Look Where I’ve Been!

Foto1016I’m sure you can tell from my crappy mobile phone picture.

No, you can’t? Let me spell it out for you:

Foto1018

Still nothing? Come on, work with me here!

gold

Of course! I did a spot of fabric shopping during my pre-Easter trip to London with my daughter. I left her in nearby Hammersmith for some teenage retail therapy (read Primark for that) and did my own type of retail therapy in the Goldhawk Road.

sneaky peek into my shopping bag:

Foto1019From top to bottom:

  • Liberty style paisley cotton/rayon mix
  • spotty cotton pique
  • Liberty silk
  • synchronised swimmers cotton
  • white and silver stripes something or other knit

What you can’t see is my very, very happy face (my phone is old enough never to have heard of selfies…)

I’ve only been back from London for a few days, but three of the fabrics have already been turned into garments (I’m wearing a synchronised swimmers blouse as we speak and I squeal with delight every time I clap eyes on those swimming ladies – but more on all that later!)

Goodness, I love fabric shopping! Stash busting clearly is not for me. The only way of keeping up is to sew faster than I shop 😉 .

Have you done any interesting sewing related shopping recently?

Tagged: ,

7 thoughts on “Look Where I’ve Been!

  1. I made it!! April 21, 2014 at 5:28 am Reply

    I. Only. Wish!!! Lucky you!

  2. Sarah (@sewsarahsews) April 21, 2014 at 7:07 am Reply

    “Goodness, I love fabric shopping! Stash busting clearly is not for me. The only way of keeping up is to sew faster than I shop.” Best. Observation. Ever! And so me as well 🙂

  3. Emma Jayne April 21, 2014 at 8:45 am Reply

    Nice hoard! I’m doing very well with my stash diet and haven’t bought any fabric at all this year (yet). I’m shopping vicariously through posts like this!!!

  4. jennyrecorder April 21, 2014 at 10:01 am Reply

    So jealous you lucky thing, thay Liberty silk is delicious!

  5. Marianne April 21, 2014 at 12:41 pm Reply

    Ehm, does pattern shopping count as well? Which will inevitably be followed by fabric shopping anyday soon 😉 can’t wait to see your swimmers blouse!

  6. Anne W April 21, 2014 at 5:26 pm Reply

    Oh, a very nice little haul there! I have been kinda good as far as fabric shopping goes, but I did splurge £50 on some vintage patterns…

  7. […] I used Burdastyle 12/2013 #107 and the silk I bought on my last visit to Goldhawk Road. […]

Leave a Reply

Thimble End

Sustainable sewing | Ethical living

Tweed & Greet

hello to handmade fashion and lifestyle

LOTILDA

stricken & nähen | slowfashion blog

The Monthly Stitch

Come sew with us...

Sewchet

Sewing, crochet, crafts, accessories, baking, tutorials,

Love, Lucie

Where hands and minds are rarely still

Apricot Mylo

a dressmaking journey

Handmade by Hannah

Day to day life, one crafting adventure at a time.

Stitched up by Jenna

"Sewing mends the soul"

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

nelnanandnora

Faith, family and creativity

