crafts, accessories, baking, tutorials,

Love, Lucie

Where hands and minds are rarely still

Apricot Mylo

a dressmaking journey

Handmade by Hannah

Day to day life, one crafting adventure at a time.

Stitched up by Jenna

"Sewing mends the soul"

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

nelnanandnora

Faith, family and creativity

thesewingmiserablist

where stitchery gets to meet mediocrity, face-to-face, and firmly shakes it's hand

wakeymakes

Returning sewist, crafter and runner

saturday night stitch

A UK Sewing and Style blog by a Mum of 5 with a fervent passion for all sorts of dressmaking.

