The 7/8th Knit Dress Craze

Somebody switched on summer around my parts! Suddenly, literally over night, it became warm enough for sleeveless dresses and little sandals!

Which gives my plenty of opportunity to show off the latest dress craze that has come out of my sewing room: Almost full length knit maxi dresses.

IMG_7959

IMG_7965I made two so far, both from 1.5m precuts of various knit fabrics. That’s where the 7/8th length comes from – it is as far as 1.5m of fabric will go on me. I think properly full length might look a little bit better, but I`m just not elegant enough to wear full length: I keep stepping on the hem, ripping it down in the process, when I walk up stairs the gathered up skirt  doesn’t make me look like a picture floating elegance but like a slightly overworked washer woman – in short, full length maxis make me nervous and I get all worked up and hot and bothered about them, and if there is one thing I don’t want my clothes to do then it’s make me hot and bothered, so not quite full length it is! Glad I got that out of the way!

IMG_7959IMG_7966I kinda used a pattern for this: Burdastyle 3/2014 # 125

I took the bodice part and lengthened it as far as the fabric would go. For the printed dress I cut on little dolman sleeves, basically by eyeballing it. The length of those sleeves again is determined by the width of the fabric: from sleeve to sleeve I had 70cm, half of a 140cm width of fabric.

IMG_7961I probably should have put the darker areas over my bottom so as to not emphasise it quite so much, but again, the fabric placement I ended up with was the only one possible with the amount of  fabric I had.

Let’s have a look at the de-accessorized version:

IMG_7969(By the way, I never found that cardie again that I lost in my hot-flush-induced defeat at layering ;-).  Oh well…)

IMG_7970I have to admit that I like these dresses a lot more “live” than in those pictures. Worn live they swish and move around the body in a way that I really like. On a picture, at least with the posing that I am capable of, they look more sack-like. At least I hope that’s only in the pictures… Here’s to hoping I haven’t been walking around in the West’s answer to the burqa for days…

IMG_7973The green and white striped version has pockets too – just because I could!

IMG_7974Back view, again displaying my husband’s idea of “darling, it looks absolutely fine” 😉 . Can you see my waistcoat and belt tossed to the side? That’s me and layering in a nutshell!

So there we are: I’ve gone all out for the simple knit dress craze. No great feat of sewing, that’s for sure. But I think these might become my most worn dresses of the summer.

How about you: Have you found any dresses that you have gone crazy for?

Tagged: , , , , , ,

10 thoughts on “The 7/8th Knit Dress Craze

  1. navybluethreads May 22, 2014 at 9:14 am Reply

    Both look lovely on you. I bet they’ll be really useful. And your derrière looks just fine! Love maxi dresses on others but I’m yet to find a style that suits petites.

  2. Marianne K May 22, 2014 at 9:42 am Reply

    Nice dresses! Burqa’s? No way! I’m working on my first Anna maxi now and I think my summer will be full of Colette Moneta dresses. So happy with my newly found overlocker skills! It’s not couture sewing, but when it’s hot like this week knit dresses are da bomb! By the way: I fired my husband and hired a tripod. Much more patience 😉

    • Chris May 22, 2014 at 10:39 pm Reply

      I currently have a tripod in probationary period. However, somehow this has still not resulted in model-like pictures… Surely it can’t be my fault??!! 😉

  3. Fiona M May 22, 2014 at 2:14 pm Reply

    Actually, I prefer the 7/8ths length – less chance of tripping over the hem!

  4. cathynd95 May 22, 2014 at 2:50 pm Reply

    LOVELY dresses!

  5. Chris May 22, 2014 at 10:39 pm Reply

    Reblogged this on The Monthly Stitch.

  6. I made it!! May 23, 2014 at 4:15 am Reply

    You look great! Both dresses turned out well. I am absolutely in love with a red print knit top I just made. I haven’t blogged about it yet, but I will. Lucky you, with your weather. We have a few days of sun, then rain for a couple of days, and then it starts all over again!

  7. Anne W May 23, 2014 at 8:54 am Reply

    That fabric is devine! Love the dress too. 🙂

    • Chris May 24, 2014 at 12:13 am Reply

      Thank you Anne!

  8. […] 23This is one result  of my recent maxi-dress knit craze. I paired it with a RTW waistcoat and a wide belt to make it look not completely as if I was […]

Leave a Reply

LOTILDA

stricken & nähen | slowfashion blog

The Monthly Stitch

Come sew with us...

Sewchet

Sewing, crochet, crafts, accessories, baking, tutorials,

Love, Lucie

Where hands and minds are rarely still

Apricot Mylo

a dressmaking journey

Handmade by Hannah

Day to day life, one crafting adventure at a time.

Stitched up by Jenna

"Sewing mends the soul"

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

nelnanandnora

Faith, family and creativity

thesewingmiserablist

where stitchery gets to meet mediocrity, face-to-face, and firmly shakes it's hand

wakeymakes

Returning sewist, crafter and runner

saturday night stitch

A UK Sewing and Style blog by a Mum of 5 with a fervent passion for all sorts of dressmaking.

