MMM14 Day 9 or Why Layering Doesn’t Work for Me.

IMG_7906

Look at me at the end of Day 9 of MMM14. I started wearing this dress with a cardigan and a skinny belt.

Then I somehow lost the cardigan at work (I get hot quite easily, so that came off and was forgotten somewhere).

Then the skinny belt, which was a little loose without the cardigan, started to annoy me, so it was shoved in my bag.

By the time I got into the house I kicked off my shoes.

So that’s why all those stylish, carefully layered looks defeat me. I just never remember where all my layers are…

IMG_7907On the plus side, this is my most widely used pattern of all times.

IMG_7906 I don’t even remember which issue of Burdastyle this came from, it’s in fact the lining pieces of a gathered cowl neck dress. I once tried the gathered version, but I was really annoyed by having to do different amounts of gathers on front and back pieces, so I ended up using the ungathered lining pieces only. I have dresses, tops, both with and without sleeves galore off this pattern.

Making the dress took around an hour, so if I run out of stuff to wear during MMM I can quickly whip up another version 😉

Tagged: , , , , ,

9 thoughts on “MMM14 Day 9 or Why Layering Doesn’t Work for Me.

  1. sewinggoddess May 11, 2014 at 12:52 pm Reply

    What a great dress!

  2. sewbusylizzy May 11, 2014 at 12:52 pm Reply

    I love this dress! And just blogged something very similar!!!

    • Chris May 11, 2014 at 12:56 pm Reply

      And off I pop to your blog to have a look 🙂

      • sewbusylizzy May 11, 2014 at 1:01 pm

        LOL (there are naked ladies – you have been warned)

  3. prttynpnk May 11, 2014 at 1:43 pm Reply

    I love it! I showed up at work last week with a similiar layered look and by lunch I had talked myself out of all of it- ok, I kept the dress, but you get me. TYour dress is so sharp- it should be the star!

  4. Chris May 11, 2014 at 10:26 pm Reply

    Reblogged this on The Monthly Stitch and commented:

    I have been very quiet for a while, missing out on the Sew Double challenge altogether. This dress at least fits both the Sew Stretchy as well as the Sew Double challenge, because I used a pattern I have sewed up over and over again.

  5. I made it!! May 12, 2014 at 5:23 am Reply

    Sewn in one hour is a pretty good dress! It looks comfortable too, must be because it didn’t come off with the sweater and the belt and the shoes!

  6. […] the way, I never found that cardie again that I lost in my hot-flush-induced defeat at layering ;-).  Oh […]

  7. laurajane May 26, 2014 at 8:26 pm Reply

    Great dress! The fabric is fab, and the look suits you beautifully. Who needs layers?

Leave a Reply

Thimble End

Sustainable sewing | Ethical living

Tweed & Greet

hello to handmade fashion and lifestyle

LOTILDA

Strickblog | Nähblog

The Monthly Stitch

Come sew with us...

Sewchet

Sewing, crochet, crafts, accessories, baking, tutorials,

Love, Lucie

Where hands and minds are rarely still

Apricot Mylo

a dressmaking journey

Handmade by Hannah

Day to day life, one crafting adventure at a time.

Stitched up by Jenna

"Sewing mends the soul"

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

nelnanandnora

Faith, family and creativity

