Fehr Trade Lacy Thong: No Pun Intended

I can’t tell you how hard I’m finding it not to write a post full of wildly inappropriate puns!! I’m practically sitting on my hands while biting my tongue as I type!
Aaanyways, remember my musings re: vpl when I first started making jeans?

Well, a little while ago, Mia kindly took things into her own hands (metaphorically, not literally I hasten to add) and suggested via the comments that I try doing away with vpl via the wearing of thongs. And what’s even better she suggested to make Fehr Trade’s free Lacy Thong pattern to get ahead of myself in the underwear department.

I guess I needed this kick up the back side, made up a thong and today is only the second day in my whole life that I’m wearing one.

IMG_8164

 

My first thong experience many years ago wasn’t a good one: I felt as if a dentist had not been quite compos mentis and used his dental floss on the entirely wrong part of my anatomy. In fact I felt so uncomfortable that I remember distinctly extracting the thong from where it didn’t belong in the middle of the day in a right frenzy and changing into a trusty old pair of granny knickers.

Today went much, MUCH better: It’s the wee hours now with me still thonged up, no major chafing or irritation. I do feel a little – well, nekid, which I suppose is entirely the point of a thong, so full scores there.

Construction-wise there is not much to tell, given that a thong takes up hardly any fabric. I made the size L, following my measurements, but maybe the knit I used is a bit more stretchy than the stretch lace that is specified for this pattern, so I took it in a little in the side seams. In future, I think a size M will be fine. I have to admit I did not look at the instructions as I had them on my computer downstairs and I was too lazy to go and fetch them, but I don’t think there is much that can go wrong. Well, having said that, something did go wrong: I attached lacy stretch elastic to prettify the whole make and I realised on the first leg that I should have tightened the lace a little more. I was too lazy to unpick everything, so one leg opening is a little wider than the other – but no-one is gonna see this, are they, so I think I will get away with it.

So all that rambling and I know all you have been waiting for is photographic evidence. So behold, my behind in the great VPL/No VPL battle:

Viewers of a nervous disposition might want to click away now.

You have been warned!

Before:

IMG_6844

Aaaaaaahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh!
No more words needed!

After:

IMG_8167Isn’t that just a picture of vpl-free perfection?

So all that remains to be said: THANK YOU Mia for bringing the pattern to my attention. Thank you Fehr Trade for publishing a free thong pattern! And thank you again Mia for persisting with me so this actually gets done!

Tagged: , , ,

11 thoughts on “Fehr Trade Lacy Thong: No Pun Intended

  1. navybluethreads May 31, 2014 at 10:10 pm Reply

    While I love short-style granny pants, sometimes a girl’s just gotta go for something just a little more ‘discreet’ as evidenced in your before and after photos 😉

  2. SewingElle June 1, 2014 at 12:39 am Reply

    Good job! I like granny pants too, but a thong is the best for no vpl, as you so clearly show… Good to hear that lingerie making has a first easy step with this pattern.

  3. Emma Jayne June 1, 2014 at 1:45 am Reply

    Oh Chris you write and photograph the funniest things. I’m glad you gave thongs a second chance and now have no excuses for blogging VPLs anymore now!

  4. Mia June 1, 2014 at 6:09 pm Reply

    Haha, had some fun to read this blogpost. You`re welcome. Glad to see you made it with success – your comparison says it all, no more words needed. And Melissa’s pattern is much more comfortable than expected, right? So if the other ladies are struggling with the thong topic: Chris clearly showed it`s totally worth trying.

    @Chris: One last tip: Thinner and lighter fabrics are even more problematic with granny panties than your jeans (showing your knickers through white pants is without any doubt a deadly sin for example!!!!! 😉 ). Try some nude-colored fabrics and you will finally stick to that “thong-thing” – Nothing will show up.

    Summing up: We might get presented some more lingerie-sewing in the near future and no more VPL-pics any more? Lovely! 🙂

  5. Nakisha June 2, 2014 at 4:37 am Reply

    HAHAHA!!! Best post ever!!!! 🙂

    Embrace the thong! I’m getting more and more tempted to make undies

    • Chris June 2, 2014 at 8:59 pm Reply

      That whole thong business was really very easy to make, so that might make a first make

  6. […] the booty shot. If you have been following this blog for any length of time you will know that the state of my VPL is under close surveillance. I think I’m not doing to badly this time (although, Mia, look away now, I’m not […]

  7. […] a bit bad for not using all that free time for blogging. A big shout-out here to the ever observant Mia, who keeps me accountable both as far as my underwear as well as my blogging is concerned. Mia, I’m back! […]

  8. Mia October 25, 2014 at 2:57 pm Reply

    Are there any news so far – Still sticking to that thong business? 🙂

  9. […] have to confess to my faithful reader Mia that not much progress has been made on the thong sewing front, however I hope you’ll be pleased to find that nevertheless I take greater care selecting my […]

  10. Jings December 17, 2014 at 7:19 pm Reply

    WOW, looks like you`re wearing a completely different jeans!?? 🙂

    Will we see more of Melissas pattern from you in near future? (take a look at her page, some nice combinations with lace over there).

Leave a Reply

Thimble End

Sustainable sewing | Ethical living

Tweed & Greet

hello to handmade fashion and lifestyle

LOTILDA

stricken & nähen | slowfashion blog

The Monthly Stitch

Come sew with us...

Sewchet

Sewing, crochet, crafts, accessories, baking, tutorials,

Love, Lucie

Where hands and minds are rarely still

Apricot Mylo

a dressmaking journey

Handmade by Hannah

Day to day life, one crafting adventure at a time.

Stitched up by Jenna

"Sewing mends the soul"

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

nelnanandnora

Faith, family and creativity

