MMM14: “Chris, get your act together!” – Solemn Resewlution!

So far MMM14 has gone rather well for me in as much as I have managed to wear only me-made outerwear so far. However, it made me realise that there are a couple of garments I would like to wear but cannot – because they are not actually finished.
Yes, I have a rather embarrassing number of WIP hanging around that annoy the hell out of me, so I have decided to publicly commit myself to finishing them during the month of May.
So here go my solemn “Chris, get your act together”-resewlutions:

During MMM14 I am going to:
– finish those brushed cotton trousers that ONLY NEED A WAISTBAND
– finish the zip and vent on that blue and aqua dress that’s been hanging around since March
– finish the waistband and belt loops on those light blue trousers – for goodness sake, one side of the waistband is even done!!
– put the belt loops on those navy trousers that you wanted to wear LAST FRIDAY !!!
– sew up that green and white maxi dress – come on, just change the thread on the serger and coverstitch, it’s not that bad a job.

Phew, hopefully naming and shaming is going to help me… well, get my act together. I have a couple of days almost off work this week, so no time like the present!

And apropos of nothing and because I have no new sewing related photo, have a look at this rainbow. Hopefully there is a pot of gold at its end!

IMG_7883

In other sewing news I have also finished making the most gorgeous silk blouse out of one of my recent Goldhawk Road purchases. I have got a job interview on Friday, so I want to wear it then for luck :-).

How’s your WIP pile looking? Any shameful secrets 😉 ?

Tagged: , , ,

9 thoughts on “MMM14: “Chris, get your act together!” – Solemn Resewlution!

  1. Annette May 14, 2014 at 1:29 am Reply

    Don’t feel bad. I have a couple of those sitting around. Especially, those things we sew for others because we need someone to try it on to check fit. I have a pair of pajamas since November that just need the hem. I’m horrible at getting to hems.

    • Chris May 14, 2014 at 7:58 pm Reply

      Annette, I know exactly what you mean! What is it with hems that makes making them so unattractive??!!

  2. I made it!! May 14, 2014 at 2:17 am Reply

    I think we all have that problem. I have two jackets that need hemming and a button/buttonhole and they have been sitting so long they might not fit me anymore. Maybe May is the month to do them?

  3. musingrunner May 14, 2014 at 3:21 am Reply

    My sexy anniversary dress was not done by my anniversary, but I want to finish it soon. It just needs some draping and a hem!

  4. Chris May 14, 2014 at 7:58 pm Reply

    Haha, we all seem to be having a problem with hems. Maybe we need some hem-therapy?

  5. Valerie May 15, 2014 at 12:17 am Reply

    That is an impressive list of WIPs. I trick myself into finishing stubborn projects by saying “I’ll just do 30 minutes on it’. It works.

  6. Tia Dia May 16, 2014 at 3:21 pm Reply

    Does having a garment cut and waiting count? I’ve got a jacket that I’m not thrilled about starting because a) I don’t really need it and b) it’s going to be a LOT OF WORK. So I avoid it by doing other things…. 🙂

    • Chris May 19, 2014 at 9:35 pm Reply

      I think that definitely counts. I have a couple of those, but I blanked those straight out of my mind…

  7. […] I solemnly swore yesterday that I would get my act together and finish a few WIPs. Taking a spoonful of my own medicine I sat down and FINALLY put the waistband on those trousers and so I can wear them for the first time. I started making them back in autumn together with my Flying by the sides of my pants pants, in fact they use the same pattern, just without the peplum. […]

Leave a Reply

LOTILDA

stricken & nähen | slowfashion blog

The Monthly Stitch

Come sew with us...

Sewchet

Sewing, crochet, crafts, accessories, baking, tutorials,

Love, Lucie

Where hands and minds are rarely still

Apricot Mylo

a dressmaking journey

Handmade by Hannah

Day to day life, one crafting adventure at a time.

Stitched up by Jenna

"Sewing mends the soul"

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

nelnanandnora

Faith, family and creativity

thesewingmiserablist

where stitchery gets to meet mediocrity, face-to-face, and firmly shakes it's hand

wakeymakes

Returning sewist, crafter and runner

saturday night stitch

A UK Sewing and Style blog by a Mum of 5 with a fervent passion for all sorts of dressmaking.

