MMM14 Day 11: Red Moss and Green (S)Leaves

Does anybody remember Jesse from the Fast Show? It’s the guy who used to appear out of his barn/shed announcing: “This week I’ve been mostly eating potatoes”. Trust me, it was hilarious, you just had to have been there.

Anyway, this is what MMM feels to me: This week I’ve been mostly wearing clothes.

So from tomorrow I will move to the more sensible format of weekly roundups rather than daily posts.

For my last daily post I was wearing my latest version of the Moss skirt.

IMG_7915

I am still grappling with the different properties of different fabric. My first version of the Moss was A LOT too loose, version 2 really quite tight, this version 3 is a little on the loose side again. But I think I might just add belt loops and be done with it :-).
However, this isn’t a fit issue of the pattern, the pattern is actually great. There are so many great versions of the Moss in blog land, just look at how Lizzy rocks her mini version!

I decided not to go for the mini, in contrast I used the hem bands AND added 5cm to the length. The way it is now is about the shortest I comfortably wear without tights (not today, I realise that, but I am hoping for some warmer weather…). I am tall, but not impressively so, but because I am quite high waisted the standard mini version just about covers my bum. Lots of tutting from my daughter just at the though ;-). I also don’t really tan much and my doctors says it’s a big bad skin cancer no-no for me to even try, so I prefer not to show too much leg.

IMG_7921

The top is form and old Burdastyle (about mid 2000 I think). Digging out this top made me remember that I actually love the pattern so if I can still find the traced version (I know the actual train line pattern sheet went the way of all things a while ago) I might make up a version 2 soon.

Goodness, it’s almost the middle of May and it as so cold I had to dig out my thermal tights again!

What’s the weather like where you are? Do you find that for MMM you get to wear the clothes you actually want to?

Tagged: , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “MMM14 Day 11: Red Moss and Green (S)Leaves

  1. I made it!! May 12, 2014 at 5:48 am Reply

    We have sunshine some days and rain the next! It’s difficult to wear everything in your wardrobe when the weather doesn’t cooperate!

  2. navybluethreads May 12, 2014 at 1:00 pm Reply

    Rain, rain and more rain here- it is Manchester though, so hardly surprising!
    I keep getting my black opaques back out too, can it really be June in a couple of weeks?
    Did you get all your marking done?

  3. thesimpleseamstress May 13, 2014 at 3:06 am Reply

    Just thought you should know that I think your blog is wonderful so I nominated you for a Liebster Award! To see the rules and your nomination please visit my blog. http://www.thesimpleseamstress.wordpress.com

  4. […] is Moss skirt no 4 in my wardrobe, no 1 is blogged here, the others only exist in real life. Nothing more needs to be said about this pattern – I […]

Leave a Reply

LOTILDA

stricken & nähen | slowfashion blog

The Monthly Stitch

Come sew with us...

Sewchet

Sewing, crochet, crafts, accessories, baking, tutorials,

Love, Lucie

Where hands and minds are rarely still

Apricot Mylo

a dressmaking journey

Handmade by Hannah

Day to day life, one crafting adventure at a time.

Stitched up by Jenna

"Sewing mends the soul"

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

nelnanandnora

Faith, family and creativity

thesewingmiserablist

where stitchery gets to meet mediocrity, face-to-face, and firmly shakes it's hand

wakeymakes

Returning sewist, crafter and runner

saturday night stitch

A UK Sewing and Style blog by a Mum of 5 with a fervent passion for all sorts of dressmaking.

