MMM14 Roundup: Day 12 – 19

If I had one blogging related wish I would wish for a photo fairy who both makes me not look as if I was staring a large, dangerous creature in the face every time a have a camera pointed at me and who takes acceptable pictures.

In the land of reality the pictures are what they are, so here it goes:

Day 12: Synchronous Swimmers Blouse and Pastel Blue Summer Jeans

IMG_7928

I was working from home and the weather seemed fine, so I have those swimming ladies a go. Big regrets a little while later when it turned so could I decided to fire up the wood burner… May, ey??!!

 

 

Day 13: Read my Body dress

IMG_7933

Another example of my growing collection of knit dresses. Ever since I bought my coverstitch machine I love sewing knits because I don’t have to fret about the twin needle any more. This dress is très chic, I try telling myself, because all the writing on it is in French. Mine is lamentable, so I couldn’t really say what the dress says… Hope it’s all complimentary.
The picture was actually taken a few days later. On the day I wore it with junky black thermal tights and a black cardie. May, ey??!!

 

Day 14: The “Chris got her act together” trousers and cowl neck top

IMG_7930

I solemnly swore yesterday that I would get my act together and finish a few WIPs. Taking a spoonful of my own medicine I sat down and FINALLY put the waistband on those trousers and so I can wear them for the first time. I started making them back in autumn together with my Flying by the sides of my pants pants, in fact they use the same pattern, just without the peplum.

 

Day 15: Potentially ill-advised pants, basic T-shirt and cosy cardigan

IMG_7947

Excuse my facial expression, the experiment with self timed photos isn’t going all that well…

I’m wearing trousers from Burdastyle 4/2014 and my basic T in a light pink. The cardie is me-made too. I’m not too sure about those trousers. I like the loose style as such, but the bulk-adding properties around the hips aren’t exactly what a pear-shape needs. I used a beige/brownish linen with a slight golden dusting, so they have a beach party vibe rather than a junky cardigan vibe. Maybe the summer will tell me if I should keep wearing them.

Day 16: The Job Interview Outfit

IMG_7949This was the first chance to wear my Job Interview Blouse.

IMG_7951I paired it with navy trousers following my TNT trouser pattern.

I really liked wearing the blouse, although I think on a repeat version I might make it a little smaller. Clearly it didn’t do enough to convince the interviewer, because I didn’t get the job. More time for sewing, I guess :-).

Day 17 and 18:

This was the weekend and I forgot to take pictures… ooops…

So you’ll have to take my word for it: I wore me-mades on both days. I wore different versions of my basic raglan top and yoga pants. The pants used the track suit bottom pattern from Burdastyle 6/2014, but I don’t like the way they turned out AT ALL, so I would be too embarrassed to post a picture, even if I had one.

So this ends the second full week of MMM. Lessons learnt so far:

  • I really want to start wearing summer clothes now! I’m bored with all the cool weather stuff, even if deep down I like the garments in themselves.
  • I have a lot more dresses than I can wear. I really should stop making them… (Not gonna happen, but you knew that anyway, didn’t you?!)
  • I need more lounge wear bottoms, ideally something that I could contemplate wearing out of the house without my daughter aka The Fashion Police getting a heart attack.

 

How’s MMM going for you this year? Still hanging in there?

 

 

16 thoughts on “MMM14 Roundup: Day 12 – 19

  1. navybluethreads May 22, 2014 at 9:26 pm Reply

    Weather swinging from the sublime to the ridiculous in the UK too. In fact I’ve just turned the heating back on, it’s gone so cold again 😦 Bad luck with the job interview, it certainly wasn’t the blouse’s fault, looks great.

    • Chris May 22, 2014 at 10:36 pm Reply

      Oh dear, normally we are a few days behind, weather-wise, so maybe I’ll get in some wood…

  2. Mrs. Smith May 22, 2014 at 11:45 pm Reply

    Nice round up! I’m still hanging in there.

    Too bad about the job. That just means the next option will be BETTER!

    • Chris May 24, 2014 at 12:15 am Reply

      And I’ll be going to the fabric market this weekend to comfort myself 😉

  3. I made it!! May 23, 2014 at 4:43 am Reply

    Sorry about the job interview! I am still hanging in here with the Me Mades, but I am having trouble finding me made casual weekend clothes, so guess what’s being added to the “sewing to do” list!

    • Chris May 24, 2014 at 12:14 am Reply

      Same thing for me! I;m trying to find the perfect yoga pants pattern.

  4. Paola May 24, 2014 at 1:37 am Reply

    Hi – thanks for your MMM roundup! I’m just about to do mine, in which I planned to complain that I’m STILL wearing summer gear. It looks like summer will never end in the part of Australia I live in. So it made me smile that you were complaining about the opposite.:)

    • Chris May 24, 2014 at 10:19 pm Reply

      For once, your complaint is one I wouldn’t mind having! Here, summers always seem to short…

  5. SewingElle May 24, 2014 at 4:41 am Reply

    I love the job interview blouse. Inspired by you I now have one cut out too.

    • Chris May 24, 2014 at 10:19 pm Reply

      Glad you liked it. Hopefully you’ll post about the blouse once you’re done?

  6. Tia Dia May 25, 2014 at 4:36 pm Reply

    MMM-ing in May is always difficult for me, too, because one day is glorious and the next requires layers of cashmere because it’s so chilly! I love your round-up of photos, and I’m with you on the dresses. I have lots of dresses, and 3 pairs of jeans that get worn way more than I think is good for me. *shrug* I guess my lifestyle is more casual than dressy!

    • Chris May 26, 2014 at 5:06 pm Reply

      Thanks you! Can you believe I bought another two fabrics for dresses the other day – talk about NOT living by my words…

  7. Mia May 25, 2014 at 5:58 pm Reply

    Loving the job interview outfit, looks superb and dressy – Too bad that it did not work. 😦

  8. Audrey May 26, 2014 at 3:36 pm Reply

    I just came across your blog while doing an internet search of a specific Burda pattern.. How wonderful that your latest post is MMM. I get to see many of the wonderful garments you have made in one post. I have tried to do MMM before but the daily photography got the best of me. I enjoy looking at other’s MMM. It gives me lots of ideas and motivation for sewing.

    • Chris May 26, 2014 at 5:05 pm Reply

      Thank you Audrey! I hear you regarding the photography problem – for me taking pictures is by far the hardest part of the blogging experience.

  9. […] I didn’t use a commercial pattern for this, just a quick and dirty copy of a standard GAP scoop neck tee, when all’s said and done still my favourite T-shirt pattern, next to my standard cowl neck top. […]

Leave a Reply

LOTILDA

stricken & nähen | slowfashion blog

The Monthly Stitch

Come sew with us...

Sewchet

Sewing, crochet, crafts, accessories, baking, tutorials,

Love, Lucie

Where hands and minds are rarely still

Apricot Mylo

a dressmaking journey

Handmade by Hannah

Day to day life, one crafting adventure at a time.

Stitched up by Jenna

"Sewing mends the soul"

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

nelnanandnora

Faith, family and creativity

thesewingmiserablist

where stitchery gets to meet mediocrity, face-to-face, and firmly shakes it's hand

wakeymakes

Returning sewist, crafter and runner

saturday night stitch

A UK Sewing and Style blog by a Mum of 5 with a fervent passion for all sorts of dressmaking.

