Burdastyle 6/2014 #122: Northern Beach Dress

When leafing through the latest edition of Burdastyle I liked quite a few things, one of them being dress #122.

 

I don’t even really know what attracted my about this dress – certainly it was not the stance of the model nor her desperate attempt to hide the hemline of the dress with her handbag. I also did not think that yellow might be a good idea on my, I look like death warmed up in yellow and I have never had anything remotely similar to a shirt dress – but still: I saw, I bought, I sewed (as Ceasar said, didn’t he?)

IMG_8148I chose a combination of a navy linen for the solid section and a mid blue and light blue patterned cotton for the body.

IMG_8145In Germany we have a saying “someone looks like ordered but not collected” – that’s the picture to go with this saying.

IMG_8150I cut my usual size 40, but the dress is really quite loose. I did not even grade out to a 42 over the hips as I usually would and it still is plenty roomy. I never realised that from looking at the model picture, but in the end I decided I quite like the very relaxed vibe. It reminds me of a Northern beach, where you go for long walks in the sand and wind rather than sunbathing.

IMG_8159Here is was photobombed by a much more talented model than me. She did try to show me the correct model moves, but I remained a bit awkward.

In the German edition of Burdastyle, this dress is marked as a “Master Piece”. I’m not sure I would go as far as that, but it has some nice details:

IMG_8175

The button placket is hidden – you don’t actually need the buttons as it has a side zip – which in turn you don’t need because it is loose enough to be just pulled on. But still: It’s my first proper shirt construction ever, I think I did quite well.

IMG_8172I used French seams where I could, so even the inside looks nice.

IMG_8176Also a first for me: a proper sleeve placket. The outside looks good.

IMG_8173The inside is a bit of a mess. The instructions were unfathomable to me – and I normally don’t have a problem with Burdastyle instructions, but these ones defeated me. I realised after the event that there are a lot of good tutorial around, so in future I will just follow those.

IMG_8140And finally my attempt at an artistic shot. I keep admiring the photographs from you girls from London or New York with your artistic cityscapes. Small town Germany is not quite the same thing, but maybe it’s the thought that counts?

 

Tagged: , ,

6 thoughts on “Burdastyle 6/2014 #122: Northern Beach Dress

  1. Laurie June 4, 2014 at 5:03 pm Reply

    Love your “artistic” photo! I will have to remember that the next time I take pictures! 😀 That fabric color is great on you. And the sleeve plackets! Nice work… no one will see the inside but you! I love french seaming. It makes everything look sooo nice inside. I have been getting Burda since last October and have still not tried a pattern. I guess I have a fear of tracing! But I really need to!

    • Chris June 5, 2014 at 11:01 am Reply

      Do give Burda a try! The tracing is half as bad and in my opinion it is definitely less horrible than assembling a pdf pattern.

  2. I made it!! June 6, 2014 at 6:17 am Reply

    You did an excellent job with the photos and the dress – I am so glad people are sewing in my favourite colour – blue!

  3. Gail June 6, 2014 at 8:37 am Reply

    Nicely done. I haven’t noticed this pattern yet, but would like to make it in a block colour.

    • Chris June 6, 2014 at 9:07 pm Reply

      Yes, I think that would look great.

  4. […] frankenpatterned my synchronised swimmers blouse and the skirt ot my northern beach dress. Because both these items of clothing have beach references and because I will travel to beachy […]

Leave a Reply

LOTILDA

stricken & nähen | slowfashion blog

The Monthly Stitch

Come sew with us...

Sewchet

Sewing, crochet, crafts, accessories, baking, tutorials,

Love, Lucie

Where hands and minds are rarely still

Apricot Mylo

a dressmaking journey

Handmade by Hannah

Day to day life, one crafting adventure at a time.

Stitched up by Jenna

"Sewing mends the soul"

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

nelnanandnora

Faith, family and creativity

thesewingmiserablist

where stitchery gets to meet mediocrity, face-to-face, and firmly shakes it's hand

wakeymakes

Returning sewist, crafter and runner

saturday night stitch

A UK Sewing and Style blog by a Mum of 5 with a fervent passion for all sorts of dressmaking.

