McCall 6833/ Burdastyle 5/2014 # 104 Frankenpattern: The Summer Easter Dress

IMG_8069Disclaimer: It’s a long story!

It all started with my Easter dress which I loved so much I wanted to make it again as soon as possible. At my last visit to the fabric market I came across a lovely aqua cotton with large pink roses and I knew immediately it had to become the summer version of the Easter dress.
However (you felt the however coming on, didn’t you) the alterations to the bodice I made for the Easter dress didn’t work at all on this version and the bodice was a complete loss.
So I thought I could give the pointy boob bodice another try – but in spite of much thinking, redrawing of darts etc it still looked pointy. I think me and bust darts are just not a match made in heaven!
So finally, and only because I was really, REALLY determined I decided to convert the pointy darts into underbust gathers:

IMG_8074This has kinda worked – there is still some slight fullness where it doesn’t belong, but my husband assures me that it would be socially unacceptable to stare at my bust long enough to notice. So there!

You will also see that I added some elastic to the waistline to tighten it slightly. It was still gaping after a lot of minor tweaks and I simply lost patience. But I think I could untighten the elastic a little (it was sewn onto the seam allowance of the neckline), this way I would get less obvious gathering around the neckline. This might have to wait for another day, though…

IMG_8071So on this dress I used the front bodice of McCall 6833 and the back bodice and skirt  of Burdastyle 5/2014 #104 .

IMG_8171

I didn’t attempt any pattern matching – it only occured to me that I could have once I looked at this photo. Oh well – there is always a next time.

IMG_8169

I lined the bodice with pink linen from deep stash, the skirt is unlined, but the hem is finished with some lovely pink crochet lace and handstitched down.

IMG_8170

Given that I only handstitch in an emergeny and that it took almost 4 metres of lace I feel pretty virtuous for having done this!

IMG_8066IMG_8072

 

I made my usual just below the knee length, but I am almost wondering if this isn’t the most flattering length. It hits my leg right at the top of my calves, I almost wonder if it wouldn’t look better if it was a little bit shorter and end on or just above the knee-cap. I am just a little traumatised by the idea of Bavarian teenage girls wearing their mini-dirndls, so maybe I have erred on the side of caution a little too much here.

 

IMG_8076

IMG_8080So that’s another dress done and dusted – as the June edition of Burdastyle arrived recently,  I already have plans for the next one…

What’s on your sewing table at the moment? Any exciting things?

Tagged: , ,

3 thoughts on “McCall 6833/ Burdastyle 5/2014 # 104 Frankenpattern: The Summer Easter Dress

  1. rachsews June 3, 2014 at 8:53 am Reply

    Pretty fabric, and I love this length on you.

  2. SewingElle June 3, 2014 at 1:08 pm Reply

    Gorgeous fabric, beautiful dress, great setting for the photos, a story about fitting complete with sewing details (pattern matching or not, lining, hand sewing, hem lace). What more could I want in my blog reader?!

    • Chris June 3, 2014 at 10:18 pm Reply

      Thank you so much! We aim to please, as we like to say at Said&Done HQ (and “eat up your dinner and don’t keep complaining” – in all honesty we say that a lot too…)

Leave a Reply

LOTILDA

stricken & nähen | slowfashion blog

The Monthly Stitch

Come sew with us...

Sewchet

Sewing, crochet, crafts, accessories, baking, tutorials,

Love, Lucie

Where hands and minds are rarely still

Apricot Mylo

a dressmaking journey

Handmade by Hannah

Day to day life, one crafting adventure at a time.

Stitched up by Jenna

"Sewing mends the soul"

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

nelnanandnora

Faith, family and creativity

thesewingmiserablist

where stitchery gets to meet mediocrity, face-to-face, and firmly shakes it's hand

wakeymakes

Returning sewist, crafter and runner

saturday night stitch

A UK Sewing and Style blog by a Mum of 5 with a fervent passion for all sorts of dressmaking.

