Burdastyle 5/2014 #104: The Happy Easter Dress

Well, a very happy, if belated Easter to all of you!
I hope you had a joyful weekend and made use of the long weekend.

Let me introduce to you my first garment made from my Goldhawk Road fabric haul:

IMG_7672

I used Burdastyle 5/2014 # 104 for this with almost no alterations. I did make two:

  • I made the neckline less revealing – boy, I do realise that I am not a flashy dresser or anything, but this neckline would have come BELOW my bra-band. Look at the model picture… I don’t think that can make sense for anybody, especially on this dress which is sweet rather than vavavoom, don’t you think?

IMG_7678The original v would have come about 6cm deeper than what I ended up with!

  • The second alteration was to change the front bodice dart from a standard vertical dart to a “princess dart”. After the disaster I had with my pointy boob dress I was really wary of this type of dart and to be fair it was actually almost fine on this dress as the pattern suggested. But because I got slightly hysterical about pointy darts I decided to change the dart so its end would not point anywhere near the apex of my bust – enter the fake princess dart:

 

IMG_7764This the front bodice pattern piece and in blue you can see the original dart and in black the fake princess dart. There was so real clever thinking on my part, I just pinned what seemed to look okay on the dress and then transferred that to the pattern piece. In real life it looks like this:

IMG_7679See – no pointiness! There hardly seem to be any boobs there at all, I grant you that, but if I can avoid pointiness, I am prepared to walk around almost completely flat, at least until I find a better solution ๐Ÿ˜‰ .

Otherwise the pattern was a great fit! Because it is for a tall size for once I had no problems with armholes that are too tight. The waistline sits great as well, but that seems to be the case for all Burda patterns with me, no matter whether they are standard or tall size.

IMG_7677Even the back neckline had no gapeyness at all – I normally have real problems with that and almost always add little darts, but this time it fit perfectly. The slight wideness below the shoulder blades isn’t there normally – my husband-turned-fashion-fotographer just doesn’t notice things like that and I only ever notice after the event that I should have straightened out the creases…

IMG_7676

See, same thing here: half of the circle skirt is up my bum –ย  which was the point when my husband said that it looked “completely fine” – but I’m sure you get the idea ๐Ÿ˜‰

IMG_7671I lined the bodice in red bridal satin (that’s what it was called in the shop – I’m not sure many brides wear red satin for their weddings, but anyway…)

All in all I really like the dress and I got a lot of compliments when I wore it for Easter yesterday. What is more it is really easy to wear, especially with the underwear-hiding neckline adaptation. I like the length of the skirt too. I realise that fashion prefers shorter skirts, but I quite like the more demure just below the knee length.

And because it is a circle skirt I can’t leave you without my Sound of Music impression. After all you may be able to take a girl out of Bavaria, but you can’t take Bavaria out of a girl!

Cue yodelling:

IMG_7673

Well…

Any Easter silliness where you are?

Tagged: , , ,

10 thoughts on “Burdastyle 5/2014 #104: The Happy Easter Dress

  1. navybluethreads April 21, 2014 at 10:02 pm Reply

    My husband must have graduated from the same school of photography, if I can get him to take any shots at all.. I usually resort to getting my six year old daughter to take them instead ๐Ÿ™‚ Love the full skirt on your last photo!

    • Chris April 22, 2014 at 12:19 am Reply

      haha! My daughter is 14, so she takes pictures with the most intimidating kind of teenage ennui so I try to do without her ๐Ÿ˜‰

      • navybluethreads April 22, 2014 at 10:25 am

        ๐Ÿ™‚ I can imagine! I’ll settle for my six year old’s slightly wonky shots, they have a certain charm!

  2. Tia Dia April 22, 2014 at 1:00 am Reply

    Love this! The skirt is wonderful, and your changes to the bodice made a good design a better one. So pretty!

  3. I made it!! April 22, 2014 at 4:32 pm Reply

    Now that dress has a lovely full skirt on it. I bet that took lots of material!

    • Chris April 23, 2014 at 9:31 am Reply

      It wasn’t too bad. The pattern specifies 3 metres for the whole dress and I needed almost all of that (although I normally find the Burda fabric requirements ample). But at 4 pounds a metre I think the dress was well worth the investment ๐Ÿ™‚

      • I made it!! April 23, 2014 at 3:04 pm

        Yes, I agree, it is a good investment!

  4. Thea May 6, 2014 at 11:20 pm Reply

    This is lovely! The dress was my favourite from that magazine, and it looked like the perfect summer dress. Great to see it comes out as nicely. Good call on the neckline though! ๐Ÿ˜‰ I might have to make this myself, if I can overcome my dread of adding the seam allowances… Thea

  5. Chris May 6, 2014 at 11:23 pm Reply

    Thank you! And you know what: I rarely actually add the seam allowances to the pattern. I just cut out the pattern using a rotary cutter and use a ruler as a guide 1/2 inch outside the pattern line. I need a few marks on curves (although often I just eyeball curves…), but that seems to work out fine and saves me the tedious job of adding seam allowances to the traced pattern.

  6. […] all started with my Easter dress which I loved so much I wanted to make it again as soon as possible. At my last visit to the fabric […]

Leave a Reply

LOTILDA

stricken & nรคhen | slowfashion blog

The Monthly Stitch

Come sew with us...

Sewchet

Sewing, crochet, crafts, accessories, baking, tutorials,

Love, Lucie

Where hands and minds are rarely still

Apricot Mylo

a dressmaking journey

Handmade by Hannah

Day to day life, one crafting adventure at a time.

Stitched up by Jenna

"Sewing mends the soul"

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

nelnanandnora

Faith, family and creativity

thesewingmiserablist

where stitchery gets to meet mediocrity, face-to-face, and firmly shakes it's hand

wakeymakes

Returning sewist, crafter and runner

saturday night stitch

A UK Sewing and Style blog by a Mum of 5 with a fervent passion for all sorts of dressmaking.

