So many things to sew, so little time to sew them!!

In an attempt to get my ever growing collection of Burdas under some semblance of control I have started to copy and archive the overview pages with the technical drawings of each edition. I have so far “done” about two years worth of Burdas.

And look what’s happened:

tmp_20140605_1658511586603209I put the pink post-its with every garment that I have definite plans for or that I have at least suitable fabric in my stash. At the top there are the post-its for different versions of button-down shirts that I want to make now I have button holes more or less under control.

I’m thrilled and depressed at the same time!

Thrilled because it seems I’m definitely getting my money’s worth out of my Burda subscription

and thrilled because sewing is such a great and varied hobby

but depressed, because most of those post-its will never make it into garments, because I have neither the time nor the need for so many projects.

“First World Problems” my teenage daughter would add her refreshing perspective. ’nuff said, I suppose. But still…

Tagged: ,

13 thoughts on “So many things to sew, so little time to sew them!!

  1. Angela June 6, 2014 at 12:04 am Reply

    So true! I have a mountain of fabric growing in my laundry/sewing room that is beginning to alarm me as well:)

    • Chris June 6, 2014 at 9:08 pm Reply

      Fabric attack! Only sewist might ever suffer from that 😉

  2. Nakisha June 6, 2014 at 1:39 am Reply

    You and me both. I have seven more things I want to make from the June issue alone! Oy!!

    • Chris June 6, 2014 at 9:03 pm Reply

      So what’s top of your June sewing list?

  3. I made it!! June 6, 2014 at 6:55 am Reply

    I completely understand! But it is so fun isn’t it – the planning, the buying, the sewing, the wearing!

    • Chris June 6, 2014 at 9:06 pm Reply

      Oh yes! Too much fun sometimes…

  4. SewingElle June 6, 2014 at 8:00 am Reply

    You are not alone!

  5. Anne W June 6, 2014 at 8:19 am Reply

    So not alone! I have 20 years of burdas, all with a corner or more turned down to mark something I thought I’d make, not to mention all the ordinary patterns & even more vintage patterns, all shouting very loudly to be made up! One at a time, that’s all you can do! 🙂

    • Chris June 6, 2014 at 9:06 pm Reply

      Well, we’re just gonna have to cope, don’t we 😉 ?

      • Anne W June 6, 2014 at 9:08 pm

        Yeah, I’m sure we’ll survive! 🙂

  6. Fabric, Thread, Clothes? June 7, 2014 at 4:53 am Reply

    Love it!!! I went through my burda magazines one day and put stickies on them too. I’ve made very few of my picks, but it gives me a warm fuzzy to look back at them!

    • Chris June 7, 2014 at 10:03 pm Reply

      Maybe it’ll work out like that for me too. Especially with the July edition coming up next week… I need more post-its…

  7. gingerjac June 9, 2014 at 5:07 pm Reply

    This is great…. I really need to find a system to store my patterns… and download and print them off my computer too!!! Giving me inspiration to get organised!!!

Leave a Reply

LOTILDA

stricken & nähen | slowfashion blog

The Monthly Stitch

Come sew with us...

Sewchet

Sewing, crochet, crafts, accessories, baking, tutorials,

Love, Lucie

Where hands and minds are rarely still

Apricot Mylo

a dressmaking journey

Handmade by Hannah

Day to day life, one crafting adventure at a time.

Stitched up by Jenna

"Sewing mends the soul"

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

nelnanandnora

Faith, family and creativity

thesewingmiserablist

where stitchery gets to meet mediocrity, face-to-face, and firmly shakes it's hand

wakeymakes

Returning sewist, crafter and runner

saturday night stitch

A UK Sewing and Style blog by a Mum of 5 with a fervent passion for all sorts of dressmaking.

