Burdastyle 12/2013 #107: The Job Interview Blouse

In nom-sewing news I have a job interview tomorrow, first one in over 10 years! It’s not hugely exciting as the job I’m going for is just a new part-time role (for the rest of the time I would keep on teaching at my present school) and not a change of employer or even a promotion, so no extra money for buying more fabrics (not that – strictly speaking – I need more 😉 ). But the new role would be really interesting, so of course I wanted to make new clothes to wear for luck.

Deciding what to wear was actually quite difficult. Generally speaking, there is not a lot of style around in the German education profession as stylishness is often equated with shallowness. So I did not want to go all out regarding clothes, I think that could be alienating rather than encouraging. At the same time I don’t want to go down the Female Geography Teacher route (I don’t know whether that conjures up a pictures where you are, but I’m thinking midi pleated polyester skirt, shapeless cardigan and glasses worn on a string around your neck). Also I didn’t want to do too much of the Lufthansa-look (navy suit, white blouse). So what I came up with is this:

IMG_7936

I used Burdastyle 12/2013 #107 and the silk I bought on my last visit to Goldhawk Road.

I cut a straight size 40 and left the pattern exactly as it is apart from shortening the sleeves by about 3cm and widening the neck opening a little.

IMG_7938My dress form is broken in half waist-wise, so what the belt shows are not actually my waist measurements, I hasten to add. Honesty is the best policy 😉 !

I kind of followed the instructions, but I made every visible seam a French seam I had to change things around a bit. Have a look at the inside – I am so proud of how tidy this looks that I am almost considering wearing this inside out. Where is that anti-fast-fashion-initiative thing that makes you do just than when you need it 😉 ?

IMG_7940

IMG_7941I even did a decent job on hand-stitching the neckband:

IMG_7943

Do you know, I have never had a silk blouse before?! At the grand old age of almost 45 I think it’s about time! I haven’t actually worn it yet, so I am not sure how I will like it worn, but just feeling the softness of the fabric makes me happy. Classic Textiles in Goldhawk Road sell Liberty silks for 12 pounds a metre and this one isn’t flimsy at all. It’s a silk twill and actually relatively beefy for silk. I just love everything about it. Maybe it’s a bit too dark for summer wear, but it has been quite cold here, so I think I will get away with it.

So this is another make that makes me fall in love with sewing all over again. I get so much joy out of turning a beautiful piece of fabric into a garment – let’s just hope that positive vibe carries through to the job interview!

 

Tagged: , , , ,

15 thoughts on “Burdastyle 12/2013 #107: The Job Interview Blouse

  1. Red Point Tailor May 15, 2014 at 10:26 am Reply

    This is great fabric and the blouse is great. You are speaking about Lufthansa-look as we here in NL about KLM-look.
    As I love blue I am in these types of looks quite often 🙂
    Success with your job interview!

  2. sewbusylizzy May 15, 2014 at 12:17 pm Reply

    I’m about to embark on my first silk blouse too!
    Good luck – and what a lovely blouse!

    • Chris May 15, 2014 at 12:26 pm Reply

      Exciting stuff! What are you making?

      • sewbusylizzy May 15, 2014 at 1:32 pm

        I really like Vogue 1323, I like the plain nature of it, kinda boyish but should hang nicely in a silk.

      • Chris May 15, 2014 at 3:03 pm

        oh yes, I love that pattern. There are some gorgeous versions of it around. Curious to see what your version will be like!

  3. SewingElle May 15, 2014 at 2:09 pm Reply

    I love your blouse. That pattern just moved closer to the top of my to sew list this sunday when I saw the beautiful version my (blog-less) sewing friend made. Now your version means it is almost at the top.
    Fabulous fabric and great sewing.
    Good luck with the interview.
    Too stylish = shallow. Yes we get that in science research too..

    • Chris May 15, 2014 at 6:26 pm Reply

      isn’t the stylishness=shallow equation a strange thing when it comes from people who are educated in looking beneath the surface? Funnily enough out of my colleagues, the deepest thinkers are ALSO the ones with the biggest interest in fashion 🙂

  4. Nakisha May 15, 2014 at 11:41 pm Reply

    I have to cosign. I dress very ‘blandly’ for work as I am the only female scientist on staff AND the youngest. It does seem to be conveyed that stylish = shallow/frilly and frilly =/= scientist. :sigh:

    Love the blouse Chris! I really need to sew a silk blouse for myself!

  5. navybluethreads May 15, 2014 at 11:58 pm Reply

    I shuddered at the very thought of wearing any of my MeMade items inside out- the shame! 😉 Good luck in the interview…

  6. I made it!! May 16, 2014 at 5:29 am Reply

    Good luck to you! Funny, I wouldn’t choose that pattern based on the drawing but I sure would pick it based on your version! I think it is very classy. Oh, one more thing, 45 is NOT old!

  7. Tia Dia May 16, 2014 at 3:29 pm Reply

    Love your silk blouse! Silk blouses should be de rigueur for every lady over a certain age! 😉

  8. Gail May 19, 2014 at 12:33 pm Reply

    I’m thrilled that you posted this. I’ve been cutting lots of blouses lately and wanted to make this one from some liberty silk in my collection. I couldn’t find which Burda mag it was in. Not only did you solve that problem but you’ve also settled my unease about making it in a print. It looks fantastic.

    • Chris May 19, 2014 at 9:36 pm Reply

      Well thank you and glad to be of service. Make sure you let us see your version when it is finished.

  9. […] This was the first chance to wear my Job Interview Blouse. […]

  10. […] Melissa (blogless), who made a gorgeous lavender version for her lovely daughter Hannah. Chris of Handmade by Chris has made a beautiful silk version […]

Leave a Reply

LOTILDA

stricken & nähen | slowfashion blog

The Monthly Stitch

Come sew with us...

Sewchet

Sewing, crochet, crafts, accessories, baking, tutorials,

Love, Lucie

Where hands and minds are rarely still

Apricot Mylo

a dressmaking journey

Handmade by Hannah

Day to day life, one crafting adventure at a time.

Stitched up by Jenna

"Sewing mends the soul"

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

nelnanandnora

Faith, family and creativity

thesewingmiserablist

where stitchery gets to meet mediocrity, face-to-face, and firmly shakes it's hand

wakeymakes

Returning sewist, crafter and runner

saturday night stitch

A UK Sewing and Style blog by a Mum of 5 with a fervent passion for all sorts of dressmaking.

